The Body Institute

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1371 0
The Body Institute
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 01, 2015
ISBN
978-1633751255
Buy This Book
      

Meet Morgan Dey, one of the top teen Reducers at The Body Institute. Thanks to cutting-edge technology, Morgan can temporarily take over another girl's body, get her in shape, and then return to her own body--leaving her client slimmer, more toned, and feeling great. Only there are a few catches... For one, Morgan won't remember what happens in her "Loaner" body. Once she's done, she won't recall walks with her new friend Matt, conversations with the super-cute Reducer she's been text-flirting with, or the uneasy feeling she has that the director of The Body Institute is hiding something. Still, it's all worth it in the name of science. Until the glitches start... Suddenly, residual memories from her Loaner are cropping up in Morgan's mind. She's feeling less like herself and more like someone else. And when protests from an anti-Body Institute organization threaten her safety, she'll have to decide if being a Reducer is worth the cost of her body and soul...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Body Institute
(Updated: October 21, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Seventeen-year-old Morgan Dey likes being a Reducer, someone who has her brain uploaded into another body in order to help overweight people loss weight. This is the 'dream job' for Morgan who feels that not only does she help people but earns quick money to help her financially straddled family. So when the director of The Body Institute asks her to do another job with even more financial incentives, she doesn't think twice. Her grandfather warns her that no amount of money is worth messing with leaving her body. His words and other things that occur around her start planting doubts in her mind. Then The Body Institute is attacked by zealots protesters. Morgan senses something with The Body Institute isn't right when glitches happen to her. She starts getting her client's memories which isn't supposed to happen. Worse, she worries if she will lose her own memories once she returns to her body. She has to decide if being a Reducer is worth it.

What worked: THE BODY INSTITUTE has a very intriguing premise. In this futuristic world, the government decides they know what's best for the people and implement fines if they are obese. The future rewards those that have the stereotypical 'perfect' body. The concept of uploading a trainer per say into another body, is frightening. I'm not sure I would want a stranger to host my body while I'm put on ice for three or more months.

Morgan starts this story by enjoying her role as a Reducer. She feels that by doing this she's able to help her financial strapped family. When she's offered another job to lose one hundred pounds in six months? She thinks the incentives will finally get her family out of debt and help her go to technical school. I liked how readers see her doubts that start off slowly with the realization of what she'll miss while hosting another body. These doubts grow and are shown in quick texts and encounters she has while in her new body.

Morgan's new host body comes along with other rules that she's not prepared for like staying with the client's family. She experiences fat shame in one scene when she's on the bus. The hostility doesn't stop there. When she goes to weigh in, she's verbal and physically attacked by protesters that are outside of The Body Institute.

The futuristic setting is shown with the rules against being overweight that feel more like a scene from the novel 1984. This society is stripped down, revealing the indifference to those that don't have the financial means to be look the way that is required. Morgan's grandfather refused to be a part of a national health care plan and the family lives to regret that choice.

There's a love interest too. Morgan 'finds' him while on a run. I really liked this relationship that weathers the changes, including one horrific reveal that turns everything Morgan thought she knew about the institute and her part of it around.

I did have issues with how fast the ending was resolved. It seemed as it things were taken care of too fast which felt a little unbelievable to me.

The idea of the government having complete control over your weight bordered being preachy at times though I did think the author did a good job showing the pitfalls when choices are taken away in totalitarian society.

And finally, I did have issues with the fat shaming that blamed the individual being overweight and not taking into account medical/hormonal issues. Maybe if it was stated that these were dismissed by the government(which unfortunately some do in our own world), it might have worked more.

The rest of the novel though is more Morgan's journey that has her arc at the end in a bittersweet way. Kuddos to the author ending the story the way she did as I felt it stayed true to Morgan's growth.

Intriguing twist of a futuristic world where a girl finds that a so-called 'dream job' of helping others lose weight has it's own terrible consequences.
Good Points
1. Intriguing premise of a futurist world that goes to the extreme on keeping people fit
2. Some haunting moments throughout

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."