Reawakened

Featured
 
3.2 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2959 1
Reawakened
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 25, 2015
ISBN
978-0385376563
Buy This Book
      

When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification. And she really can’t imagine being chosen to aid him in an epic quest that will lead them across the globe to find his brothers and complete a grand ceremony that will save mankind. But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Mythology awakens
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Liked:
I'm a huge mythology fan, so when I saw a YA book featuring Egyptian mythology, I knew it would be right up my alley. The story starts with a bang: the heroine, Lillian Young, runs into a recently reawakened Amon, an Egyptian prince who needs her help saving the world from chaos. I appreciated how Lily didn't take everything at face value. She's dropped into this world she never could've imagined, and she questions everything.

What Left Me Wanting More:
I wasn't a big fan of the romance aspect of the novel. Feelings developed too quickly for my taste. That said, I feel that other readers will find something to swoon over with Amon. I did enjoy Lily and Amon's initial interactions; there's a good bit of humor there inherent in an ancient person waking up in the modern world.

The Final Verdict:
REAWAKENED is an intriguing start to a new series that immerses the reader in Egyptian mythology.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Reawakened
(Updated: August 10, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
REAWAKENED by Colleen Houck introduces readers to a new series where ancient Egyptian mythology meets a New York City teen. Their meeting sets off a string of events that cumulative into one fast-paced ride.

What worked: Fans of Egyptian mythology will enjoy this new series. There's twists and turns throughout including a very hot Egyptian Prince demigod. Add a little romance, intrigue, and Egyptian mysteries and readers are sure to be entertained.

Some pluses have to include what happens after seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young brushes up a mysterious hot guy in Metropolitan Museum of Art. Little does she know that he's Amon, a Egyptian demigod that has been awaken after a thousand years to help, along with his two other brothers, to stop evil god Seth from causing chaos on Earth.

The beginning starts off fast and I really loved seeing the interactions between Lily and Amon. Who wouldn't freak out in the presence of a demigod? The emotional exchanges are intense and there's also a level of humor. The scene where he eats his first hot dog is very funny.

What I did have issues with had to be the whole romance between the two. Sure at first there were some sparks here and there but I had a hard time thinking she was in fact 'in love'. When he touched Lily, he did set off an intense emotional tie that I feel might be what she was really feeling though saying that maybe readers will see more reactions between them in the second book. I can't help but think this isn't the last we've seen of these characters!

The explanations do help those who aren't familiar with the Egyptian mythology though I did feel at times it felt more like class was in session. There were times that the explanations felt more like telling and not showing. I felt they also slowed down an otherwise engaging plot.

Other than those few things, the story gains momentum once they go to Egypt. There's lots that happen including these awesome crocodile zombies, glimpses inside Egyptian tombs shown in vivid details, booby-traps, and a thousand plus year old secret society that helps whenever the demigods reappear.

LIGHTNING THIEF meets Egyptian gods, fans of Egyptian mythology will enjoy this new fantasy series. Fast-paced trip to Egypt with a cute demigod out to save the day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."