The Marked Girl

Featured
 
4.0
 
4.3 (1)
2031 3
3ad696a6-7389-4b8e-bc0a-94986322033e.jpg
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
June 07, 2016
ISBN
9780062380333
Buy This Book
      

Once upon a time, in a land far, far away (Los Angeles)… When Cedric, crowned prince of Caelum, and his fellow royal friends (including his betrothed, Kat) find themselves stranded in modern-day L.A. via a magical portal and an evil traitor named Malquin, all they want to do is get home to Caelum—soon. Then they meet Liv, a filmmaker foster girl who just wants to get out of the system and on with her life. As she and Cedric bond, they’ll discover that she’s more connected to his world than they ever could’ve imagined…and that finding home is no easy task… Worlds collide in The Marked Girl, an exciting fantasy tale turned upside down.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

One to Watch
(Updated: June 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A typical fantasy tale turned upside down, taking the reader on an exciting journey through colliding worlds.

While somewhat predictable, The Marked Girl definitely puts a fresh and unique spin on a classic plot. In her debut novel, Klingele brings the fantasy world into the real world—a premise I found intriguing from the first line of the synopsis.
The Marked Girl encompasses a fast paced plot with excellent world building, three-dimensional characters and exceptional dialogue. There were some plot-twists that felt a little too convenient and predictable, but fans of Urban and Epic fantasy will enjoy the more unusual aspects of Klingele’s story.
Despite some familiar YA tropes, fans shouldn’t let that deter them from what promises to be a riveting series that is only just getting started. In its final chapters, The Marked Girl comes to a supremely satisfying close with an exciting setup for the next installment of the series. Readers will anxiously await the continuation of Liv and Cedric’s story.
Overall, from the first page to the last, Lindsey Klingele has a talent for keeping her reader’s attention in this classic coming of age fantasy tale.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: The Marked Girl
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I was quite surprised at how much I found myself getting lost in this book. The premise seemed interested but I’ve always been more drawn to fantasy novels set in an unfamiliar world as opposed to LA. It likely helped that Cedric and his two friends were from a different world, Caelum, and we got to briefly see it before they were transported to modern LA.

It was told in the dual POVs of Cedric, a prince in Caelum who came to LA with his two best friends through a portal and who was trying to find a way back to his world to save his family and his kingdom from the person who betrayed them. The other POV was Liv, a foster girl interested in film making and who acted much tougher than she was. They met when Liv and her friends were filming for her project and when Cedric and his friends just happened to emerge from the portal at the same place they were filming. After that, they seemed to keep getting drawn to the same place and it made sense to team up to get what they wanted. Cedric wanted a way home and needed help getting around LA. Liv wanted answers to why see could see the wraiths chasing Cedric and his friends when no one else in her world could.

The supporting cast was absolutely great. Sarcastic Merek was my favourite. He and Cedric butted heads quite often and it would have been easy to let him stay as the jerk type character but there was so much more to him. Kat, Cedric’s fiance by arrangement of their parents, was more of a cliche character. The perfect girl, the royal not threatened by the silly commoner because the boy was promised to her(but secretly was threatened). There were glimpses of more depth to her as well so I look forward to that in the next book. Shannon, Liv’s best friend, was a great match for her and could either be the voice of reason Liv needed to hear or could be by her side in all the craziness.

The main plot was mostly focused on introducing the characters, the world of Caelum, and the characters trying to figure out a way to re-open the portal so Cedric, Kat, and Merek could go home. They would likely be in for a war when they made it home but first, they had to find a way to get there. The plot did drag a little in the middle since there could be only so many instances of find a clue, get attacked by wraiths, escape, repeat before it would have gotten repetitive. I enjoyed that there were surprises through the book and all the humour that characters like Merek and Shannon brought.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."