Summer of Supernovas

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2315 0
Summer of Supernovas
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 10, 2016
ISBN
978-0553537048
Buy This Book
      

As the daughter of an expert astrologer, Wilamena Carlisle knows that the truth lies within the stars. So when she discovers a rare planetary alignment, she is forced to tackle her worst astrological fear – The Fifth House of Relationships and Love. But Wil must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her mother’s legacy, when she falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the chart. Debut author Darcy Woods explores love in all its complexities and how to best honor the loved ones who have passed before us, in a novel packed with both humor and heart.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

The Right Kind Of Story To Fall In Love With
(Updated: April 30, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS is a book that must find its way to your TBR soon. It's full of heart as it stunningly navigates the stars of fate, love, friendship, and long made promises.

To begin with, the characters are relatable and downright unique, especially the main character, Wilamena. She has this incredible personality that makes you warm up to her real fast and forgive any missteps she takes. Not only that, but she also has the craziest thoughts or happens to experience the most embarrassing moments, so you are bound to have fun with her at all times.

The same goes for the rest of the characters. There isn't a single one who I did not like. It's rare for YA books to not have antagonists, sometimes they are necessary for a plot to work, yet this book did well without. Everyone is genuine and friendly, some with spines of steel like Wil's amazing grandma and best friend, Irina. I loved them the best!

The author's writing style is my favorite aspect of the book. I love how it is light and full of witty banter, every page is a complete joy to read over since there are many funny lines that will make anyone giggle. Even when things get a bit serious, this book makes it hard to feel down since it is brimming with positiveness, and I loved that. The characters couldn't have been written by a better hand.

This book is a YA contemporary romance, and while it does give plenty of butterflies, I felt that the romantic aspect moves a bit too fast for the reader to properly appreciate the special moments. Sometimes slower is better when it comes to falling in love.

With that said, there are two love interests that are well worthy of your swoons. Grant and Seth, both sweet and charming, both from the same family. Between you and me, I'm Team Seth all the way, although I might be on the minority. There's nothing wrong with Grant, he is great, but I feel that I got to learn more about Seth than Grant, so that highly tipped the scales for me. Either way, if you love well-done love triangles, then you are in for a treat with this one!

Final Verdict:

SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS is the right kind of story to fall in love with. Be it its romance, characters, setting, or humor, every reader will find something in it that will make his/her heart soar, look up at the stars, and possibly say, "this is so me".
Good Points
The author's writing style is fantastic!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Follow The Heart
(Updated: April 24, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
YA Contemporary, Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods, is a wonderfully fresh take on the tried and true plot line, girl who has been unlucky in love is suddenly the sun and moon to a very cool and unattainable guy, or in this case, guys. Brothers, in fact. By creating this painful and disastrous love triangle, Woods breathes life into this structure while leaving the protagonist, Wilamena Carlisle, floundering as she attempts to navigate the right course with her beloved astrological charts. The question remains though, will Wilamena continue to be bound to what the stars tell her or will she ever learn to follow her heart?

What is especially great about this novel is that I felt all the confusion and angst that Wilamena did as she experienced it. Woods sets up both of Wilamena’s love interests, Seth and Grant, with ideal qualities. Seth is a sweet, considerate boy, a fan of grand romantic gestures, and hopelessly in love with Wilamena. Grant, on the other hand, is incredibly down to earth, always happy to lend a hand, and fiercely protective of women. However, with that being said, Seth and Grant are not perfect and each have their own faults; though none of them are bad enough to make Wilamena’s choice any easier.

While this book may be specifically targeted to young girls who enjoy romantic stories, women of all ages will respond to this material. Firstly, it is a sweet reminder of what falling in love for the first time is like. The way Woods describes Wilamena’s internal thoughts in the moments of sheer thrill and panic as she is talking to her crushes is spot on. Not only that, but anyone at war with the head and heart over an important decision will understand Wilamena’s search for enlightenment through outside sources. Also, for someone unfamiliar with astrology, I learned quite a bit!

However, having finished the book, I still am craving to know more about the dynamic in Seth and Grant’s family. Have the two of them ever liked the same girl before? What specific conversations have Seth and Grant had with one another about Wilamena? How will it all work out once Wilamena has made her final decision? While Woods does touch lightly on some of these questions, it is not in depth enough to give the full picture, making it harder to accept without a slight suspension of disbelief. Had Woods perhaps developed the brothers’ relationship more, it would have strengthened the story on a whole.

Despite this, Summer of Supernovas is a great coming of age tale that deals with love and loss in a clever and humorous way as the lead character learns the answer to all her reservations is happiness.

Rating: Four out of Five.
Good Points
Fun, sweet, and cute plot with interesting characters!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
"HEARTBREAKERS AND FAKERS is a consuming YA contemporary romance that I absolutely devoured. Penny wakes up on the lawn after..."
Of Princes and Promises (Rosetta Academy, #2)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD ZULU..."