Dream Things True

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2577 1
Dream Things True
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 01, 2015
ISBN
978-1250070456
Buy This Book
      

A modern-day Romeo and Juliet story in which a wealthy Southern boy falls in love with an undocumented Mexican girl and together they face perils in their hostile Georgia town. Evan, a soccer star and the nephew of a conservative Southern Senator, has never wanted for much -- except a functional family. Alma has lived in Georgia since she was two-years-old, excels in school, and has a large, warm Mexican family. Never mind their differences, the two fall in love, and they fall hard. But when ICE (Immigration and Customs Enforcement) begins raids on their town, Alma knows that she needs to tell Evan her secret. There's too much at stake. But how to tell her country-club boyfriend that she's an undocumented immigrant? That her whole family and most of her friends live in the country without permission. What follows is a beautiful, nuanced, well-paced exploration of the complications of immigration, young love, defying one's family, and facing a tangled bureaucracy that threatens to completely upend two young lives.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

American Dreams
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
DREAM THINGS TRUE is a Romeo and Juliet style romance that weaves contemporary social struggles and brutal realities together. Alma is the "model immigrant." She's undocumented, which means she has to follow the rules, be a perfect student and daughter, all the while hoping she doesn't call too much attention to herself. Evan is privileged, white, and comes from a political family that enforces the removal of undocumented people in Georgia. Despite Alma's better judgement, she follows her heart into a sweet and heartbreaking romance with Evan.

What worked for me--
The love story itself:
There were times when the reality of Alma and Evan's situation was so real, it brought tears to my eyes. These star-crossed lovers have a genuine and finely written romance. I found myself rooting for Evan and wanting him to be better for her.

Alma:
Alma's character deals with a lot of pressure. She's an incredible student, and way beyond her class level. Her advocate, Mrs. King, tries her hardest to get Alma scholarships. Alma is a realist. She knows that without a social security number, it doesn't matter how good her grades are. Alma's journey starts at "model immigrant" to realist. She questions everything she's done. She questions the hypocrisy that calls for immigrants to follow the rules without room for error, while white citizens get the luxury of breaking the law and getting by on privilege. This is not to say that anyone should be allowed to be unlawful. But the racial profiling and the persecution that the immigrant community faces is unjust. Marie Marquardt doesn't shy away from this.

Being a Mexican girl:
Marquardt, an advocate for immigrants, writes honestly about Mexican girls. Alma isn't a trope, she's a full-fledged character with complex wants and needs. The other Latinas in Alma's circle, the cousins and friends, get the same treatment.

Immigration and undocumented people:
Marie Marquardt gives an informative look at ICE (Immigration and Customs Enforcement) without being didactic. ICE has been on the news lately, and the political climate of the US is reflected in this book.

Evan:
While Evan is a bit of a dream himself, it is nice to imagine that a boy like this exists. He's compassionate, sweet, understanding, and wants to immerse himself in Alma's culture. He's got moments where his thoughts turn more sexual, but that's believable and necessary when writing an 18-year-old boy. Evan confronts his privilege, even though he doesn't always accept it. He's wealthy, connected, and has never wanted for something in his life. He's naive when it comes to racial prejudices. He tries to rationalize the behavior of his friends, even when he's angry over it.

There are times when Evan gets so angry at the racist things his friends say that he stays quiet. His walls are breaking, and so is the comfortable world he knew. One moment stuck in my mind. Alma is very blunt about her life and circumstance. She has no qualms calling out Evan's white privilege. He would get frustrated and ask her "Why do you talk like that?" She wasn't afraid to make him uncomfortable. When writing about this subject, it's important to feel uncomfortable because that's how people learn.

What left me wanting--
There was a date rape subplot that should have been addressed with more urgency. I think the resolution was satisfactory, but it is a sensitive subject.

DREAM THINGS TRUE is a heart wrenching and realistic love story that challenges the way we look at immigration. Alma and Evan are characters the reader wants to root for.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dream Things True
(Updated: September 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I'm a huge advocate for diversity in YA literature. As a former bilingual teacher, I know the need for Latino children/teens to see books that mirror themselves. DREAM THINGS TRUE shows readers a forbidden love between Evan, a wealthy nephew of a senator and Alma, an undocumented immigrant. Once they meet, sparks happen and they fall for each other. Problem though is Evan's senator uncle is behind a movement to send all those who are undocumented back to Mexico. Can their love beat the odds?

What worked: The bittersweet at times love story between these two is believable and realistic. I love how Marquardt didn't sugar coat or manipulate readers with stereotypes or cliches. Alma's family life is portrayed in a realistic light. She doesn't fit the stereotype at all. Her family is tight and look out for each other. Alma is smart but being undocumented holds her back from her dreams of going to the university and getting out of the small Georgia town.

Evan doesn't come across as being arrogant like some of his soccer buddies. There were a few times though, when some racist comments are flung towards undocumented workers, and he doesn't speak up that did bug me. He does redeem himself later on though by standing at Alma's side even when his family totally disapproves.

Their backgrounds are totally different. I like that Alma is a strong protagonist that doesn't settle for anything less. There are lots of portrayals of what undocumented families deal with daily. The fear of being round up by ICE (Immigration and Customs Enforcement) is very real. I saw this when back in the 90s when there was an English only proposal on California ballots. My student's parents told me they were afraid that the ICE would come into my classroom and take their children away. There also are scenes of families being broken apart and send back to Mexico.

Huge kuddos for the twist at the end. Alma arcs as a character when she finds the strength she needs to confront her own fears.

Bittersweet glimpse into the lives of a couple from two different worlds and how love might be able to crack through the hatred thrown their way. An important read right now especially in light of recent political rhetoric that targets undocumented immigrants.
Good Points
1. Addresses an important issue right now of undocumented immigrants.
2. Authentic voice
3. Forbidden love set in the South during movement to sent all undocumented immigrants back to Mexico.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."