The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1891 0
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 09, 2015
ISBN
0803740700
Buy This Book
      
A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too. Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past. Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma's The Walls Around Us, as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Cult Life
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Told entirely from the first-person perspective of Minnow, beginning from the point she is arrested and placed in a juvenile detention facility. At first, her unreliable narration leads readers to think she has been placed in this facility because it’s suspected she somehow caused death and destruction at the isolated cult compound where she’d been living since the age of 5. But as it turns out, her detention is a far more complicated matter combining severe violence against a stranger and a possible murder coverup. The truth of her backstory is revealed in non-linear flashbacks throughout her stay.

What I Liked:

-The writing is unusually vivid and compelling. So much so, I didn’t really mind the slowness of the first 70 pages. It’s always encouraging to see this level of prose skill available in YA. The emotional conveyance is raw, and the violence depicted is both stunning and visceral.

-In this reader’s opinion, the author did a decent job of making the conflict crux of this story about the psychological aspects of cultism rather than any specific faith or religion. While Kevinians (named narcissistically after their “prophet”) bear more than a passing resemblance to the perverted LDS offshoot led by polygamist/pedophile Warren Jeffs, their belief system doesn’t seem to be based around anything in particular outside of conspiracy, paranoia, and pseudo-religiosity.

"I guess people can't be content without answers, even if they're wrong. We'd rather have a lie than a question we can never know the answer to."

-Not much actively happens during the present-day portions of the book, outside of institutional nuance and visits from the man investigating the deaths at the former cult compound. So, the driving motivation to read on relies largely on the reader’s desire to piece together the mystery of Minnow’s origins—culminating and even extending beyond the point where she experienced the punitive amputation of both of her hands.

What Didn’t Work For Me:

-One of the biggest things I had trouble with was believability. The Prophet was incredibly one-note in characterization. By the end, I still hadn’t seen any evidence he had enough charisma to convince over 100 blue-collar folks to just up and leave their lives to live in huts in the woods. In all of Minnow's memories of him, he has a creep factor of 10 and a charm factor of 1. And only so much of that can be blamed on Minnow being an unreliable narrator. The implication seems to be that because these people were poor and poorly educated, they were particularly vulnerable. (But if those are the ideal conditions for cult formation, someone needs to explain to everyone how Scientology became such a prominent force. >.>)

-Another jarring implausibility came in the form of the illiterate Minnow’s verbose, sometimes borderline flowery inner dialogue. Which also encompasses her knowing things she would have had no access to. In particular, her possessing the insight and justification for trying to rescue her unwilling younger sister from the cult’s grasp.

"What?" he demanded. "But she doesn't want to."
"It doesn't matter--she's brainwashed."

See... based on her background and the material available to her, Minnow shouldn't even know the word “brainwashed,” let alone understand the meaning of it. Maybe if Jude had taught her to read and she spent secret time getting these kinds of ideas into her head (since radio and TV influences are out of the question), I could buy this massive revelation. But he didn’t and she didn’t. As it was, this convenient unlikelihood pulled me completely out of the story.

-Unfortunately, I never quite connected with Minnow. In part because her characterization never feels fully realized. She is fairly tough, despite the subservient females-are-lesser-beings upbringing. And she shows some heroinism at one single point when she protects a painfully naive fellow inmate from sexual exploitation. But aside from this, we don’t really get to know her—her likes, dislikes, hopes, dreams, fears, etc. Which left a pretty bland taste in this reader’s literary mouth. (I suspect a 3rd person telling would have helped with a lot of this, arousing fewer deep POV expectations than 1st person.)

-The ending was anticlimactic and lacking in closure on many fronts. If you have a burning desire to know the fate of your MC… be forewarned. You won’t find that here.
----------------------

On the whole, we see a few widely-spaced bouts of titillation and shock value, but ultimately... not much substance. If one wants a more accurate and gripping picture of the progression into cult life, I strongly suggest reading: Educated by Tara Westover.
Because the truth is stranger than fiction, and often just as shocking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Warriors of Wing and Flame, the spellbinding sequel...
Corona Daze: Eva's time at home during Covid-19
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Angel's artwork is an inspirational blend of photographic images and...
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Griffin O’Shea is a traitor. It’s what those outside...
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Elva has a secret. She has visions and...
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
#1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater (the...
Launch (Rise of the Anointed #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the biblical stories, Samson had great strength. The prophet...
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling team...
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story to encourage children to treat others as...
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Rosa and her friends as they prepare pizzas! Each...
The Other Side of Midnight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The sense of foreboding came out of nowhere. It was...
Light of Orion-Guardians of Orion Book 2
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evil is gathering strength. When she learns the truth, it...
Mark of Orion-Guardians of Orion Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you like sinister demons, warrior angels, supernatural powers, ancient...
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Returning to the dark and glamorous 19th century world of...
Trouble Girls
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A queer YA reimagining of Thelma & Louise with the...

Latest Member Reviews

Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the..."
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
"That ending!!! THE SILVERED SERPENTS is an engaging YA historical fantasy that picks up after the first book ended, and..."
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
"Ashley Poston has crafted a new fairy tale for the ages! Among the Beasts and Briars may very well be..."
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
"WARRIORS OF WING AND FLAME is an intriguing conclusion to a YA fantasy duology about sisterhood. This book picks up..."
Sisters of Shadow and Light (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #1)
 
3.7
"SISTERS OF SHADOW AND LIGHT is an intriguing YA fantasy that focuses on the love between sisters. Zuhra has lived..."
Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA
 
5.0
"FORESHADOW is a fantastic collection of short stories with a focus on discussion and writing. Each story is undeniably well-composed..."
A Cloud of Outrageous Blue
 
4.3
"A CLOUD OF OUTRAGEOUS BLUE is a historical fiction read that takes the reader to 1348-1349. Edyth grew up with..."
Slingshot
 
4.7
"SLINGSHOT by Mercedes Helnwein is a firecracker of a debut. This YA contemporary is set inside a shoddy boarding school..."
Raybearer (Raybearer, #1)
 
5.0
"RAYBEARER is a lush and imaginative YA fantasy that had me captivated from the start. The book follows Tarisai, who..."
A Golden Fury
 
4.0
"When I started A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe, I’m not sure what I was expecting. A historical fantasy? A..."