The Stars Never Rise

 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
1162 2
The Stars Never Rise
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 09, 2015
ISBN
038574417X
Buy This Book
      
From RACHEL VINCENT, New York Times bestselling author, comes the first book in a new series about a girl who must join forces with rogue exorcists to save her sister and, ultimately, humanity. Sixteen-year-old Nina Kane should be worrying about her immortal soul, but she’s too busy trying to actually survive. Her town’s population has been decimated by soul-consuming demons, and souls are in short supply. Watching over her younger sister, Mellie, and scraping together food and money are all that matters. The two of them are a family. They gave up on their deadbeat mom a long time ago. When Nina discovers that Mellie is keeping a secret that threatens their very existence, she’ll do anything to protect her. Because in New Temperance, sins are prosecuted as crimes by the brutal Church and its army of black-robed exorcists. And Mellie’s sin has put her in serious trouble. To keep them both alive, Nina will need to trust Finn, a fugitive with deep green eyes who has already saved her life once and who might just be an exorcist. But what kind of exorcist wears a hoodie? Wanted by the Church and hunted by dark forces, Nina knows she can’t survive on her own. She needs Finn and his group of rogue friends just as much as they need her.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Stars Never Rise
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What worked: This is an unique twist on the whole post-apocalyptic world only in this case the church rules with a heavy hand to 'protect' citizens from demons. Only not all is what it seems to be. Vincent introduces readers to a new tough protagonist who finds out a startling secret about herself and the so-called church that is supposed to protect them.

I really enjoyed this post-apocalyptic meets paranormal world. Sixteen-year-old Nina Kane isn't the typical kick ass heroine but is more a reluctant one. In her world, she has to do whatever she can in order to feed not only her but her younger sister. Then her world as she knows it comes crashing down.

I liked the unique twist on a demon slayer and the whole concept of hosts that use bodies of people while overtaking their souls. In this world souls are in short supply. Women have to have approval to have babies. At age 15 girls are tested to see if they can have children. If not, they are sterilized.

This vision of a church is hardcore and mega conservative. The punishments are severe like the scene where a kindergartner is set outside to stand in the rain all day because of his foul language. Those who don't follow the 'rules' and are accused of having demons are burned alive. The whole irony on this is shown in a big reveal midway through the novel.

I also found the whole idea of another soul sharing bodies fascinating. Finn 'shares' such a body with Maddock. This brings the term awkward to a whole new level especially since Maddock has a girlfriend. The relationship between Nina and Finn is fast and furious just like the world around them. I wanted to see more of this and hope it'll be in the sequel.

Unique twist on a demon slayer set in a post-apocalyptic world where nothing is what it seems. Add to that romance, suspense, horror, and action which make for one terrific read.
Good Points
1. Unique twist on a demon slayer
2. Great voice
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Absolutely Fantastic!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
MY THOUGHTS
This was such a fantastic read! I was expecting awesomeness, based on the synopsis, but I wasn't expecting it to be this amazing!

This book takes place in a society where the Church runs everything. After demons destroyed life as their knew it a century ago, the Church was the savior and now they dictate people's lives. Nina has to protect her sister and make sure that the Church doesn't know how little their drug addict mother cares for her. One day, though, Nina faces a demon attack by a boy in a hoodie. A boy with the ability to exorcise demons. It's when Nina's sister is threatened by her own secret and Nina discovers truths about herself, but her reality begins to explode.

In a world where all dystopians merge into the same story, comes a book that's entirely unique! Not only is this book a dystopian, but it's also paranormal with hints of fantasy. This merging might seem odd, but instead it was absolutely stunning! The society and world-building is fantastic, horrifying, but fantastic. The idea of a demon apocalypse and a Church takeover was interesting and I was able to get the complete history. Don't even get me started on the exorcism and Finn.

I really liked Nina. She's our MC and she's a very strong characters and obviously cares for her sister. She also has the proper reaction to what's going on. Really, you'd be surprised at some of the MC's in YA. Sure, she has her flaws, but they only made her more real and I get the feeling that she will only grow stronger as the series goes on.

As for romance, it was unusual. I didn't like how quick it happened. It wasn't insta-love, as Nina was not attracted to him at first glance, but I was very thrown when the first kiss happened. I just wasn't expecting it to happens so soon. Now, the rest of the romance was very interesting. I can't give details, but trust me that you've never seen a romance like this before.

IN CONCLUSION
I ADORED this book! It's such a unique dystopian with paranormal elements, great characters, and overall fantastic! I had such a hard time putting this down! Now, if only I didn't have to wait for the next book...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."