Waterfall

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1244 0
Waterfall
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 08, 2015
ISBN
0385742681
Buy This Book
      
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fallen series comes Waterfall, a novel about love, betrayal, and epic consequences—a world-altering tale told by a girl whose tears have the power to raise the lost continent of Atlantis. Eureka’s tears have flooded the earth, and now Atlantis is rising. Eureka is the only one who can stop Atlantis’s evil king, Atlas, but first she must learn how to fight. With her friend Brooks now lost to her forever, Eureka travels across the ocean with Cat, her family, and the gorgeous and mysterious Ander. Trying to make sense of the dark world her sorrow has created, Eureka discovers a soul-crushing secret. If she’s strong enough, she can use it to defeat Atlas—unless her broken heart is just what he needs to fuel his rising kingdom. . . . In Waterfall, Eureka has the chance to save the world. But she’ll have to give up everything—even love. Praise for Teardrop: “Fans of Kate’s popular Fallen series will find a similar blend of supernatural romance, mystery, and destiny.” —Publishers Weekly “Addictive.” —Uncorked Thoughts “Enchanting.” —Teenreads.com

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Power in a Drop
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Lauren Kate returns in WATERFALL. I admit that it has been at least two or three years since I have read the previous book, but I'm sure that I remember enough of it to get by (if only just barely). (And do I? I amazingly do remember enough! Boo, yah! Brain power.)

The book doesn't require much of a reread of the previous book. The first chapter of WATERFALL nicely recaps what happens in the previous book through dialogue and the inner thoughts of the narrator. In the climax of the previous book, TEARDROP, Eureka's tears have fallen and she has cried. Disaster strikes, and the Apocalypse comes. But not quite. Apocalypse isn't quite there yet. Though there is a freshly made battlefield, there are no fighters or knights alive. There is a tiny chance left for the world, and that is where the story starts.

The book goes where it wants to go. By the time I've read one third of its pages, I realized that I should stop asking questions and just strap myself in to watch the show. It starts getting much more enjoyable after that, and I was thoroughly entertained, though I do admit that I was scratching my head at some points. Slightly absurd, sudden plot twists throws the characters into a new field of study, and action piles on top of action.

Eureka is a character (and narrator) who is struggling between good and evil. She has great temptations, she has an angel on her shoulder and the devil on the other, and she has fears. She loves Ander very much, but there is weakness in that love and it proves to be a perfect source of drama. A lot of drama. She proves herself to be a character of action and initiative and cunningness, and she's starting to grow on me.

But out of all of these pieces making up the story, it is the villain who has captured most of my attention. She's deadly. She's vengeful. She's dangerous, god-like. And she plays a game with evil Atlantis' overlord. Her dynamic with the evil king is truly intriguing, and I would love to see Lauren Kate expanding on their relationship. What makes him so special? Why does she tolerate him so much? What kind of partnership they have?

Overall, WATERFALL is a wild sequel that is bringing me back to read more of this series. (And yay, Lauren Kate!)

Rating: Three out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."