Through Fire & Sea

 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
793 0
Through Fire & Sea
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 05, 2015
ISBN
B00W1H5BT0
Buy This Book
      
Mirror mirror, hear my call... In the Fire world, seventeen-year-old Leah is the illegitimate daughter of one of the realm's most powerful lords, able to communicate with the tempestuous volcano gods that either bless a civilization or destroy it. But then Leah discovers she's a Caller, gifted with the unique-and dangerous-ability to "call" her Otherselves in mirror worlds. And her father will do anything to use her powers for his own purposes. In the Water world, Holly nearly drowns when she sees Leah, a mirror image of herself. She's rescued by a boy from school with a secret he'd die to protect. Little do they know, his Otherself is the son of a powerful volcano god at war in the Fire world...and he's about to fall. As Leah and Holly's lives intersect, the Fire and Water worlds descend into darkness. The only way to protect the mirror worlds is to break every rule they've ever known. If they don't, the evil seeping through the mirrors will destroy everything-and everyone-they love...

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
interesting sci-fi
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
“Through Fire and Sea” is a fascinating YA sci-fi/fantasy that begins with Leah, an unrecognized daughter of a hot-blooded duke. The dukes control the volcanoes, making it safe to live on their planet, which is full of fire. Leah’s mother had her out of wedlock and tries to keep her away from her father, but Leah has always wanted to connect with him. At the beginning of the book, she does and learns why her mother wanted to keep her from him- the duke is not a kind or nice man. A dragon has been stirring up the volcanoes wrath and as they threaten to explode, the dukes are summoning Qeturah, a woman with her own duchy, to get rid of the dragon. However, she asks for a big price- sometimes wealth and sometimes their daughters. To protect his legal daughter, Jehannah, he asks Leah to pose as her, so that Qeturah will take her instead of the real Jehannah.

The duke’s plan works, and Leah is off to stay with Qeturah instead of Jehannah. We begin to see a relationship to another girl, Holly, as they see each other through the water. Holly is the daughter of a famous director on another world, and she is on a boat with her father when she almost drowns. She is saved by a boy who looks like a merman. We flip back and forth between Leah and Holly, as they both fall in love and learn more about the Mirror Worlds. We soon learn that there is one true world and four Mirror Worlds which have one prevailing element (e.g. fire, water, etc.). Both worlds are threatened by an unforeseen enemy and Holly and Leah will each battle them in their own ways.

It is a really intriguing story, and the perspectives of Holly and Leah were interesting to flip between. It’s a relatively long book, but well written and keeps the reader engaged. It moves pretty fast, story-wise. There were a few places where the scenes felt too long, but were mainly there to give character insight into our two leading ladies. Holly was my favorite of the two, and I was glad as we started to glimpse more and more of her life. The relationships each had were really adorable and sweet/romantic. There is nothing more than kissing between them though, so it’s very clean (as YA often are). The Mirror Worlds idea is really fascinating and I’m really curious to see how this series evolves with these different (yet similar) alternate reality-type existences. I also loved the idea of a prevailing sense of a person which exists across experiences (I won’t say more to avoid spoilers). Overall, it is a fascinating and lovely story, and I am excited to read the next!

Please note that I received this book from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."