Alice in Wonderland High

Featured
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
2312 0
23111784.jpg
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 18, 2015
ISBN
978-1440584664
Buy This Book
      

Will this Mad Tea Party put Alice in hot water? Alice is rebellion-ready, eager to save the world and come into her own. Led into a secret society of young eco-vigilantes at school, she feels like she's in wonderland, until one of the cool kids tries to frame Alice for all the illegal pranks they've pulled. Can Alice find out the gang's secret before she ends up in jail?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Wonderland retelling meets environmentalism plus cute Chester boy with a wicked smile
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Alice may not have been quite as extreme as her parents were about environmentalism before they died, but she still firmly believes in the cause and wants to take strong action. After her own activism routes seem sub-par, Alice discovers a hidden world of environmental vigilantes at her high school who might be willing to make her part of the group…if she can prepare herself for what’s in store if she does.

As soon as I read the premise for this story, I had to read it. A Wonderland retelling meets environmentalism plus cute Chester boy with a wicked smile? Hand it over immediately, please and thank you. Rachel Shane does a marvelous job with this novel. Keeping with the strangeness and oddities of the original Alice in Wonderland, the contemporary and environmental twists are stunning. All the favorite characters from the Mad Hatter to Dinah the cat are included in some form, and the nuances of the original story are incorporated magnificently, signifying a clear mastery of retelling from the author.

My favorite part is the witty and hilarious writing. Alice’s perspective will leave readers chuckling, smirking, solemnly nodding, and even occasionally grinning like a certain Cheshire. She is without a doubt, weird, hopeful, brave, curious, and eager, making her an absolute delight to follow. The secondary characters, especially Kingston Hatter, are bursting with complexity and riddles galore that will make you willing to go down any rabbit hole to find out their secrets. Through the characters, Shane also adds intriguing openings for discussions of homelessness, family relationships, illness, and government secrets.

For readers eager for something different, strange, and wonderful, Alice in Wonderland High would be my first recommendation. Brimming with humorous and meaningful writing, Rachel Shane delivers an unforgettable story about the rabbit holes we go down to accomplish something worthwhile and the people we meet along the way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
This book is fast paced and definitely a great read for the summer!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
When I received this book in the mail, (a huge thank you to the author and Merit Press!) I was an excited bookworm. I grew up with lots of Disney and classical books, so I was crossing my fingers, hoping I would love this book... and I did!

In this retelling, we come across Alice who is a sixteen year old girl that unfortunately just lost her parents to a car crash. Her parents were environmentalists and had hoped that Alice would continue on for them.

Not wanting to fail her parents, she decides that she needs to keep her promise to them and tries to bring attention to the environment. But when Alice thinks that she has failed, she comes across a secret group of environmental vigilantes that just might let her into their little secrets...only if she can handle what they do.

Being that Rachel Shane is a debut author, she writes as if she's a seasoned author! Alice in Wonderland High has such a unique twist of a classical book and I didn't want to put it down for anything, not even for sleep! The writing style was enjoyable and fast paced, and Shane had a way of making every single detail precise, which made it easier to picture in my head. I also loved how she was able to throw in clues and hints from the magical world of Wonderland!

In most YA novels, we tend to see characters doing things that probably wouldn't happen in real life. But with our protagonist, I could easily see her as a person and not just a fictional character. She was strong, caring, smart, witty and didn't give up once things went south or when something was thrown her way, which I think a lot of readers will admire about her. Alice was such an entertaining and fun character to read about and I loved every bit of her!

Our love interest, Chester Katz, was definitely a swoon-worthy character. However, I couldn't connect with him on the same level as I did with Alice. I felt as if he was just a non important side character, when in fact he was Alice's boyfriend. I found his character to be interesting, but I think he needed a bit more of development. Nonetheless, I still loved reading about his character and I was happy with how everything turned out for him.

There were also a few secondary characters that I loved and I think my favorite would have to be Kingston Hatter. Not only do I love his name, but also his funny and sarcastic comments that had me either smiling or cracking up!

Last but not least, the romance. Can you say...ADORABLE?! It was so cute getting to see the chemistry fly between Chester and Alice, all I wanted to do was jump up and down. The romance in this book was another aspect that I loved and I just couldn't get enough of it. The author definitely did a great job in developing the romance to be as realistic as possible and not just an insta-love reaction.

Overall, Alice in Wonderland High was an amazing retelling and I would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who is interested in trying something new! This book will have you smiling, shaking your head, and laughing all at once. Definitely a must-read for the summer!
Good Points
The author put such a unique twist on the classical of Alice in Wonderland and I loved everything about this book! From the romance, to the humor to the characters, this book will surely get you out of your reading slump!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."