Dark Hope: Book One of the Archangel Prophecies

 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
1249 1
DarkHope.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
July 29, 2014
ISBN
978-1938416675
Buy This Book
      
Book One of the Archangel Prophecies For years, Hope Carmichael, survivor of a shocking child abduction, has lived a sheltered existence under the protection of her fanatically religious father. Now, liberated by her mother, Hope prepares to start life over as a normal kid in an Atlanta, Georgia, high school. Normal, that is, until Hope meets Michael, a gorgeous emancipated teen with a mysterious past and a strong interest in her. Soon, Hope's life is filled with questions. What's behind the angry looks she gets from Lucas, leader of a gang of students? Who's responsible for sending Hope strange valentines inscribed with Bible quotations? How does this relate to the sinister business of human tracking that operates on the periphery of Hope's suburban world? And is Michael really a protector, or something more sinister-and just why does he seem so familiar? In an epic narrative that takes readers from the back streets of Atlanta to the height of Vegas penthouses and beyond, DARK HOPE introduces The Archangel Prophecies, a saga of extraordinary love, vast mythological scope, and great moral urgency.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Angelic Undiscovered Gem
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I have received a free copy of this book thanks to NetGalley and Greenleaf Book Group in exchange for an honest review.

This is good! It got me intrigued and hooked from the prologue. I was like “Finally!” when I read this after putting down several eARCs. I’m so glad I got approved for this title and it’s sequel (which I’m definitely excited about) on NetGalley.

Dark Hope is an interesting take on paranormal fantasy, it gives a new perspective on angels and their “types”. I’ve tried reading a few series about angels and this is the most interesting one which is saying a lot because the others that I have read are fairly popular. This duology (at least I think it is) deserves more recognition than those eh-books I’ve read, which I will no longer mention, in my opinion.

There’s an intriguing set of characters which mostly clash in contrast with one another. The plot is interesting and still incorporates real-life problems like human trafficking despite of the book being a paranormal fantasy. Although some parts confused me and made me feel like the story was just going around in circles, it’s pretty good overall.

I loved the potential romance and the ending most of all. The flirting or whatever you can call it between Hope and Michael is cute BUT I think Michael isn’t a good love interest because SPOILER AHEAD one, he’s abusive and two, HE’S ABUSIVE. I get that he’s in pain because of his disobedience but there will never be a good enough excuse for hurting a woman. END OF SPOILER AMEN? The cute and hot scenes between them might make me smile and swoon but I always wipe the grin off my face whenever I remember how Michael acts most of the time.

I love love loved the ending which rarely happens to me these days, mind you. I just had this feeling while reading those last few words like WHOAAA.

SPOILER AHEAD Hope was reviewing in her head the crazy things that have happened and the even crazier angels she has met and how they have suddenly become a part of her life then she thinks, “But I had never felt so alone.” END OF SPOILER A kickass ending, agreed?

In conclusion, Dark Hope is a thrilling read. I recommend this if you want to try something new, this will surely give you one hell of a ride.

Favorite Quotes:

Words signify who or what we are. They tell us our past, and our destiny.

You aren’t afraid to say what you really think. There’s no pretense, no attempt to be someone you really aren’t. That’s rare.

Final Verdict:
Four out of five angelic stars. There’s little room for improvement with regards to the plot but still worth the read.
Good Points
-This is good! It got me intrigued and hooked from the prologue.
-It's an interesting take on paranormal fantasy, it gives a new perspective on angels and their “types”.
-There’s an intriguing set of characters which mostly clash in contrast with one another. The plot is interesting and still incorporates real-life problems despite of the book being a paranormal fantasy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
The Story of Inventions
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Christmas
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: CHRISTMAS is a fun activity book for elementary-aged children (and maybe older toddlers). The book features..."
Baby, Find the Shapes! (Indestructibles)
 
4.7
"BABY, FIND THE SHAPES! is a fun addition to the Indestructibles book series. The best feature of this book is..."
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
4.3
"Born in 1927, Althea Gibson experienced the racial and gender disparities that were prevalent at the time, but were in..."
Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”
 
5.0
"WELCOME TO JAZZ is a truly delightful and entertaining children's book. The book teaches about jazz in terms of history,..."
National Geographic Student World Atlas
 
5.0
" A wonderful representation of the world for teaching kids to love the earth they live on. With bright,..."
Ralph Masiello's Alien Drawing Book
 
4.7
"A cute way for kids to learn how to draw. This book takes kids through a step by..."
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
"Before reading this, I didn't know much about Jimmy Carter except that he had been one of the presidents. I..."