The Death Code (The Murder Complex #2)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1703 1
The Death Code.png
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 26, 2015
ISBN
0062220039
Buy This Book
      

With short, fast-paced, alternating point-of-view chapters, The Death Code starts several weeks after The Murder Complex ends. Zephyr keeps the secret about Meadow close—that if she dies, The Murder Complex will be destroyed, too. Meadow, desperate to find her brother, father, and little sister, is determined to fight fearlessly to the end, even if it means sacrificing herself and her friends, new and old. The Death Code introduces a memorable cast of secondary characters and delivers a vivid and scary thrill ride read. For fans of La Femme Nikita, Legend, and Hanna.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Even Better Than the First!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Perfectly paced, and well written, The Death Code surpasses The Murder Complex. The Death Code moves at a fast pace and it kept this reader on the edge of her seat. The chapters are short which help make the plot move along as the narration changes between Meadow and Zephyr. The dual narration brilliantly crafts a high sense of suspense while further developing the characters. This story is filled with action -packed fight scenes making it an easy book to just devour!

What I like best was the character development. Even though the majority of the world is full of killing monsters, they still have light in their hearts. They still have something to make them smile. Something that makes them keep going. In The Death Code, Zephyr truly discovers himself and turns into a strong leader. Meanwhile Meadow, strong from the start, is pushed to the limits as loyalties are tests and she begins to question who she really is and what she represents. The internal struggles of both characters is strong and it is interesting to see how each character handles their fears and doubts differently.

Lindsay Cummings is brilliant at world building. I liked how she builds the word by breaking down the different layers of the setting into the three sections of the book. It helps give the feeling that I was moving through the different settings with the characters. It was great to see the world of The Murder Complex in more detail and even get a chance to see what might be beyond.

Overall, The Death Code is a brilliant, action packed read! Compared to the Murder Complex it is a little more violent and graphic in parts, but this helps build the tension and suspense of the story.

Lindsay Cummings has created a terrific blood-filled, action packed story. Fans of Divergent and Hunger Games will not be disappointed with this dystopia duology!
Good Points
Fast paced book you can't put down!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Second in a new series about a bright and determined...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
There's a chill in the air and frost on the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Disney’s classic animated films come to life in the latest...
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...

Latest Member Reviews

Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
"FENCE: STRIKING DISTANCE is a charming YA contemporary fiction that takes place at a boys' boarding school. We follow different..."
Crossing Lines
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central And engaging story about how our differences shape our worldview. ..."
Horrid
 
4.7
"After Jane's father sudden dies, Her mother, Ruth, ends up moving them across the country. They move into her mother's..."
The Oracle Code
 
4.0
"THE ORACLE CODE visits Barbara Gordon (aka Batgirl and Oracle) in her teens after an accident that paralyzes part of..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"THE GLASS QUEEN is an intense and fantastically written fairytale retelling of Cinderella. In the kingdom of Enchantia, fairytales are..."
The Kingdom of Back
 
5.0
"Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back is an historical fantasy based on real-life talents, Wolfgang Amedeus Motzart and his sister,..."
Meanwhile
 
3.7
"'Meanwhile' by Jason Shiga is a graphic novel adventure that will remind readers of the types of books in which..."
Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel..."
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
"I wasn't sure what to expect with The Library of Lost Things, but I know I didn't anticipate a book..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra, a teenager from the 2160s, is put into cryogenic stasis fulling expecting to wake up on another planet one..."
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
"KINGDOM OF ICE AND BONE picks up where the first book left off. Lira and Reyker are separated and each..."