Shadowshaper

 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1369 0
Shadowshaper
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 30, 2015
ISBN
0545591619
Buy This Book
      
Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned an easy summer of making art and hanging out with her friends. But then a corpse crashes the first party of the season. Her stroke-ridden grandfather starts apologizing over and over. And when the murals in her neighborhood begin to weep real tears... Well, something more sinister than the usual Brooklyn ruckus is going on. With the help of a fellow artist named Robbie, Sierra discovers shadowshaping, a thrilling magic that infuses ancestral spirits into paintings, music, and stories. But someone is killing the shadowshapers one by one -- and the killer believes Sierra is hiding their greatest secret. Now she must unravel her family's past, take down the killer in the present, and save the future of shadowshaping for generations to come. Full of a joyful, defiant spirit and writing as luscious as a Brooklyn summer night, Shadowshaper introduces a heroine and magic unlike anything else in fantasy fiction, and marks the YA debut of a bold new voice.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Shadowshaper
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
One thing I'm very passionate about is having diversity in children and YA literature. I especially feel it's important that there are stories that mirror reader's cultures. In the case of SHADOWSHAPER we are introduced to Sierra Santiago who lives around Brooklyn and likes to hang with her friends. She loves to paint murals and finds out that there is 'magic' in some of the paintings. But more than that she finds out that there is a secret society of people called the Shadowshapers, who can infuse paintings, music, and stories with spirits. She finds out her grandfather was one of them only now he's in a coma. Sierra looks for answers which will include her own part in having this paranormal ability.

What worked: I loved Sierra! She's feisty, not afraid to stand up for herself, and very creative. The voice is very authentic. I also listened to the audio tape that does a great job of nailing the voice of the diverse culture. Older nailed it!

I also loved the whole premise of Shadowshapers--people that are able to connect spirits with art, music, and stories. The unique twist of this ability gives readers glimpses of the richness of the culture. Totally love!

Older does a great job of giving readers a strong diverse protagonist that will have them want to follow her as she learns how to use her Shadowshaper abilities.

Older paints a vivid picture of a Brooklyn neighborhood that is filled with magic, rich images, and a diverse culture. Readers will applaud Sierra as she tries to bring balance back to her world.

Good Points
1. Great paranormal tale with lots of diversity
2. Authentic voice
3. Unique twist
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Diverse, fun, and fast-paced
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

Older’s worldbuilding is some of the most vivid and creative I’ve ever come across. Graffiti and murals–two types of art often sneered at as “vandalism, not art”–are explicitly turned into something good, culturally important, and powerful. The world is saved not with fists but with art and brains. This is a novel written with a deep knowledge of and love for New York City and the culture these characters come from. It takes us back to the sweet, sweet roots of urban fantasy.

Though the novel is deeply entrenched in Caribbean myth, Older doesn’t neglect contemporary issues his characters face either. Sierra has to deal with colorism from her aunt and many comments about her wild hair. Her best friend’s brother died at the hands of police who brutally murdered him. Even as murals cry and her grandfather’s friends start dying off one by one at the hands of a power-hungry white man, this is our very uncomfortable, horrible world in all its glory.

Speaking of the good researcher who goes mad with power, the scenario of a white man jumping into a POC culture and nearly destroying it may sound familiar to anyone who knows their history. The way the status quo gets turned around is brilliant and more novels should give it a shot!

What Left Me Wanting:

At 304 pages, Shadowshaper is extraordinarily short for a standalone fantasy novel. It got me worried about the novel’s pacing and development, which turned into the two major issues I have with it. Character development and training for Sierra are rushed through with lightning-fast speed; secondary characters are mere sketches. Robbie had to train for years to reach the level he’s at, but it takes Sierra mere hours to be his equal because she’s immediately good at it. There’s a good reason for that, but it doesn’t make for a lot of fun to see her accomplish in minutes what took Robbie years of training to do. Shadowshaper puts you in a speedboat when the experience should be more like a cruise so you can admire what’s around you. The ending wraps up neatly and yet there needs to be so much more than there is.

Final Verdict:

Older heard readers crying for more creative, diverse reads and he answered with a novel as rich and unique as it is fun and fast-paced. I haven’t read adult urban fantasy in years, but knowing Older has such a series makes me want to get back into that genre.
Good Points
*Diverse in every area of identity
*Uniquely creative worldbuilding
*Tackles contemporary issues even amidst urban fantasy
*Clear love for New York City
*Fast-paced
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."