Reawakened

Featured
 
3.2 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2752 1
Reawakened
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 25, 2015
ISBN
978-0385376563
Buy This Book
      

When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification. And she really can’t imagine being chosen to aid him in an epic quest that will lead them across the globe to find his brothers and complete a grand ceremony that will save mankind. But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Mythology awakens
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Liked:
I'm a huge mythology fan, so when I saw a YA book featuring Egyptian mythology, I knew it would be right up my alley. The story starts with a bang: the heroine, Lillian Young, runs into a recently reawakened Amon, an Egyptian prince who needs her help saving the world from chaos. I appreciated how Lily didn't take everything at face value. She's dropped into this world she never could've imagined, and she questions everything.

What Left Me Wanting More:
I wasn't a big fan of the romance aspect of the novel. Feelings developed too quickly for my taste. That said, I feel that other readers will find something to swoon over with Amon. I did enjoy Lily and Amon's initial interactions; there's a good bit of humor there inherent in an ancient person waking up in the modern world.

The Final Verdict:
REAWAKENED is an intriguing start to a new series that immerses the reader in Egyptian mythology.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Reawakened
(Updated: August 10, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
REAWAKENED by Colleen Houck introduces readers to a new series where ancient Egyptian mythology meets a New York City teen. Their meeting sets off a string of events that cumulative into one fast-paced ride.

What worked: Fans of Egyptian mythology will enjoy this new series. There's twists and turns throughout including a very hot Egyptian Prince demigod. Add a little romance, intrigue, and Egyptian mysteries and readers are sure to be entertained.

Some pluses have to include what happens after seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young brushes up a mysterious hot guy in Metropolitan Museum of Art. Little does she know that he's Amon, a Egyptian demigod that has been awaken after a thousand years to help, along with his two other brothers, to stop evil god Seth from causing chaos on Earth.

The beginning starts off fast and I really loved seeing the interactions between Lily and Amon. Who wouldn't freak out in the presence of a demigod? The emotional exchanges are intense and there's also a level of humor. The scene where he eats his first hot dog is very funny.

What I did have issues with had to be the whole romance between the two. Sure at first there were some sparks here and there but I had a hard time thinking she was in fact 'in love'. When he touched Lily, he did set off an intense emotional tie that I feel might be what she was really feeling though saying that maybe readers will see more reactions between them in the second book. I can't help but think this isn't the last we've seen of these characters!

The explanations do help those who aren't familiar with the Egyptian mythology though I did feel at times it felt more like class was in session. There were times that the explanations felt more like telling and not showing. I felt they also slowed down an otherwise engaging plot.

Other than those few things, the story gains momentum once they go to Egypt. There's lots that happen including these awesome crocodile zombies, glimpses inside Egyptian tombs shown in vivid details, booby-traps, and a thousand plus year old secret society that helps whenever the demigods reappear.

LIGHTNING THIEF meets Egyptian gods, fans of Egyptian mythology will enjoy this new fantasy series. Fast-paced trip to Egypt with a cute demigod out to save the day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"In the first book, we were introduced to Jesse’s sister, Cassie, and his best friend, Roman. After witnessing their mother’s..."
First Earth: Book One in the Arch Mage Series
 
5.0
""Agnes' journey not only kept me turning pages, but pulled me into the journey of self-discovery right along with her...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I love Michelle’s books, and this is such a fantastic start to a new series! I..."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Charlotte-or Charlie-loves both hockey and figure skating. However, she knows she can't do both and has already chosen to pursue..."
The Subjects, Aim
 
4.8
"First and foremost, Aim accomplishes what any good sci-fi sets out to do. It thoroughly explores the concepts of humanity..."
Of Water and Moonlight
 
4.8
"Maddie is a Hawthorne sister and is known for performing a spell against the Ancients. If the stares of her..."
Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
"When her sister Luna is killed, Hua wants nothing more than to get revenge. Taking her father's place, she joins..."
Heart of Mist
 
5.0
"The story: Bleak is a drunken thief who is desperately trying to find a way to cure herself from..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."