How to Disappear

FeaturedHot
 
3.7
 
5.0 (1)
3283 0
howtodisappear_rev5final.jpg
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 14, 2016
ISBN
9781481443937
Buy This Book
      

This electric cross-country thriller follows the game of cat and mouse between a girl on the run from a murder she witnessed—or committed? —and the boy who's sent to kill her. Nicolette Holland is the girl everyone likes. Up for adventure. Loyal to a fault. And she's pretty sure she can get away with anything...until a young woman is brutally murdered in the woods near Nicolette's house. Which is why she has to disappear. Jack Manx has always been the stand-up guy with the killer last name. But straight A's and athletic trophies can't make people forget that his father was a hit man and his brother is doing time for armed assault. Just when Jack is about to graduate from his Las Vegas high school and head east for college, his brother pulls him into the family business with inescapable instructions: find this ruthless Nicolette Holland and get rid of her. Or else Jack and everyone he loves will pay the price. As Nicolette and Jack race to outsmart each other, tensions—and attractions—run high. Told in alternating voices, this tightly plotted mystery and tense love story challenges our assumptions about right and wrong, guilt and innocence, truth and lies.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An Intriguing, Adventurous Tale
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
How to Disappear is an intriguing, adventurous tale about a girl running for her life, scared and lonely but incredibly determined.

Nick is a fighter and a deceiver. She runs away and disguises herself and thinks up the perfect lies at the best times, though she also fumbles and messes up. Practice makes perfect; learn from your mistakes. Men are after her, and she knows they want her dead, so when she starts getting threatening messages… She runs again, changes her identity again, deceives again. It’s a downward spiral of lies, a web of intricate disguises and truths parading around masked with false information. It’s an epic adventure of danger and deceit, but even when your life is threatened, love can bloom. It’s intense, dark, and raw to its core.

Nick is doing just fine on her own. She got away safely, learned from her previous mistakes, and she’s very good at staying under the radar. She’s a sketchy character, not above lying and deceiving or stealing. She’s dark and twisted, and that’s what makes this book all the better. Right from the start, you know she’s guilty, especially from the hints we get from her. However, it doesn’t end how you may think. The author strays from being too predictable, and it pays off. The author takes a determined criminal and lets us see into her mind, her life. It’s devious, dark, just like Nick.

And then our mysterious, running-from-the-law MC meets J, a compassionate, kind guy who is too cute and too irresistible. Unfortunately for her, he’s just as good at pretending to be someone he’s not. Romance between the two is inevitable, and it happens quickly. It’s enjoyable to read however, especially from J’s point of view. He knows something about her (at least he thinks he knows) and despite that one thing, he falls in love with her. Even though he thinks badly of her character, and that he sometimes fears her or loses control because he thinks about that one thing too much.

That said, I like J. He loves his mom, is a pretty nice dude despite how his dad and brother are, and even though he had a tough childhood, he doesn’t look for pity or act out or share his story to get a girl to like him. But when he loses it, he yells and he’s a bit of a dick. He’s also pretty messed up. It only affects him sometimes. There’s a lot of psychology involved in this book,and the author doesn’t hint at it or leave out the dark details. We get the raw, dark parts and it’s brilliant!

As for the plot, it’s pretty good. Nick is brilliant and what she shares at the end of the book… That’s when you realize how smart she is and how secretive she can be, even from those she loves. She’s also a bit messed up. That’s probably why the romance works so well. You can’t love someone 100% unless you understand them.

In this tale of love and lies, can you find the truth?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A great mystery/suspense novel!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
How to Disappear is about a girl on the run and the boy she meets along the way…the boy who has been sent to kill her! HtD was a super fun romp with a great heroine and a really engaging plot. There were a lot of twists and turns and the ending was epically awesome/totally amazing/rocked my world! If you like mystery/suspense, you can’t go wrong with this one. Although HtD is YA, it also has definite adult mystery appeal!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."