The Tattooed Heart (Messenger of Fear #2)

Featured
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
2345 0
22471541.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 22, 2015
ISBN
978-0062207432
Buy This Book
      

The games continue in New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant's sequel to Messenger of Fear—a haunting tale for fans of Stephen King that combines fantasy with real-world horror stories. Mara has learned to punish the wicked as the Messenger's apprentice. Those who act out of selfishness and greed, and others who become violent because of prejudice and hate, pay the ultimate price. But Mara is constantly reminded that Messengers are serving their own kind of punishment—for every person who is offered justice, they wear a tattoo that symbolizes the heart of the crime. As Mara delves deeper into her harsh reality she will discover that in spite of all the terror she and Messenger inflict, caring in this world is the hardest part of all.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Gripping novel full of darkness and delicious characters
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
In this sequel to Messenger of Fear, Mara continues her training to become the Messenger. She discovers more about this dark and complex world to which she now belongs, and she learns the depth of the burden she must carry. Nothing appears in black and white anymore as she and the Messenger delve out punishments, and Mara must decide if her decision is too much for her to take.

What I Loved:
There is something so intriguing about dark stories for me. Give me wicked characters, moral ambiguity, and serious conflict, and I’m yours. This series repeatedly captures me with the rich darkness of the characters and the world. Absolutely nothing falls 100% onto the good or evil side, and it is so easy to get lost in this strange setting where time and space bend as easily as first impressions.

Mara’s journey in The Tattooed Heart begins right where the first novel left off, soon after she discovers why she is the Messenger’s apprentice. Her growth is wonderful, and I love how she continuously questions herself. She starts to acknowledge where she faults but finds conviction in being as true to herself as possible. Her relationship with the Messenger is heartbreaking and beautiful at the same time, and the final scenes are prime crying material, full of tragedy, sacrifice, and a strangely perfect kind of peace.

Sometimes after reading a book, I find myself desperate to connect with the characters more. While I love Mara and the Messenger, the seductive, mystical, and mysterious world is what makes me yearn for more the most. There are secrets uncovered in this novel, but it’s clear there is much to learn about this engaging setting, and I can’t wait to find out more secrets.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Occasionally, Mara will say something as if she is sharing this story in the future. The instances between those comments are long, making them feel a bit awkward and out of place. They sometimes come across as an attempt to keep the reader’s interest, but the story is so engaging that it feels unnecessary. However, this is a completely minor note, and I could see this making more sense and fitting in better later in series.

Final Verdict:
The Tattooed Heart stands out magnificently with its dark themes, complex characters, and riveting plot lines. Michael Grant works mysterious magic in this complex story and is sure to leave readers desperate for more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Tattooed Heart
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
First of all, I read anything Michael Grant writes based on his name alone. I think he's one of the King Midases of YA literature--everything he writes is phenomenal. This series, while not my favorite, is still fantastic.

uch an improvement on the first book, but still not quite up to Grant standards. There were still some scenes that felt forced, and the whole Haarm thing felt completely unnecessary, unless it's a setup for book 3. The punishments were, again, horrific and awful, but luckily didn't have quite the psychological effect that the ones in book 1 did. These didn't hit my fears as hard, so *phew*. :) I do look forward to the novella and book 3, though, mostly because the concept is fresh and fun. And scary.

Also, does anyone else see Bradbury's Illustrated Man in the Messenger's tattoo thing? That seems like a massive tribute.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."