Off the Page

Off the Page
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 19, 2015
ISBN
0553535560
Buy This Book
      
From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and coauthor, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and just a little bit of magic. Meet Oliver, a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale and transported into the real world. Meet Delilah, the girl who wished Oliver into being. It’s a miracle that seems perfect at first. Sure, Oliver doesn’t know that you shouldn’t try to open your locker with a dagger or that there’s no such thing as “the ruler” of the local mall. But he also looks at Delilah as if she’s the only girl in the world—the only girl in any world—and Delilah can’t help feeling that being with him is a dream come to life. But not every story can have a happy ending. Because the book wants Oliver back. And it will turn both worlds upside down to get him. Oliver and Delilah will have to decide what—and who—they’re willing to risk for love and what it really means for a fairy tale to come true. Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as the companion to the authors’ #1 bestseller Between the Lines. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and happily-ever-afters.

Editor review

1 review
Jumps Right Off the Page
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
What I loved: First of all, I fell in love with the design of this book. From the cover to the illustrations, it has a vintage feel with a modern story. I did not read Between the Lines so I was a little worried about jumping into this one first. I was pleasantly surprised that I did not have any trouble getting into this story. I loved how seamless the different points of view were. Each character had their own struggles and triumphs and the authors managed to connect them all with ease. The themes of loyalty, friendship, sacrifice, and love were prevalent throughout the book and I got the feeling that everyone really did care about each other. Relationships seemed meaningful and valid...not just to get a "fairy tale ending."

The whole story had a classic fairy tale theme mixed with pieces of the modern world. It was funny to me how Oliver viewed high school and his surroundings in the "real world." There was plenty of humor and romance for everyone, and even some surprises along the way. I think you will find yourself rooting for even the smallest characters.

What left me wanting more: Nothing, I wanted to go back and find out how the story began so I picked up Between the Lines and added it to my TBR pile.

Final Thoughts: If you read Between the Lines, definitely read this. If you haven't read the first book, read this anyway. I think you will fall in love.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account