Faking Perfect

 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
1138 0
Faking Perfect
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 30, 2015
ISBN
1617738808
Buy This Book
      
When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly okay with her rules: 1. Avoid her at school. 2. Keep his mouth shut about what they do together. 3. Never tease her about her friend (and unrequited crush) Ben. Because with his integrity and values and golden boy looks, Ben can never find out about what she’s been doing behind closed doors with Tyler. Or that her mom’s too busy drinking and chasing losers to pay the bills. Or that Lexi’s dad hasn’t been a part of her life for the last thirteen years. But with Tyler suddenly breaking the rules, Ben asking her out, and her dad back in the picture, how long will she be able to go on faking perfect?

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
REASONS TO READ FAKING PERFECT
(Updated: July 03, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Tyler Flynn is fantastic. Forgive me for starting this “review” with Tyler Flynn, but bear with me for a moment here. This guy, Tyler Flynn, was seduced by Lexi Shaw for one and only one reason—to warm her bed. And I had absolutely no qualms about that, considering the sex was consensual and they were being safe. But here’s the deal: Tyler wasn’t supposed to fall in love with Lexi and vice versa. They were supposed to keep their relationship confined to the bedroom and even though Tyler knew of Lexi’s life-long infatuation with her friend Ben, he wasn’t supposed to mention that ever. You may think that Tyler is just another filler character (which was my assumption too) but you slowly discover something completely different. We don’t see Tyler as much as we want to, but he’s a major character alright. He was a constant source of confusion for Lexi, considering he had started to break her rules, and she was thinking of him a lot more. And in the scenes were he really was present, I loved everything about him. He may have been a bad boy but he was definitely the bad boy you want to see in YA.

Lexi Shaw is no typical YA heroine.There is a certain way that Lexi had about her, that made you want to sympathise as well as throttle the girl all the time. She was real and she was flawed, and that entailed to her making a lot of mistakes. But Lexi was the character who, to me, was the perfect personification of a girl whose actions would make me reconsider mine. High school is not easy, no matter where in the world you might be, and its been almost 4 years since I’ve graduated mine. But reading Lexi, her actions and the reasons behind them, and reading how everyone is helpless against certain circumstances, made me want to go back and correct many of my own actions. I was no bully, far from it, but I was passive high school. And Lexi, the way she was with her friends, made me regret turning a blind eye to a lot of things that I’d seen back then.

Parent-Child Relationships are often complicated. And we need to understand that. Lexi’s relationship with her mother was something I hadn’t expected. Sure, it was mentioned in the blurb that her mother was an alcoholic who “chased losers to pay the bill” but I wasn’t quite sure what that would mean for Lexi. But what I read in the book was equal parts horrifying and eye-opening. This isn’t the worst parent-child relationship I’ve read in a book, not even close, but it was kind of like watching a car wreck. You want to turn away and avoid the pain of the scene, but your eyes remain glued to the wreckage. Something like that. Every time Lexi and her mother had a conversation, it was pretty horrible to read, and I did consider skipping those pages, but in the end, I couldn’t turn away. The whole thing served as an eye-opener, like these things happen in families and there’s nothing you can do kind of a revelation.

Your friends are your biggest asset. And Faking Perfect proves that.Lexi’s friends were all over the place. Some were shallow and the others were judgemental and some were plain mental. But then she had other friends, true friends and I could only imagine how much Lexi needed her friends. Lexi’s father makes contact with her after almost 13 years, and she has to choose whether or not she wants to have him back in her life. And this is precisely where her friends came in. Without them, Lexi wouldn’t have been able to take the right decisions for her, and her friends stood by her through whatever choice that she would make. One of her friends in particular was accused of having ulterior motives by Lexi’s boyfriend and Lexi believed him, and that pissed me off. But what mattered most to me was what I learnt from this book? Friends are important. They support you and tease you and challenge you and take you higher than you ever could be, simply by being your friends.

Because I said so.


I WAS PROVIDED A FREE EARC OF THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE OF AN HONEST REVIEW. THIS DID NOT IN ANY WAY, HOWEVER, INFLUENCE THE CONTENT OF THIS REVIEW.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."