Bergdorf Blondes

 
0.0
 
3.8 (5)
1888 0
Bergdorf Blondes
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
April 07, 2004
ISBN
1401351964
Buy This Book
      
If you think a Brazilian is a South American, that PJs are pajamas, and that Beyond is somewhere far away, then you obviously haven't met a Bergdorf Blonde. Plum Sykes's beguiling debut welcomes readers to the glamorous world of PAPs (Park Avenue Princesses), the girls who careen through Manhattan in search of the perfect Fake Bake (tan acquired from Portofino Tanning Salon), a ride on a PJ (private jet) with the ATM (rich boyfriend), and the ever-elusive fianc. With invitations to high-profile baby showers and benefits, more Marc Jacobs clothes than is decent, and a department store heiress for a best friend, our heroine is living at the peak of New York society. But what is she to do when her engagement falls apart? Can she ever find happiness in a city filled with the distractions of Front Row Girls, stalkers, dermatologists, premieres, and eyebrow waxes? Is it possible to find love in a town where her friends think that the secret to happiness is getting invited to the Van Cleef and Arpels uber-private sample sale? And how is she going to deal with the endless phone calls from her mother in England demanding that she get married to the Earl next door? With enormous wit and an insider's eye, Sykes captures the nuances of the rich and spoiled in a heartwarming social satire, featuring a loveable 'champagne bubble of a girl' who's just looking for love (and maybe the perfect pair of Chlo jeans).

User reviews

5 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Sex sex sex sex .
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Suzanne

This book is definitely for mature ages. The main character is one of the spoiled princess of New York. She goes to parties looking for guys who would be good in bed. Then she finds a guy whom before now, she would never even talk to. But as time rolls on, she sees the real side of him, and is back in the game. All the while,she's being pampered and shopping until she drops. Then After her best friend breaks up with her boyfriend, she decides to break the rules and they get together. Now she knows what love is really like, and also how to figure out who your real friends are.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Pure fluff, but fun
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Nic

Air-headed (and unnamed) "Moi" gives us a gossipy peek into the the lives of the super-rich as she navigates her own life of socialite parties, fashion dilemmas, and falling in love- sort of. It's a bit poor-little-rich-girl as she exposes the pressure to be perfect all the time in order to be accepted into high society, but there's not much depth of feeling.


All in all, it's not exactly intellectually stimulating, but it's a good guilty-pleasure read for a day when you're feeling less than fabulous.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
what more can u say
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by sara

First off you should know what paps stand for.park avenue princesses.this book is about a herine know has moi and her best friend Julie Bergdorf.and yes she is the heiress of berdorf Goodman.they are in serch of a perfect husband.this book is very funny and I highly recommend you read it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
GR (Great Read)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Alexandra

This is a hilarious novel about PAPs (Park Avenue Princesses). The heroine, known only to readers as Moi, and her best friend, Julie Bergdorf (heiress to Bergdorf Goodman), are in search of the perfect "Bergdorf Blonde," fake bake, and a PH (potential husband). From a world where women wear Valentino to work, get engaged just so they have that "glow," go from thirty-eight to thirty-seven on their birthday, and regularly take rides on PJs (private jets), comes a story that's highly entertaining. Moi goes through a series of men, but will she find one to settle down with? I thought this book was really funny, and I couldn't put it down.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Savvy, funny, and glittering
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Dylana

This book was very funny and is a great satire about the life of the wealthy, upper-class young women in New York, known as the Park Avenue Princesses. They have all the designers at thier hands, sit front row at every fashion show, fly jet planes everywhere, and are heiresses to all the major companies in America. The main character is Moi. She is a Princess (but a brunette one)and she meets a totally handsome young photographer. She's in love, that is, until he breaks her heart. She's trying to find a perfect mate, but she finds out that Brazilian men and older, rich, and married ones are not for her. And it doesn't help that all her high society girlfriends just care about a big diamond ring, rather than true love.
But she meets Charlie, a respectable, cute, LA director. But she sees him as just a friend, but is he really more? Read to find out. So much more happens in this book that will keep you laughing out loud and totally wanting to see how life really is for a Park Avenue Princess. You'll be hooked.
If you really love fashion, or just want a comical chic book to read, then this book is for you! I definitely recommend it to teenage girls. Not, too young because it has some more adult sparts, but other than that, its pretty clean and very hilarious! Also, it is very like the Shopaholic books, which I loved, as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"In the first book, we were introduced to Jesse’s sister, Cassie, and his best friend, Roman. After witnessing their mother’s..."
First Earth: Book One in the Arch Mage Series
 
5.0
""Agnes' journey not only kept me turning pages, but pulled me into the journey of self-discovery right along with her...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I love Michelle’s books, and this is such a fantastic start to a new series! I..."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Charlotte-or Charlie-loves both hockey and figure skating. However, she knows she can't do both and has already chosen to pursue..."
The Subjects, Aim
 
4.8
"First and foremost, Aim accomplishes what any good sci-fi sets out to do. It thoroughly explores the concepts of humanity..."
Of Water and Moonlight
 
4.8
"Maddie is a Hawthorne sister and is known for performing a spell against the Ancients. If the stares of her..."
Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
"When her sister Luna is killed, Hua wants nothing more than to get revenge. Taking her father's place, she joins..."
Heart of Mist
 
5.0
"The story: Bleak is a drunken thief who is desperately trying to find a way to cure herself from..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."