SAVE ME, KURT COBAIN

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1354 0
SAVE ME, KURT COBAIN
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 08, 2016
ISBN
978-0-553-52126-9
Buy This Book
      

What if you discovered that Kurt Cobain is not only alive, but might be your real father? Nicola Cavan has been an outsider since age four when her mother vanished from their West Coast home. Now 15, Nico is determined to find her beautiful, music-obsessed mother. After glimpsing “Cobain” on a ferry from Seattle, Nico follows the man with the blazing blue eyes to a remote Vancouver Island cabin—and life will never be the same. “Save Me, Kurt Cobain is: Utterly gorgeous. Mesmerizing. Hypnotic. … I love this book.” – Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places “Raw and authentic.” – Jennifer Mathieu, author of The Truth About Alice and Devoted A nuanced and bittersweet YA debut that will keep you guessing until the end.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Save Me, Kurt Cobain
(Updated: March 20, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
When Nicola, 'Nico' Cavan was four years old, her mother left and promised that she'd return. Only she didn't. Now fifteen, Nico finds something that links her missing mother to grunge star Kurt Cobain. She thinks he's her father and when she returns from a trip to Seattle, she feels she's found him. Alive. What happens next leads Nico to finding out the truth, no matter the risk.

What worked: I loved the voice of this contemporary novel where Nico longs to know what happened to her missing mother. The pain of that lost haunts her. One way she deals is through her retro music and by trying to be invisible at her high school. So when she thinks she finds a possible link to her mother's past? She goes after it, no matter how impulsive and dangerous it is.

The underlining little known facts on Kurt Cobain's life add to the story. Nico is almost obsessive when it comes to Nirvana and the lead singer. I think this shows readers her personally and how driven she is to find the truth about her mother.

The story really picks up once Nico thinks she sees Cobain. Her decision to follow him is impulsive and risky. It also brings her out of her protective shell. Before she'd been willing to just 'hang' with her BFF Obe and listen to Nirvana but now that she actually thinks Cobain might in fact not only be alive but her father? She makes a choice that arcs her as a character at the end. It also shows her inner strength and courage.

There are hints of a romance when she's on the ferry going over to Seattle. I wanted to see more interaction with Sean. There is one scene when they are in Seattle but that was only a taste. And finally I wanted to know how a certain character knew as much as he did about her mother's BFF.

This novel is much more than a coming of age story about an obsessed fan but rather more about a girl searching for answers and going after them. There's suspense, mystery, hints of romance that blend together into one satisfying conclusion. Manzer does a great job of showing the flaws, quirks of not only Cobain but Nico as well.
Good Points
1. Suspense, mystery, hints of romance blend together into one honest tale.
2. Coming of age novel
4. Manzer does a great job of blending non-fiction facts of Kurt Corbain's life into storyline
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."