Under the Lights

 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
1180 0
Under the Lights
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 30, 2015
ISBN
1633920178
Buy This Book
      
Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and the occasional modeling gig. But his laid-back lifestyle is about to change. To help out his best friend, Liam, he joins his hit teen TV show, Daylight Falls...opposite Vanessa Park, the one actor immune to his charms. (Not that he's trying to charm her, of course.) Meanwhile, his drama-queen mother blackmails him into a new family reality TV show, with Josh in the starring role. Now that he's in the spotlight--on everyone's terms but his own--Josh has to decide whether a life as a superstar is the one he really wants. Vanessa Park has always been certain about her path as an actor, despite her parents' disapproval. But with all her relationships currently in upheaval, she's painfully uncertain about everything else. When she meets her new career handler, Brianna, Van is relieved to have found someone she can rely on, now that her BFF, Ally, is at college across the country. But as feelings unexpectedly evolve beyond friendship, Van's life reaches a whole new level of confusing. And she'll have to choose between the one thing she's always loved...and the person she never imagined she could.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
I NEED MORE DAHLIA ADLER IN MY LIFE
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Under The Lights is exactly what I want in a NA/YA Contemporary. And Dahlia Adler is exactly what I want in an author.

Under The Lights, a companion novel to Daylight Falls, follows Ally’s best friend, Vanessa Park, and Liam’s best friend, Joshua Chester, in alternate POVs. And if you’ve seen the cover and are a follower of Dahlia Adler on Twitter, then you know that a book is an F/F Romance. Which is OMFG WE NEED MORE OF THESE. And if you’ve read Daylight Falls, you also know that Vanessa Park is an Asian-American and Joshua is an a**hole.

Okay. So we’re on the same page.

I’m not going to lie and say that I loved all the characters and all that they said and did. I didn’t. Hell, I hated Josh in the first half of the book. His womanising ways, his absolutely careless attitude towards anyone but himself, his blatant disrespect toward his parents, his crappy ways of dealing with situations. But here’s what I’ve come to realise: Josh doesn’t ask to be loved. He doesn’t ask for a fan base of his own and he doesn’t go around making the reader feel like they just have to love him. He’s not a damaged bad boy with a heart of gold…he just is. And with Josh, with Under The Lights, as a reader, I’ve learnt something new. I’ve learnt that in books, as in real life, some people just are the way they are. Nothing or no one can change them and that’s okay. It’s okay to ignore them if they’re nasty and it’s okay to want to be their friend if you’re inclined. In the end, I loved that Josh was an unapologetic bad boy who neither wanted nor need my approval. He was proud to be himself and all the more power to him for it.

But really. If I were to make this really simple, readers mine, let me tell you that this story is more about Vanessa Park than Josh Chester. Vanessa struggles with trying to make her parents realise that for her, this is it. Acting is what she wants to do for the rest of her life, she’s not going through a phase and college isn’t really on the cards for her. But acting? Acting makes her happy and that’s what her parents should want, right? To see her happy? Somehow, it’s very difficult for her to make them see this. And then there’s the part where her parents might be right, and that she’s only acting on borrowed time. After all, what Asian-American will be able to stay in the TV world for too long? And then there’s the tiny part of her that has started to like like a particular girl. Needless to say, Vanessa is a mess.

I loved that reading Vanessa felt like coming home. It was like, “There. There it is. That’s how I feel. That’s how difficult it is admitting certain things in life and that is exactly how my parents would react.” I can say I’ve never felt like this before, with any other book. No other book (or character, for that matter) has ever made me feel like I’m not alone in my problems quite like UtL did and that makes me so, so grateful. Vanessa made me want to jump into the book and grab her in a hug and never let her go. She wasn’t always right, and she wasn’t always perfect, but what mattered is that she conquered a lot of things I hadn’t anticipated she would, in the way she did and again, that makes me glad.

I’ve always felt like I’m not the best person to judge the writing of an author, and that’s never been so clear to me as it is right now. The writing in Under The Lights only makes the characters and their problems and their situations that much more real, and beautiful, and bloody relatable. Not only is the writing quick and smart and witty, it flows so beautifully…almost making you feel like you might miss something if you blink. Dahlia Adler seemingly had no troubles dealing with issues that are relevant and important—coming out to the world (no matter how big or small your world is), choosing what is right for yourself, and most importantly, realising that just because you’ve been living your life a certain way doesn’t mean that it is the only way to live your life.
Good Points
I loved Dahlia Adler's writing! So to-the-point and sharp and witty!

The characters in this book, every single one of them, are AMAZING
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."