Taking Aim

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1700 0
Taking Aim
Powerful, riveting, and real. Sixteen celebrated authors bring us raw, insightful stories that explore guns and teens in a fiction collection that is thought provoking and emotionally gripping. For fans of Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock and Give a Boy a Gun, and with an array of YA talent like the late great Walter Dean Myers, the poetic Joyce Carol Oates, the prophetic Elizabeth Wein, and the gritty Chris Crutcher, these are evocative voices that each has a different perspective to give. Capturing the hurt and the healing, victims and perpetrators, these stories get to the heart of the matter. From a boy whose low self-esteem is impacted when a gun comes into his possession to a student recalling a senseless tragedy that befell a favorite teacher, from a realistic look at hunting to a provocative look at a family that defies stereotypes, each emotional story stirs the debate to new levels. The juxtaposition of guns and their consequences offers moving tales, each a reminder of how crucial the question of guns in our society is, and the impact they have on all of us. Other acclaimed contributors are Marc Aronson, Edward Averett, Francesca Lia Block, Alex Flinn, Gregory Galloway, Jenny Hubbard, Peter Johnson, Ron Koertge, Chris Lynch, Eric Shanower, Will Weaver, and Tim Wynne-Jones.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Taing Aim
(Updated: January 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The topic of guns is a sore point for more than a few. Some want stricter gun laws while other shout that they have the right to owe a gun based on their Second Amendment right. Either way, guns have made and will probably continue to make national headlines. TAKING AIM-- POWER AND PAIN, TEENS AND GUNS is a thought provoking collection of short stories by sixteen authors. The stories are heartbreaking, intense, gripping, and don't hold back.

This collection stayed with me. Each author addresses guns in their own way which is guarantee to resonate with readers.

Some of my favorites include:

ROACH by Walter Dean Myers is very powerful glimpse into a teen in the inner city and an encounter that has deadly consequences.

THE DRAGON by Francesca Lia Block resonated with me as I'm a former first grade teacher that lost a younger sister to gun violence. In this short tale, a kindergarten teacher comes face to face with a gunman who threatens to kill her and her whole class. How she deals with the gunman is very haunting and powerful.

THE BABYSITTERS by Jenny Hubbard is very haunting short of a memory of a dog left behind by a victim of gun violence. I was teary eyed after reading.

HEARTBREAK by Joyce Carol Oates shows the deadly consequences of playing around with a gun.

DARK HOBBY by Edward Averett is a disturbing tale of the one who does pull that trigger.

THE GUNSLINGER by Peter Johnson shows the choice a victim makes after she's raped.

Raw, intense, and thought provoking, each of these stories explores gun culture and it's impact on the lives of teens. Perfect for class discussion regarding guns, especially with recent headlines.
Good Points
1. Great collection of short stories that address guns
2. Heartbreaking. Intense. Thought provoking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In A Flash
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A riveting and dramatic story of two devoted sisters, Italian...
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Engine That Could is on the move and...
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to the Alpactory! These wacky alpacas are here to...
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the joys of learning to share in this exuberant...
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Westworld meets Warcross in this high-stakes, dizzyingly smart sci-fi about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...

Latest Member Reviews

In A Flash
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set in WWII where two Italian sisters survive after being forced into a Japanese internment camp..."
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
"THE ALPACTORY: READY, PACK, GO! is a cute picture book about preparedness. The book starts with three animals who are..."
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
"I LIKE TO SHARE! is a simple board book about kindness and friendship. The book is told in a few..."
If Only...
 
4.0
"IF ONLY... is an intriguing picture book that ultimately encourages readers to be happy with who they are. The book..."
Like a Giant
 
4.0
"LIKE A GIANT is an intriguing picture book about imagination and play. A young child is approached by a giant,..."
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
"A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS CARROS/ROSA LOVES CAR is a delightful, bilingual board book about toy cars. Rosa and her..."
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
"THE DUCK WHO DIDN'T LIKE WATER is a delightful picture book about friendship and kindness. Duck is not a fan..."
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE LLAMA is a charming picture book story about friendship. Little Llama lives with her herd high in the..."
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
"THE BOY AND THE SEA is a beautiful story about growing up, dreaming, and peace. The boy brings his questions..."
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
"IN YOUR BED is a cute board book containing a poem about bedtime. The book captures elements of bedtime, such..."
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
"CHICKS ROCK! is a fun picture book about friendship, reaching for your dreams, and embracing your strengths. Rocker Chick loves..."
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
"BLUEY: THE BEACH is a charming picture book about bravery and adventure. Bluey is excited to be at the beach..."
All About Bluey
 
4.0
"ALL ABOUT BLUEY is a cute board book that introduces the character and some simple facts about her. Whether..."
Even and Odd
 
5.0
"Even and Odd are sisters born a year apart who share their magical power. Odd isn't thrilled with hers, and..."
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE BUNNY is an interesting picture book read about a bunny's first trip out of the burrow. Bunny is..."
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
"When Jordyn's mother offers to help Noura Alwan's family settle in Tampa, Florida, Jordyn hopes that it will improve her..."
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
"In 2012, Samira and her family are members of the Rohingya people. Because of the oppressive government in Myanmar (or..."
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
"NOT NOW, COW is a charming and funny picture book about seasonal clothes. The animals are getting ready for each..."
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
"CUCU! EN EL MAR/ PEEKABOO! IN THE OCEAN is an adorable bilingual lift-the-flap board book. Each page features an animal..."
Family Reunion
 
4.0
"FAMILY REUNION is a colorful picture book that captures all the joy of seeing family, even when you think you..."