King (Prophesy #3)

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1199 0
king.jpg
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 30, 2015
ISBN
978-0062091154
Buy This Book
      
King by Ellen Oh, founder of #WeNeedDiverseBooks, will be loved by fantasy and action fans of Kristin Cashore's Graceling, Tamora Pierce's Tortall novels, and Marie Lu's Legend series! This thrilling and romantic conclusion to the Prophecy series brings Kira her final quest. Girl warrior, demon slayer, tiger spirit of the yellow eyes—Kira is one captivating heroine. Author Marie Lu raved, "After finishing my journey with Kira, all I wanted was more!" Here is the much-anticipated final installment in the Prophecy series! All eyes are on her. Kira, once an outcast in her home village of Hansong, is now the only one with the power to save her kingdom. Kira braves a sea of tigers and battles armies of demons as she learns to trust herself, the romantic feelings for Jaewon that are growing within her, and the destiny that must be hers.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A moving journey of heart and strength
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Action, heartache, and adventure of the epic kind wrap up KING, the final installment of the Prophesy Trilogy by Ellen Oh. KING sets off right where WARRIOR ends. No preamble, no intro, just BOOM, you’re back in the ring with Kira as she tries to get her feet under her for the final leg of her journey. Her brothers are a mess, stressed, and Kwan is trying to recover from being attacked by Furlong, the blue dragon. Taejo and his sidekick, Gom, have been abducted by Furlong and taken to the Tiger’s Nest Temple, doing who knows what to her dear young cousin and future king.

So, basically, everything is not at its best.

As the prophesized Dragon Musado, Kira must journey to Jindo Island in order to save the future king and defeat the blue dragon. Oh, and she must also take on the demon lord and all his minions. Piece of cake! She has the tidal stone, a jewel that gives her the ability to control water, and the jeweled dagger All that’s left to acquire if the dragon belt, and that’s rumored to be hidden away in the monk’s temple. With all three pieces, she will be able to awaken the dragons of the land, but that could potentially destroy everything rather than aid in her cause. She just has to decide which evil is the lesser and on which she has the courage to follow through.

I believe I read somewhere that KING, and the previous books of the Prophesy Trilogy, is based on bits of actual Chinese folklore, which is beyond cool. Some of the imagery in KING is phenomenal. And Ellen Oh does a great job of getting down to the details of East Asian culture--the idiosyncrasies of their beliefs--and putting an epic fantasy spin on it all. The world of KING is colorful and slathered in words that transport you to another world. Chinese wyrms, magic jewels, kumihos, dokkaebi, and horrific battles that straddle the line of honor and evil make KING an enjoyable read.

Kira is my favorite part of KING. She’s been trained since childhood to be a fighter. Having a bunch of older brothers, she had to prove herself. She’s tough and knows how to survive. Kira might not be the easiest person to like, since she’s often all business and little humor, but that’s what I liked about her. She’s relatable, but not in the usual teen way. After you strip away the swords, the bow and arrow, the tiger’s eyes, and the other gear she wears as the Dragon Musado, there is a simple, incredibly self-conscious teen girl. She’s not sure why Jaewon finds her attractive or why she’s been deemed special enough to carry the burden of the Dragon Musado. She questions everything, including (and most importantly) herself.

The romance between Jaewon and Kira is very sweet and subtle. If you want something hot and steamy, this is not your book. The focus is on the adventure and Kira’s journey, but part of that journey is her journey into being a young woman. Jaewon suits Kira. He might have a troubled past, but he’s one of the very few people in Kira’s life who sees the person she is inside. But he doesn’t try to hard to see the real Kira, he just does. And that makes their romance very sweet. They are an equal match.

The only part of KING that left me sort of wanting a bit more was some of the writing style. When it comes to fantasy novels, especially the epic kind, I like to be completely immersed in the story. At times, I felt like I was being spoke to rather than being allowed to experience the world through Kira or Jaewon. Many of the details of the setting were beautiful and I could see them. Other times, I felt cheated as though the author took a quick break and just told me how things were. This is personal preference, of course, and readers who don’t get swept away with the vast descriptions typical of fantasy novels might not find a problem with KING, or the rest of the Prophesy Trilogy.

Also, I wanted to point out this is a GREAT series of books for reader who like to binge out. The Prophesy Trilogy delivers in a wham, bam, binge it man style. If you wait to long between books, you will be lost like the passengers of flight 815. There is no backtracking, no recap. Ellen Oh plows ahead in seamless fashions. So, prepare yourself. Fluff the pillows, fill the camelpack, and grab some munchies. Once you dig in, there is no coming up for air.

In the end, KING is a moving journey to the heart of what gives us strength and honor. Prepare to be swept away with intoxicating Chinese folklore and fights to the very death. The characters are captivating and, in the end, you will want to raise your sword in support of the Dragon Musado as she fights to keep her world safe.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."