The Temple of Doubt

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1216 1
The Temple of Doubt
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 04, 2015
ISBN
978-1632204271
Buy This Book
      
It’s been two six-days since a falling star crashed into the marshes beyond Port Sapphire, putting the wilds of Kuldor off-limits to fifteen-year-old Hadara. She feels this loss deeply and is eager to join her mother beyond the city limits to gather illegal herbs and throw off the yoke of her tedious religious schooling. Medicines of any sort are heresy to the people of Port Sapphire, who must rely on magic provided by the god Nihil for aid. And if people die from that magic, their own lack of faith is surely to blame. At least, that’s what Hadara has been taught—and has so far refused to believe. Hadara and her mother have ignored the priests’ many warnings about their herb gathering, secure in knowing their tropical island is far from Nihil’s critical gaze. Then two powerful high priests arrive from Nihil’s home city to investigate the fallen star, insisting it harbors an unseen demon. This sets off speculation that an evil force is already at work in Port Sapphire and brings one of the holy men to Hadara’s doorstep. When he chooses Hadara as a guide into the wilds, she sets off a chain of events that will upend everything she’s been taught about the sacred and the profane. The Temple of Doubt is the first installment in a series that follows a teenager who is given a greater destiny and purpose than she could’ve ever imagined.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Temple of Doubt
(Updated: September 29, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Fifteen-year-old Hadara is strong, feisty, and questions a faith that demands obedience and allegiance. Her other sister Amaniel is the exact opposite and knows the scriptures of their god Nihil and also is the perfect image of an obedient subject. Then a falling star crashes into the marshes. Then some high priests come to her village, looking for the star as they fear it contains a demon. When Hadara's sharp tongue ends up getting her unwanted attention, and chosen to be a guide into the marsh, her whole life as she knows it is changed.

What worked: This is one unique and totally different world than I've ever read before. Levy does a great job of world building that includes a rich world complete with a religion. The landscape is vivid with great descriptions of the forbidden marsh to the high priests of Nihil.

I liked Hadara because she shows spirit and isn't afraid to speak up. Yes, obedience is held sacred in this world but Hadara questions the rules of the temple and even the idea of being obedient. I liked how her more obedient sister is shown as a contrast. It would have been easy to leave it there but Levy shows that even though the sisters are different? They still love each other.

The attraction Hadara has for one of the foreign warriors doesn't happen right off the bat. If it did, it would have been unbelievable. Valeo isn't like the other guards who invade her world but shows some kindness to her and her family.

Hadara and her mother fear the invaders and priests more than the fallen star because her village considers the homeopathic way of treating illnesses, wrong and punishable by death. This sounds how the priests use control over the people. It's a sign of not being faithful if you use another way beside prayer to Nihil and the gods if you're ill. Hadara sees the consequences first hand when those around her don't seek outside help. Her courage to continue her training under her mother is one plus of this novel. Especially since her own grandmother was tried and punished for continuing to use herbs for illnesses.

I did have a hard time with some of the proverbs and sayings that headed each chapter. The language of this people is complex and rich. I just thought at times it jarred the flow of the story.

The ending was kind of abrupt too. I know there's two other books in this series which I feel will show us more of what happens to Hadara. I also can't help but feel there will be a few more surprises in store for her too.

Intriguing premise of a girl that questions her faith and the consequence that follow. Rich world building that give fantasy readers a whole new world to explore.
Good Points
1. Unique world
2. Intriguing premise of a girl that questions her faith and the consequences that follow
3. Rich world building complete with a religion
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."