Waterfall

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1187 0
Waterfall
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 08, 2015
ISBN
0385742681
Buy This Book
      
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fallen series comes Waterfall, a novel about love, betrayal, and epic consequences—a world-altering tale told by a girl whose tears have the power to raise the lost continent of Atlantis. Eureka’s tears have flooded the earth, and now Atlantis is rising. Eureka is the only one who can stop Atlantis’s evil king, Atlas, but first she must learn how to fight. With her friend Brooks now lost to her forever, Eureka travels across the ocean with Cat, her family, and the gorgeous and mysterious Ander. Trying to make sense of the dark world her sorrow has created, Eureka discovers a soul-crushing secret. If she’s strong enough, she can use it to defeat Atlas—unless her broken heart is just what he needs to fuel his rising kingdom. . . . In Waterfall, Eureka has the chance to save the world. But she’ll have to give up everything—even love. Praise for Teardrop: “Fans of Kate’s popular Fallen series will find a similar blend of supernatural romance, mystery, and destiny.” —Publishers Weekly “Addictive.” —Uncorked Thoughts “Enchanting.” —Teenreads.com

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Power in a Drop
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Lauren Kate returns in WATERFALL. I admit that it has been at least two or three years since I have read the previous book, but I'm sure that I remember enough of it to get by (if only just barely). (And do I? I amazingly do remember enough! Boo, yah! Brain power.)

The book doesn't require much of a reread of the previous book. The first chapter of WATERFALL nicely recaps what happens in the previous book through dialogue and the inner thoughts of the narrator. In the climax of the previous book, TEARDROP, Eureka's tears have fallen and she has cried. Disaster strikes, and the Apocalypse comes. But not quite. Apocalypse isn't quite there yet. Though there is a freshly made battlefield, there are no fighters or knights alive. There is a tiny chance left for the world, and that is where the story starts.

The book goes where it wants to go. By the time I've read one third of its pages, I realized that I should stop asking questions and just strap myself in to watch the show. It starts getting much more enjoyable after that, and I was thoroughly entertained, though I do admit that I was scratching my head at some points. Slightly absurd, sudden plot twists throws the characters into a new field of study, and action piles on top of action.

Eureka is a character (and narrator) who is struggling between good and evil. She has great temptations, she has an angel on her shoulder and the devil on the other, and she has fears. She loves Ander very much, but there is weakness in that love and it proves to be a perfect source of drama. A lot of drama. She proves herself to be a character of action and initiative and cunningness, and she's starting to grow on me.

But out of all of these pieces making up the story, it is the villain who has captured most of my attention. She's deadly. She's vengeful. She's dangerous, god-like. And she plays a game with evil Atlantis' overlord. Her dynamic with the evil king is truly intriguing, and I would love to see Lauren Kate expanding on their relationship. What makes him so special? Why does she tolerate him so much? What kind of partnership they have?

Overall, WATERFALL is a wild sequel that is bringing me back to read more of this series. (And yay, Lauren Kate!)

Rating: Three out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....
Wintercake
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This cozy, gently humorous, and irresistible holiday tale from Newbery...
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Ruth Krauss, the celebrated children’s book author of The...
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In this universal celebration of community and love, Bear gathers...
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This funny picture book about friendship, family, identity, and why...

Latest Member Reviews

Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."
Coral
 
3.0
"CORAL is not a fairytale retelling of THE LITTLE MERMAID- while it may have been inspired by some of the..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"YOU ARE THE EVERYTHING is an intriguing stream-of-consciousness style read that follows Elyse Schmidt, a 16/17 year old girl who..."
The Last Hope
 
4.7
"I honestly don’t know where to begin! The Last Hope by Krista & Becca Ritchie picks up thirty days after..."
 
4.0
"Most books about a school shooting would start with the horrific event at the center of story, but EVERY MOMENT..."
The Bone Houses
 
5.0
"THE BONE HOUSES is a beautifully crafted and full engrossing YA fantasy with some horror aspects. Aderyn (Ryn) is a..."
The Silence Between Us
 
4.7
"THE SILENCE BETWEEN US is an #ownvoices story about Maya, a senior in high school who has just moved with..."
Beasts of the Frozen Sun
 
4.7
"BEASTS OF THE FROZEN SUN features lush world-building, compelling characters, and a captivating plot that make it an engrossing read...."
Snow & Rose
 
5.0
"NOTE: Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own."
Where I End and You Begin
 
4.0
"All Ezra wants to do is ask his crush Imogen to the prom. But when he and his friend Holden..."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
"When Edie moves back to Mansfield to life with her aunt, uncle, and two cousins, she is reunited with her..."
The Beholder
 
4.0
"When Selah's proposal to her childhood crush is rejected, she is sent away on a boat to meet possible suitors...."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there..."
Gods of Jade and Shadow
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Casiopea feels trapped in her rich grandfather’s home in southern Mexico. She wants to leave their small town and..."
 
3.0
"THE HIVE by Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden is a YA sci-fi novel set in the near future. In this..."
Remember Me
 
3.7
"REMEMBER ME is an engaging mystery/thriller that goes back and forth through time. We follow Lea in the past when..."