Naked

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1925 1
Naked
Age Range
14+
Release Date
July 07, 2015
ISBN
978-1633750074
Buy This Book
      

The best place to hide is in a lie... I could never fit in to the life my parents demanded. By the time I was thirteen, it was too much. I ran away to New York City...and found a nightmare that lasted three years. A nightmare that began and ended with a pimp named Luis. Now I am Dirty Anna. Broken, like everything inside me has gone bad. Except that for the first time, I have a chance to start over. Not just with my parents but at school. Still, the rumors follow me everywhere. Down the hall. In classes. And the only hope I can see is in the wide, brightly lit smile of Jackson, the boy next door. So I lie to him. I lie to protect him from my past. I lie so that I don't have to be The Girl Who Went Bad. The only problem is that someone in my school knows about New York. Someone knows who I really am. And it's just a matter of time before the real Anna is exposed...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A bit shallow but still very good
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
What I Loved:

Anna’s voice is pitch perfect from page one. She grew up in a nice household with plenty of money, but her father’s harsh (and possibly related to his Puerto Rican heritage, as the novel implies) discipline over the smallest things turned her into a rebel. Sneaking out, having sex with boys she shouldn’t,… Sounds normal enough for a sixteen- or seventeen-year-old, but she did all that while she was twelve. Twelve-year-olds probably did that both in the past and in the present, but that is still extremely screwed up. No one is ready for sex at twelve or thirteen or fourteen. Ever. We rarely get explicit descriptions of what life with her family was like before she ran away, but we get a good understanding of what motivated her escape. Sure, it seems like a ridiculous overreaction, but we tend to forget what it means to be twelve/thirteen for a good reason. All of us–all of us–were horrible and illogical then.

The deconstruction of her relationship with Luis, the twenty-something pimp who picked her up practically as soon as she arrived in New York and kept her for three years, is without a doubt the strongest element of the novel. Anna keeps a good opinion of him despite the fact he pimped her out and later sold her to another pimp, but as she starts to question exactly what their relationship was, her Stockholm Syndrome comes unraveled. The scenes of her at Luis’s trial are enough to make you tear up in happiness on her behalf.

What Left Me Wanting:

Still, the story comes with a few holes and major sticking points like writing that relies on cliches. Despite it being implied the Rodriguez family is regularly in the community spotlight due to the father’s obsession with their family image, there are no story-hungry journalists–and there are always journalists around for a story like Anna’s. Anna’s love interest Jackson is sweet but far from the kind of person she needs in her life if he thinks being/being called a prostitute is worse than being/being called a murderer or rapist. His remark is hardly intended that way, but it’s very hard to want someone who thinks like this to be in a relationship with a former prostitute who is still trying to pull herself together and come to terms with what she had to do.

Naked‘s approach to sex work/prostitution is also very shallow. There’s no discussion of how the intersections of identity play into who is in sex work (women of color like Anna are about forty percent of prostitutes but fifty-five percent of those arrested/eighty-five percent of those prosecuted) and street prostitution vs. indoors prostitution (parlors, brothels, etc.). Naked has the ability to go much deeper in its analysis of sex work. While Anna rightfully recognizes all acts of sex she engaged in as rape explicitly on multiple occasions in her head (she is a minor, after all), she proceeds to treat her acts as consensual at all other points for the sake of what feels like forced dramatics.

Final Verdict:

Naked is a strong, voice-driven read about one teen’s recovery from her time as a prostitute and a brilliant debut novel from Stacey Trombley. However, search elsewhere for a more nuanced novel involving prostitution. Arguments for its legalization are all over the Internet and could give readers a great deal of food for thought.
Good Points
*perfect voice
*deconstructing Anna's Stockholm Syndrome
*strong story of healing oneself
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."