Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between

Featured
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
2272 0
Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 01, 2015
ISBN
9780316334426
Buy This Book
      

On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they'll retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night will lead them to friends and family, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Better than expected
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
When I got the book, I was excited to read it, but didn't expect TOO much of it. To me it sounded a bit shallow, but I adored the cover, so I gave it a shot. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed reading the book and I think more readers will experience this.

The novel introduces the problem of Clare and Aidan pretty fast: they are both going to study far away from their home town, even further away from each other. They're in a great relationship, but have decided to break up the list night they're in town. On the one hand, this sounded strange to me: if you love each other, you won't let a little distance break up your relationship, will you? But at the other hand, Clare and Aidan are both teens, so going to college will mean making new friends and having the chance to ge into new realtionships. From the beginning you will start wondering about how they're going to fix this problem.

It got very clear after a couple of pages that Clare and Aidan don't really want to break up, but really have to any way. Clare thinks of a way to do this: she makes a list of things she wants to do the last night they're in town. It includes places she's been with Aidan, and sometimes their friends join them too. You will sucked into something that you could call a local road trip and you even go down memory lane while Clare and Aidan are trying to break up throughout the whole evening.

The things they go through that night are just utterly funny. They laugh, they cry, this kiss, they break up, they make up and break up again. It's an emotional rollercoaster, and the book covers just ONE NIGHT in their lifes, which is amazing. It takes a whole book to describe that one night, flash backs included ofcourse. I think Jennifer did an amazing job describing all the events and their feelings for each other.

There were two things that I thought could've been better. Stella feels a bit shallow to me. I think she could've been ellaborated more. I wanted to know more about her, why she does certain things and why she says certain things. And the second thing is that the story really makes the 'break-up-problem' very very big. Every story needs a problem, a dilemma, that has to be solved. And that's what happened in the novel, of course, but to me, it was a bit dramatic.

I really was surprised by how much I liked the book, the story, the world and the characters. They become a live very quickly and make you feel as if you're one of their friends, just as involved as they are. I think Jennifer put them down really realistically. Clare can't make up her mind, which I think is really something that all teens struggle with, especially when it comes to love.

Hello, Goodbye, and everything in between is a hilarious, adorable and realistic story about two teens trying to figure out how to break up properly while they are still madly in love with eachtother. I'd recommend this book to anybody who loves Gayle Forman or John Green.
Good Points
Easy to read, it has a good flow.
Funny jokes and puns that will make you laugh.
Realistic characters.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Very cute and relatable
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Clare and Aidan are about to leave for college on separate sides of the country. They’re packed, they’re prepared, and all that’s left to do on this last night before they leave is to decide if they should break up or try long distance. Set over the last twelve hours before they leave, Clare and Aidan retrace the steps of their relationship in hopes that an answer will come to them. The closer it gets to morning, the closer they are to goodbye.

I absolutely love Jennifer E Smith’s books so I was really excited for a new one to come out. Out of all the ones I’ve read by her, this one turned out to be my favourite. There was something very relatable about these characters and their situation.

The book was broken up into different section using the stops Clare and Aidan made along their journey, each place having some sort of meaning to them and their relationship. I liked both Clare and Aidan as characters and it was sad since they really did seem to fit well together but following their dreams to the school they wanted meant being apart, either breaking up or long distance. Clare was very level-headed and logical, making lists and seeing the pros versus the cons of the situation. Aidan was more go-with-the-flow, why not try it type of person. I liked that I could see both their points of the argument and that they both had moments of doubt no matter which way they were leaning.

As much as I enjoyed the bittersweet journey from Clare and Aidan, my favourite thing about the book, what really rang true for me, was the excitement and the fear of growing up and taking that next step into adulthood. The pain of leaving people you’ve been friends with for years, of knowing that you can talk on the phone or video chat every day but it won’t be the same as having them next door. The anguish of feeling like you’re being left behind because everyone else is leaving.

This book was a quick read, under 275 pages, and there were moments of laughter, moments of tears, moments that make you want to hug your friends because they’re awesome. It was about saying goodbye but also about taking that next step after high school. It was definitely a book I related to and I hope others will as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."