Finding Jake

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1409 0
Finding Jake
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 24, 2015
ISBN
978-0062339485
Buy This Book
      
A heart-wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of psychological suspense in which a parent is forced to confront what he does—and does not—know about his teenage son, in the vein of Reconstructing Amelia, Defending Jacob, and We Need to Talk about Kevin. While his successful wife goes off to her law office each day, Simon Connolly takes care of their kids, Jake and Laney. Now that they are in high school, the angst-ridden father should feel more relaxed, but he doesn’t. He’s seen the statistics, read the headlines. And now, his darkest fear is coming true. There has been a shooting at school. Simon races to the rendezvous point, where he’s forced to wait. Do they know who did it? How many victims were there? Why did this happen? One by one, parents are led out of the room to reunite with their children. Their numbers dwindle, until Simon is alone. As his worst nightmare unfolds, and Jake is the only child missing, Simon begins to obsess over the past, searching for answers, for hope, for the memory of the boy he raised, for mistakes he must have made, for the reason everything came to this. Where is Jake? What happened in those final moments? Is it possible he doesn’t really know his son? Or he knows him better than he thought? Brilliantly paced, Finding Jake explores these questions in a tense and emotionally wrenching narrative. Harrowing and heartbreaking, surprisingly healing and redemptive, it is a story of faith and conviction, strength, courage, and love that will leave readers questioning their own lives, and those they think they know.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Lost Son
(Updated: July 24, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
"Any anger I feel vanishes. What is left cannot be described. It is guilt piled onto emptiness and set afire."

An impactful, relevant book told from a rarely considered angle. Part mystery, part “issues” book, part paternal introspection. Finding Jake is a story that delves into the dark heart of many parents’ worst fears—not only of their child dying, but the far less discussed idea of their child being a participant in causing senseless death and suffering.

From a purely YA perspective, the story offers an empathic window into the mind of involved and loving stay-at-home dad, Simon Connelly, as he reflects on a school shooting that altered his family’s lives forever. The telling alternates back and forth between the present--in which 13 high school students have been killed and his missing son is being treated as a possible second gunman—and the past, tracing critical memories beginning from the moment his wife told him she was pregnant with Jake.

The author shifts back and forth between the tenses of first-person present and first-person past, which not only takes some skill but works surprisingly well for this novel’s structure. All the while the question Simon (and by extension, the reader) must grapple with is whether Jake was capable of participating in mass murder. Searching for his lost son, Simon must face the sociological backlash playing out around him; intensely realistic reactions from grieving parents, people seizing at the chance for limelight attention, righteously judgmental strangers drunk on fear, and merciless media opportunists. The rabid need for blame takes aim at everything from video games to parental neglect.

Reardon’s prose is smart, effective, and candid--neither talking down to a YA audience nor crossing the line into pretentiousness. There are even glimmering moments of visceral emotion and affecting cadence.

“Life is kind of like that, picking the memories you want to frame. We all have an idea of how it should be, all smiles and swing sets. There are the more unsavory moments that we leave in the box stashed up in the darker parts of our psyche. We know they exist but we don’t go flaunting them in front of the dinner guests.”

Simon is a deeply analytical, painfully insecure man who continually questions his decision to stay home with his kids while his wife pursued her career as a lawyer. His self-torment over parenting mistakes and how well he actually knows his son is all too believable, although it also becomes tiring by halfway through the book. The story’s pacing vacillates. Jumping back and forth from memories to the present creates a sort of yo-yoing sensation; as chapters set in the past are more languid, take their time getting to the point, and sometimes become bogged down in portraying the mundane details of life. Some readers may be tempted to skim through the past in an effort to get back to the urgent and uncertain present.

Thankfully there’s no sense of a political or religious agenda intruding on the story’s purpose. Although, it also felt oddly sterile of any and all faith (or explained lack-thereof) that might have added to base characterization in the midst of such a dire and tumultuous situation. The need to play it safe in mainstream fiction is understandable, but some mention of moral background or upbringing would have added a bit more depth and dimension.

On the whole, this was a thought-provoking and valuable book—one with the potential to spark parent/child conversations, and possibly offer cautionary insight to those who may be facing an individual (psychopath/sociopath) with the capacity to do something unconscionable. Unfortunately, this sort of social awareness is something teens must now be taught. What better way than through a story that will cling to their psyche.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically...
Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...

Latest Member Reviews

Curse of the Specter Queen
 
3.7
"CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN was an intriguing YA historical fiction with code-breaking, good friends, and imminent danger. Sam works..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.7
"What worked: Unique coming-of-age story that tackles grief and tragedy. Told through the eyes of six teens, this story starts..."
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
"INSTRUCTIONS FOR DANCING is an engaging YA contemporary about romance, family, and coming of age. Evie stopped believing in love..."
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
"THE TRAGEDY OF DANE RILEY is a compelling YA contemporary read about family, grief, depression, and mental illness. Dane is..."
The Shadow War
 
3.3
"What worked: Intriguing mix of Sci-fi with historical set during WWII. There is a lot going on in this engaging..."
Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
"A SEASON OF SINISTER DREAMS is an engaging YA fantasy that follows two young women, Evra and Annalise. Annalise lives..."
I Can See Clearly
 
3.3
"Luc Ponti comes from a strong Italian family, and his father (an NCAA point guard, Princeton grad, Special Forces and..."
Fire with Fire
 
4.7
"Dani Rivera may excel at every part of her dragon slaying training, but she would rather focus on being normal..."
Better Together
 
5.0
"BETTER TOGETHER is a delightful and charming YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and healing. Siri lives with her mother..."
Get a Clue: A Bookish Boyfriends #4
 
4.3
"In this fourth book set at Reginald R. Hero High, we meet Huck and Win, the brother of Curtis from..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"I had enjoyed this book to great extent. I loved the relationship connection between the two characters and how the..."