Grace and the Guiltless (Wanted #1)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1389 0
Grace and the Guiltless (Wanted #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
11+
Release Date
August 01, 2014
ISBN
978-1630790011
Buy This Book
      
As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride. Set in the Wild West, the book piggybacks on the success of the strong female character in “True Grit,” and presents Grace Milton, a character whose once-peaceful life on a horse ranch outside Tombstone, Arizona, is shattered in one devastating night. Her family is brutally murdered by the notorious Guiltless Gang, leaving Grace the only survivor. Trekking into the wilderness on her stallion, Grace falls ill from the elements. A young man named Joe saves her life by taking her to an Apache camp where she learns about their way of life and begins to fall for Joe. When Grace encounters one of the Guiltless Gang, her strength will be tested. Can she survive as a bounty hunter, or will she fall into darkness again? This Western revenge epic will captivate teen readers with its ruthless spirit of suspense and adventure and a powerful central romance.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

YA With True Grit
(Updated: July 27, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Grace and the Guiltless is one of the few books that's made me choke up on chapter one. The novel goes off with a bang. After the murder of her entire family at the hands of the Guiltless Gang, Grace is the lone survivor of that brutal massacre. She's alone in the world with the exception of her horse, Bullet. She's consumed with revenge. With the faces of each killer etched into her memory, she sets off to Tombstone where she asks for justice. Her request are ignored, and she's taken advantage of by everyone except for a young white man dressed in Indian garb who takes pity on her. She sets off into the desert in search of the Guiltless Gang. She only has three bullets left, but she'll make it work. Unfortunately, and despite the help of a minister that helps her, Grace nearly dies of the elements. She's rescued by the same young man who took pity on her before. His name is Joe and he was raised by the Ndeh (the English call them Apache) and lost his family to a gang as well. Here, the tribe takes Grace in, teaches her to hunt and adopts her as a family member. With everything she's learned, she thinks she's ready to go hunting for the Guiltless Gang. Yet, something's happened to her during the time she's spent with the Indians. She's fallen for Joe and has found a family that loves her just as much as the one that was taken from her. To revenge or to not revenge, that is the question.

Things I loved:
Grace is strong. She's grown up in the desert, and even though she has a setback that almost kills her, she still had a steel heart and tough skin. Having just watched her whole family get murdered, including all her baby siblings, her pain is palpable. It would be easy to have her character let go of that hatred in one book, but that kind of hurt isn't something that seems easy to get rid of. Especially as she witnesses more violence when she's with the Ndeh. I appreciate that Grace is gutsy and takes her life by the reins.

I love that Grace has a fighting spirit, and so eager to learn. Sometimes her eagerness comes off as demanding and privileged. After all, the Ndeh could just kick her out and let her fend off for herself. But she does have a mission, and I appreciate that her relationship with Joe wasn't the resolution to all her problems.

That brings me to Joe. Joe's character was wonderful. He was soft where Grace was hard. He was understanding when Grace was headstrong. All the while, he's still a hunter and super crush worthy. He treats Grace with respect not seen of men in the Wild West. For those who don't like insta-love, you're in for a treat. The set up is there, but the development is wonderful to see. I'm certainly rooting for him in book two.

I was happy to see Grace befriend one of the young Ndeh women, Sequoyah. It was a needed balance to the interactions to Joe and the male elders. The novel read like Johnson did her due diligence with research when it came to the Ndeh culture and way of life. The Ndeh themselves were diverse in character. Not everyone was welcoming to Grace, understandably. Not everyone rushed to love the pretty blonde girl, which is important in order to not create a White Savior complex.

Things that left me wanting:
I wasn't always happy with the way the Ndeh Indians spoke. Writing an accept or dialect is challenging, but sometimes it bordered on cartoonish.

Even though I could tell that lots of research went into the Ndeh, there were times when the Indians come off as these magical people, which is often a trope in Western literature. It doesn't seem unavoidable since someone like Grace newly encountering their way of life is saved by medicine and poultices she's never seen before.

I wished some chapters had stronger endings, but the pacing was great.

Final verdict:

Grace and the Guiltless is a fun and gritty adventure set in the Wild West. There is no shying away from the true, often cruel, way of life during this time in American history. Grace is a girl set out on finding revenge but also finds love and family along the way. I can't wait to dig into the sequel, Her Cold Revenge.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."