Sword And Verse

 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
1393 0
Sword And Verse
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 19, 2016
ISBN
9780062324610
Buy This Book
      
Raisa was only a child when she was kidnapped and enslaved in Qilara. Forced to serve in the palace of the king, she’s endured hunger, abuse, and the harrowing fear of discovery: everyone knows she is Arnath, but not that Raisa is a Learned One, a part of an Arnath group educated in higher order symbols. In Qilara, this language is so fiercely protected that only the King, the Prince, and Tutors are allowed to know it. So when the current Tutor-in-training is executed for sharing the guarded language with slaves, and Raisa is chosen to replace her, Raisa knows that—although she may have a privileged position among slaves—any slip-up could mean death. That would be challenging enough, but training alongside Prince Mati could be her real undoing. And when a romance blossoms between them, she’s suddenly filled with a dangerous hope for something she never before thought possible: more. Then she’s propositioned by the Resistance—an underground army of slaves—to help liberate the Arnath people. Joining the rebellion could mean freeing her people…but she’d also be aiding in the war against her beloved—an honorable man that she knows wants to help the slaves. Working against the one she loves—and a palace full of deadly political renegades—has some heady consequences. As Raisa struggles with what’s right, she unwittingly uncovers a secret that the Qilarites have long since buried…one that, unlocked, could bring the current world order to its knees. And Raisa is the one holding the key.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: Sword & Verse
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
When Raisa was a child, her village was raided and she was kidnapped and enslaved. Forced to work in the palace as a cleaner, a job she’s becoming too old for, she finds herself with the chance to become the new Tutor-in-training when the previous one is to be executed for treason. No one knows that Raisa is a Learned One, someone who already knows some of the higher order symbols that are only supposed to be known by the King, the Prince, and the Tutor. It’s a dangerous position, as any hint that she’s a Learned One could mean her death, but Raisa finds she enjoys her lessons with Prince Mati and the romance that’s brewing between them. When the resistance approaches her for her help, the same resistance that the previous tutor-in-training was helping that got her executed, Raisa knows helping them could mean freeing her people, but it also means betraying Mati.

This book had a two stories in one feeling as there was the main story of Raisa and her journey but also each chapters had a little bit of the mythology of the Gods from this world and each section created a story. Both were interesting and the Gods’ story added to Raisa’s and the more they both went on, they more intertwined they appeared to be.

I enjoyed Raisa as the main character for the most part. There were times I thought she was pretty naive and passive but she truly wanted to help people and to feel that connection with her father through the symbols. So much had been taken from her but she refused to just give up. There were times when she made such bad decisions and it was incredibly frustrating because she definitely knew it was a bad decision but did it anyway. Then she would turn around and be extremely logical and make a great decision. It was frustrating but also enjoyable because her bad decisions usually came as a reaction to something and they were realistic reactions, even if they weren’t smart reactions.

I would have liked to have seen more depth in the romance before things started to get serious. The crush was already happening when the book started and developed into romance pretty fast. They were cute together and I liked their flirty banter but I was lacking a lot of the depth in the relationship. Did they fall for each other because they spent so much time together and not a lot of time with other people their age? What made each of them so special in each other’s eyes? Their love was obvious in the way they treated each other but there wasn’t a whole lot behind it.

The plot started off slowly. There was a lot of build-up with the symbols and Raisa learning the lower order, then the higher order, and writing and writing and writing the symbols over and over again. There were a few times when it seemed like the action would start to pick up only to stall out. Once the action did finally start, it didn’t stop. There was almost too much happening at the end of the book to keep track of everything. The slower pace left a lot of room for world-building, and I definitely appreciated all the details of this world and the descriptions of the places they visited. The library that was described sounded absolutely amazing. Even with the uneven pacing, the plot was easy to follow and it was one I enjoyed. The poor girl helping the rebellion against the world leaders trope has been done again and again but I liked the elements that were added in this book, with so much emphasis being placed on the ability to read the symbols and who should have the right to be able to read.

Overall, it was slower than I would have liked and the romance lacked a little depth but it was still enjoyable once the action really got under way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."