Tiny Pretty Things

 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
1188 1
Tiny Pretty Things
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 26, 2015
ISBN
0062342398
Buy This Book
      
Black Swan meets Pretty Little Liars in this soapy, drama-packed novel featuring diverse characters who will do anything to be the prima at their elite ballet school. Gigi, Bette, and June, three top students at an exclusive Manhattan ballet school, have seen their fair share of drama. Free-spirited new girl Gigi just wants to dance—but the very act might kill her. Privileged New Yorker Bette's desire to escape the shadow of her ballet star sister brings out a dangerous edge in her. And perfectionist June needs to land a lead role this year or her controlling mother will put an end to her dancing dreams forever. When every dancer is both friend and foe, the girls will sacrifice, manipulate, and backstab to be the best of the best.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Dark and Intense and Real
(Updated: July 03, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Tiny Pretty Things was everything it promised it would be—dark, intense, dramatic. And, it was all the things I didn’t expect it to be—diverse, real, scary. When a book promises me a mix of Pretty Little Liars and Black Swan, obviously I’m going to finish the book in a single sitting. And I did. And I loved it, goddammit.

The book follows the three best dancers—Bette, June and Gigi—of a Manhattan ballet school that trains its students to enter the American Ballet Company. It is an exclusive school, only for the best of the best, and it takes your money to make you the best. But what it doesn’t tell you is how such a cut throat competition changes you and makes you do things you’d never do and be a person you don’t even recognise anymore.

Bette was the girl that the American Ballet Conservatory revolved around. To anyone in the school, it was easy to see that she had everything—the flawless doll body, the perfect boyfriend, the celebrity sister, the rich family. She was the perfect mean girl, destroying everything and everyone who stood in her path to being “luminous.” During the course of the book she did some things that were both awful and disgusting—but here’s the thing: seemingly, it’s normal for girls to want to destroy other girls who pose as competition to them. And that’s what Bette did. And she did it with hardly any amount of remorse.

June was the half Korean with an eating disorder. I think, of all characters that I read about in the book, June was by far the…darkest? I don’t know how to put it. She had a kind of hurt inside of her that was raw and unattended to and it was an open wound that kept on festering. The fact that all her friends had turned against her, combined with the frustration of not having known her father and coming from the heritage that she came from all came together and kind of kept breaking her, over and over and over. It hurt to read and she certainly did some wrong stuff, things that should have never been done under any circumstance. And I’m not saying I agree with her reasons, not at all. I’m saying that I understand where she comes from. I’m saying that I didn’t like her or her motives but I understood her.

Gigi was the newest entrant in the school…and probably it’s brightest—a fact that bothered both Bette and June. Gigi got the part that Bette had always dreamed of, and her arrival made June even more invisible to the teachers of the school. I think Gigi was the kindest soul in the school, except I’m afraid that certain things that happened with her in the book may have destroyed her positive outlook too. Gigi had her own set of problems—being the only African-American in a school where only white blonds were acceptable to be cast on stage was not easy for her. And she had other things to worry about. Things best explained in Gigi’s own voice. So it wasn’t like her life in the school was the easiest, but I daresay she let it affect her the least.

There was also an engaging cast of other supporting characters that I wished to constantly see more and more and more of. My favourites were Henri and Eleanor and if there’s a sequel (PLEASE GOD LET THERE BE A SEQUEL AND LET THIS BE A SERIES) then reading them both again is going to be wonderful! And gah, I would totally read spin offs based on each single supporting character because yes, they were that wonderful. Each single character said or did or thought something that made me want to weep and laugh and curse and sometimes all of them.

I’ve never been personally involved in a world such as the one in this book, the authors have brought me as close to it as I can ever be. I cannot even imagine that something like this happens to people—teenagers!—and that these same teenagers do things like this. And have these kind of things done to them. And the other thing I loved about this book? It doesn’t shy away from dark, controversial topics that need to be talked about. It talks about the good and light but it also talks about how we sometimes lack in our high and mighty education systems. It talks about romances and the gentle steps of a first love but it also talks about anorexia and ADHD. And it tackles each issue spectacularly, while also leaving no stone unturned in making the reader feel the pain and hurt that made up this book.

My favourite part about this book was the writing. So tense and wicked, but so true in its way of remaining faithful to each character. I’m not the hugest fan of a multiple POV (I don’t even like dual POVs) but Tiny Pretty Things gave me no trouble in shifting tracks while I read. Each character had her own voice, her own thoughts, her own life. And I could feel how good the authors are at what they do. If I could, I would go up to both the spectacular women behind this book and hug them for ten minutes each. These women made me cry for characters that were supposed to be evil and villainous. They made me want to rage at a system I’m not even a part of. And more than anything else, their writing reminded me EXACTLY why I continue to read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"This was an adventure from start to finish. I love Polly and her determination to not give up. Gorgeous setting..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Welcome to Chanu-Con!
 
5.0
"An adorable children's story about an important subject. The story: Max and Lila are celebrating..."
The Crystal of Gaea. Aki and the Spheres of Time #5
 
5.0
"Aki and Lilith are off on another exciting adventure, this time to the world of Ancient Greek mythology. This..."
The Crystal of Gaea. Aki and the Spheres of Time #5
 
5.0
"Another amazing adventure of Aki on the Parallel Crystal"
La Petite Josette en Provence: Going to Les Baux-de-Provence (Voyage aux Baux-de-Provence)
 
4.2
"'La Petite Josette En Provence' by Ashley Davidson-Fisher, illustrated by Martinique Louise Fisher, who so happens to be the author's..."
Cloud of Witnesses
 
4.4
"The Lifters Dave Eggers, Alfred A. Knopf, 2018 Is magic enough to fix the morass of Middle America? Are..."
Ranch Hero
 
4.8
"This story deals with loss, which is usually a very sensitive and difficult subject, in an uplifting and entertaining way..."
The Black and White Ball
 
5.0
"This is a delightful story about a very vain peacock who sets about ensuring he is the most beautiful creature..."
 
5.0
"Good book for middle school kids- a true snapshot of the struggle to fit in the middle school social scene..."
The Crystal of Rea Silvia. Aki and the Spheres of Time #4
 
5.0
"The book was just simply great! Surprises, twists and stuffs! Well I just loved Aki and his amazing adventures!..."
The Crystal of Rea Silvia. Aki and the Spheres of Time #4
 
5.0
"This exciting fourth adventure begins with Aki learning about a startling family secret and having to choose between telling the..."
Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13
 
4.5
"'Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13' by Barbara Roman, illustrated by Vladimir Cebu, is a sweet..."
Sal the Seagull Stole My Lunch
 
4.2
"This one is a lot of fun. Joe and Mary are getting ready to have a picnic at..."
 
4.8
"As a mother and tutor for young children, I highly recommend this novel to add to your children's book shelves...."
The Year Santa Stubbed His Toe
 
4.0
"Santa has always been there to deliver gifts to the good boys and girls around the world, but this year,..."
Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13
 
N/A
"Have you ever noticed how people are like light bulbs? They come in many sizes and shapes, varying in their..."
Felipe Femur
 
5.0
"While this book in occupied by a cast of monsters, it is far from scary. It is also not solely..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
5.0
"I am so pleased by The Crystal of Atum. I love Aki and the Spheres of Time series. This book..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
4.8
"This is Aki’s third trip with the Sphere of Time. As usual, he ends up nowhere near the spot where..."