Tiny Pretty Things

 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
1094 1
Tiny Pretty Things
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 26, 2015
ISBN
0062342398
Buy This Book
      
Black Swan meets Pretty Little Liars in this soapy, drama-packed novel featuring diverse characters who will do anything to be the prima at their elite ballet school. Gigi, Bette, and June, three top students at an exclusive Manhattan ballet school, have seen their fair share of drama. Free-spirited new girl Gigi just wants to dance—but the very act might kill her. Privileged New Yorker Bette's desire to escape the shadow of her ballet star sister brings out a dangerous edge in her. And perfectionist June needs to land a lead role this year or her controlling mother will put an end to her dancing dreams forever. When every dancer is both friend and foe, the girls will sacrifice, manipulate, and backstab to be the best of the best.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Dark and Intense and Real
(Updated: July 03, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Tiny Pretty Things was everything it promised it would be—dark, intense, dramatic. And, it was all the things I didn’t expect it to be—diverse, real, scary. When a book promises me a mix of Pretty Little Liars and Black Swan, obviously I’m going to finish the book in a single sitting. And I did. And I loved it, goddammit.

The book follows the three best dancers—Bette, June and Gigi—of a Manhattan ballet school that trains its students to enter the American Ballet Company. It is an exclusive school, only for the best of the best, and it takes your money to make you the best. But what it doesn’t tell you is how such a cut throat competition changes you and makes you do things you’d never do and be a person you don’t even recognise anymore.

Bette was the girl that the American Ballet Conservatory revolved around. To anyone in the school, it was easy to see that she had everything—the flawless doll body, the perfect boyfriend, the celebrity sister, the rich family. She was the perfect mean girl, destroying everything and everyone who stood in her path to being “luminous.” During the course of the book she did some things that were both awful and disgusting—but here’s the thing: seemingly, it’s normal for girls to want to destroy other girls who pose as competition to them. And that’s what Bette did. And she did it with hardly any amount of remorse.

June was the half Korean with an eating disorder. I think, of all characters that I read about in the book, June was by far the…darkest? I don’t know how to put it. She had a kind of hurt inside of her that was raw and unattended to and it was an open wound that kept on festering. The fact that all her friends had turned against her, combined with the frustration of not having known her father and coming from the heritage that she came from all came together and kind of kept breaking her, over and over and over. It hurt to read and she certainly did some wrong stuff, things that should have never been done under any circumstance. And I’m not saying I agree with her reasons, not at all. I’m saying that I understand where she comes from. I’m saying that I didn’t like her or her motives but I understood her.

Gigi was the newest entrant in the school…and probably it’s brightest—a fact that bothered both Bette and June. Gigi got the part that Bette had always dreamed of, and her arrival made June even more invisible to the teachers of the school. I think Gigi was the kindest soul in the school, except I’m afraid that certain things that happened with her in the book may have destroyed her positive outlook too. Gigi had her own set of problems—being the only African-American in a school where only white blonds were acceptable to be cast on stage was not easy for her. And she had other things to worry about. Things best explained in Gigi’s own voice. So it wasn’t like her life in the school was the easiest, but I daresay she let it affect her the least.

There was also an engaging cast of other supporting characters that I wished to constantly see more and more and more of. My favourites were Henri and Eleanor and if there’s a sequel (PLEASE GOD LET THERE BE A SEQUEL AND LET THIS BE A SERIES) then reading them both again is going to be wonderful! And gah, I would totally read spin offs based on each single supporting character because yes, they were that wonderful. Each single character said or did or thought something that made me want to weep and laugh and curse and sometimes all of them.

I’ve never been personally involved in a world such as the one in this book, the authors have brought me as close to it as I can ever be. I cannot even imagine that something like this happens to people—teenagers!—and that these same teenagers do things like this. And have these kind of things done to them. And the other thing I loved about this book? It doesn’t shy away from dark, controversial topics that need to be talked about. It talks about the good and light but it also talks about how we sometimes lack in our high and mighty education systems. It talks about romances and the gentle steps of a first love but it also talks about anorexia and ADHD. And it tackles each issue spectacularly, while also leaving no stone unturned in making the reader feel the pain and hurt that made up this book.

My favourite part about this book was the writing. So tense and wicked, but so true in its way of remaining faithful to each character. I’m not the hugest fan of a multiple POV (I don’t even like dual POVs) but Tiny Pretty Things gave me no trouble in shifting tracks while I read. Each character had her own voice, her own thoughts, her own life. And I could feel how good the authors are at what they do. If I could, I would go up to both the spectacular women behind this book and hug them for ten minutes each. These women made me cry for characters that were supposed to be evil and villainous. They made me want to rage at a system I’m not even a part of. And more than anything else, their writing reminded me EXACTLY why I continue to read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
"Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their..."