Diary of a Haunting

Diary of a Haunting
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 25, 2015
ISBN
978-1481430692
Buy This Book
      
In the tradition of Paranormal Activity and The Blair Witch Project, an American teen recounts the strange events that occur after she moves into a new—and very haunted—home with her family in this chilling diary that features photos and images of what she experienced. Letters, photographs, and a journal…all left behind in the harrowing aftermath. Following her parents’ high-profile divorce, Paige and her brother are forced to move to Idaho with their mother, and Paige doesn’t have very high hopes for her new life. The small town they’ve moved to is nothing compared to the life she left behind in LA. And the situation is made even worse by the drafty old mansion they’ve rented that’s filled with spiders and plenty of other pests that Paige can’t even bear to imagine. Pretty soon, strange things start to happen around the house—one can of ravioli becomes a dozen, unreadable words start appearing on the walls, and Paige’s little brother begins roaming the house late at night. And there’s something not right about the downstairs neighbor who seems to know a lot more than he’s letting on. Things only get creepier when she learns about the cult that conducted experimental rituals in the house almost one hundred years earlier. The more Paige investigates, the clearer it all becomes: there’s something in the house, and whatever it is…and it won’t be backing down without a fight.

User reviews

1 review
Overall rating
 
4.7
Plot
 
4.0(1)
Characters
 
5.0(1)
Writing Style
 
5.0(1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A Spooky Read
Overall rating
 
4.7
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Paige's life is turned upside down when her mother makes them move from California to Idaho. Her wanted a new life away from her ex husband. Paige isn't happy with this move at all. She's stuck in an old house with lots of nasty spiders and flies.

As this is a horror novel, weird things begin to happen. There's a buzzing noise in her little bother's room. There also a guy she meets along the way who helps her out and then she ends up killing him. It's so painfully obvious that the house is haunted and her mother doesn't age. She's one of those new age types. Her mother thinks they have the same right to live there too.

Paige doesn't like it. She feels something is wrong and the closer she gets to the truth, she sees that that she was right. They weren't friendly spirits but what she doesn't know is that it's far worse than she could ever imagine.

I actually liked this book, it was spooky and even had me looking over my shoulder a few times. I will say I think it was silly to make the only guy in this story around Paige's age gay. I mean I get that the author wanted no romance in this book but still. Straight guys and girls can be friends. It happens.

I will say that I totally saw the ending coming and it's wasn't much of a surprise but none the less I enjoyed this spooky read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0