The Golden Specific (The Mapmakers Trilogy #2)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1401 0
The Golden Specific (The Mapmakers Trilogy #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 14, 2015
ISBN
978-0670785032
Buy This Book
      

The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman! It is the summer of 1892, one year since Sophia Tims and her friend Theo embarked upon the dangerous adventure that rewrote the map of the world. Since their return home to Boston, she has continued searching for clues to her parents’ disappearance, combing archives and libraries, grasping at even the most slender leads. Theo has apprenticed himself to an explorer in order to follow those leads across the country—but one after another proves to be a dead end. Then Sophia discovers that a crucial piece of the puzzle exists in a foreign Age. At the same time, Theo discovers that his old life outside the law threatens to destroy the new one he has built with Sophia and her uncle Shadrack. What he and Sophia do not know is that their separate discoveries are intertwined, and that one remarkable person is part of both. There is a city that holds all of the answers—but it cannot be found on any map. Surrounded by plague, it can only be reached by a journey through darkness and chaos, which is at the same time the plague’s cure: The Golden Specific.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Even Better than the First!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
An excellent 2nd book in The Mapmakers Trilogy; I loved this one even more than the first book.

In The Golden Specific, S.E Grove builds a more intricate storyline. Sophia is still searching for her parents but there is an added twist. The book catches you up on what has happened since The Glass Sentence and builds upon it. We learn more about Theo, Sophia , and her family. It makes you fall in love with the characters even more.

S.E Grove does a fantastic job at building more suspense into the storyline of The Mapmakers. Grove keeps you turning pages. There are secrets and deception behind every corner while silently unweaving clues to the big mystery.

Theo and Sophia aren’t working as closely in this second installment and are both consumed by different adventures. It is how these adventures connect that’s important. The storylines flip back and forth between the two characters but I found this added to the suspense in the story.

What I loved best- like in the first book the world building and the characters. The main characters are fleshed out even more in this second book. They feel like they could be the person sitting right next to you. There also seems to be something new about the world at every turn. The setting never gets boring and feels like it is a character within itself.

The Golden Specific is a must read and I am definitely preordering the final book as soon as I can. This is a great trilogy for readers of all ages. Fun and entertaining I am going to be very sad when I have to say goodbye to these characters.
Good Points
Awesome world building
Page turner
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In My Heart
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A working mother reassures her child that even when they’re...
Grandpa's Stories
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
One young girl reflects on a year with her beloved...
The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
So, you want to know about Jack Wilson? Here’s some...
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...

Latest Member Reviews

In My Heart
 
5.0
"IN MY HEART is a beautiful board book that celebrates the love between mother and child. Delving into the ways..."
Grandpa's Stories
 
4.5
"Both heart-wrenching and soul-soothing, this vibrantly illustrated story is a sort of basic introduction to the concept and impact of..."
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
"I LOVE YOU, DADDY is a sweet book for fathers to share with their young readers. Featuring springy pastels, Peter..."
I, Cosmo
 
4.0
"Cosmo is the "big brother" of Max and his young sister Emmaline, and is now 13 years old. He still..."
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation (Charlie Thorne #1)
 
5.0
"Charlie is a twelve year old intellectual prodigy who has uncaring, manipulative parents whom she has escaped by enrolling in..."
Otter: What Pet Is Best?
 
5.0
"'Otter: What Pet Is Best?' by Sam Garton introduces Otter to a variety of pets that he might want, but..."
I Want to Be a Pilot
 
5.0
"'I Want to Be a Pilot' by Laura Driscoll, pictures by Catalina Echeverri, takes readers on a journey through an..."
All Aboard! The Airport Train
 
4.5
"'All Aboard! The Airport Train' by Nichole Mara, illustrated by Andrew Kolb, is a neat, lift-the-flap book that turns into..."
Diggersaurs Explore (Diggersaurs)
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS EXPLORE is a delightful sequel to the book taking the toddler world by storm! Whether you have a little..."
Diggersaurs
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS is perfect for children who love dinosaurs, construction vehicles, bright colors, and/or fun, rhyming phrases. This book re-imagines construction..."
I Love You, Little One
 
5.0
"I LOVE YOU, LITTLE ONE is an elegant and lovely book that speaks to parental love. Perfect for bedtime, this..."
Fun on the Farm
 
5.0
"FUN ON THE FARM is an adorably ridiculous read. The book uses rhyming phrases to anthropomorphize farm animals in the..."