Deviate (The Light Key Trilogy Book 2)

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1150 0
deviate.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
16+
Release Date
March 03, 2015
ISBN
978-1622665235
Buy This Book
      
Tormented after a daring escape, Cora Sandoval must find a way to stop the Arrazi from murdering innocent people and from violating, using, and killing the Scintilla for their powers. She must also accept one bitter betrayal: Finn Doyle--the Irish boy who has both a piece of Cora's heart and soul--is Arrazi... On the verge of extinction and sought by those who would either consume or destroy them, Cora and the remaining Scintilla survivors must solve the mystery of The Light Key. If they fail, the truth will stay buried forever and mankind will pay the ultimate price. No longer will she hide. No longer will her loved ones be hunted. And she will have her vengeance...even if she shatters her heart in the process.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A non-stop thrill ride sure to leave you breathless
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Some time ago I read that sophomore books are much like sophomore record albums or movies. The enigmatic sophomore curse. The fight to keep the momentum going from a great debut, but only to fall short. DEVIATE by Tracy Clark is a sophomore book for The Light Key Trilogy and it blows this curse business to smithereens. Ka-Boom!

Deviate picks up right where Scintillate left off, and let me tell you, the action doesn’t stop. Cora is knee deep in trouble after the big show down with the Arrazi in Ireland. Finn is lost to her, in more ways than one. Her father was murdered right in front of her. Her mother is a basket case after years of torture. Only Giovanni holds her together at this point, but her feelings for him are seriously conflicted.

After being marked with tattoo-like scars through a trippy version of psychometry called a sortilege, Cora has more questions than ever regarding the Scintilla, the Arrazi, and the origins of her race. Why is her talent to see memories in objects? Why only certain memories? Do the memories mean anything? Why do the Scintilla see auras, but not the Arrazi? Why is the Scintilla aura silver and why does a freshly fed Arrazi glow with a white aura rather than a mixed hue of normal humans? And possibly the biggest question, why does Clancy, Finn’s uber sadistic uncle, want three Scintilla?

As Cora begins the next stage of her journey, these questions plague her. The significance of “three” is everywhere, but she has no idea what it means. She and Giovanni pick apart the works of Dante, searching for an answer to the “three” mystery. It’s obvious Dante knew of the Scintilla, but how? With each breakthrough in the Scintilla origins and secrets, more questions arise.

Just as Cora battles for answers, Finn fights a battle within himself. He knows what he is, and despises it. He doesn’t want to kill in order to live. Knowing he could never be good for Cora, his heart, Finn wants to die. He’d rather fade into a dark nothingness than take an innocent life. But how can he protect Cora if he’s dead? If only he could get an inside line on what Clancy is up to, whose side he’s really on, and what this mysterious Society is. Then maybe he could find a way to protect the girl he loves.

When I heard about the “sophomore curse” with novels, I also heard the best way to beat this handicap is to tear-your-characters-apart! Tracy Clark does this. Oh, boy does she ever! Cora is essentially broken at the end of Scintillate. Through the course of Deviate, Cora is crushed—pulverized even—on both physical and emotional levels. How she can take such beating and keep putting one foot in front of the other is amazing. Her lows get lower, and her highs…? Just enough to tease before something else blows her hope apart.

Finn’s journey is not any less tortured. His heart was ripped from his chest in Scintillate, but Deviate takes his heart, exposes every nook and cranny of hope he has in reuniting with Cora and incinerates it. Flambé style! He’s pushed to do the hard things he doesn’t want to do, to make the hard choices. Finn must decide what he’ll do, how much he will sacrifice, for love. And will it be worth it?

Now, when I say Tracy Clark tears these characters down, it’s not in a depressing way. Not at all. She takes Cora and Fin to the end of their will, to their point of breaking, and then makes them choose how to go forward. The arcs for both Finn and Cora are incredible. The two are on separate journeys, but they constantly cross, almost as if one is dependent on the other. They are on this journey together, whether they’re physically together or not.

The pacing is wonderful. Deviate is of the thicker variety for young adult fiction, but it’s so, so good. If it’s been a while since you’ve read Scintillate, don’t worry. Clark doesn’t spend too much time on the recap, which is great. She cleverly peppers it in so you don’t lose traction with the new storyline. Like I said, we start with some action and intrigue, and it just keeps going.

Let me just take a moment here to talk about Cora and Finn. Finn… I love Finn. But I love Cora, too! She’s very real, and the decisions she makes are very relatable. She doesn’t always choose the best path, but that’s life. Once she and her mom sort of bond, I may have teared up a bit. I’m a momma’s girl, after all. And Finn had the same effect on me. He’s flawed, but oh so likeable. Loveable! You want him to succeed, you want them both to succeed because gosh darn it they need to be together!

But there’s also Giovanni. Our big G protector. Tall, built, curly blond hair, and stunning blue eyes topped off with an Italian accent. Yum. He’s far from perfect, though. Giovanni has some serious baggage, but that adds to his allure, even if you’re not sure you can fully trust him. One of my favorite lines from Deviate comes from G: “If I do it right, it will feel like the first time. Every time.” Now, tell me that doesn’t give you the heart flutter!

In the end, Deviate is a show-stopping ride full of dark secrets and wicked intrigue. Tracy Clark creates a fascinating world where everyone’s emotions are plain as day to the Scintilla. How can you hide from the truth when your deepest secrets burst from your form in vibrant hues the likes of the Aurora Borealis? You will cheer with Cora and Finn as they inch toward victory. You will hurt with them as they continue to suffer unfair losses. When the sparks fly as attractions are realized, I challenge you to NOT swoon. Deviate is a fantastic thrill-ride full of hard choices and smart plot that will leave you breathless, whether you’re a teen or a teen-plus-some.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
N/A
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
4.5
"BOOK NERD is a delightful gift book for book lovers everywhere. The book is filled with colorful artwork and fun..."
 
5.0
"If you've already read Wind's great novel, Queer as a Five Dollar Bill (2019), you know that there is solid..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Train Your Brain Mind Exercise: 156 Puzzles for a Superior Mind
 
3.0
"The book sets expectations a bit high by touting the claim of unique puzzles for all skill levels, with a..."
Goodbye: A Story of Suicide
 
3.0
"A (quasi-creative?) non-fiction graphic novel, aimed at a Middle Grade or lower YA audience. It addresses the topic of bullying..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
"'Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm' by Bella Kuligowska Zucker is an incredibly moving tale of the author's search..."
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
"What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to..."
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
"HOPE IN THE MAIL is an autobiographical account of the author’s life as it relates to her writing. Wendelin Van..."
Super Sons: The PolarShield Project
 
3.0
"An alternate reality take on the Super Sons series, featuring the middle-school aged offspring of Batman and Superman. When "climate..."
You Too?: 25 Voices Share Their #MeToo Stories
 
4.0
"What worked: Great compilation of personal essays inspired by the #YouToo movement. Each of the authors included in this anthology..."
This Is 18
 
5.0
"This is a fascinating view into what it's like to be a 18 year old girl throughout the world shown..."
They Called Us Enemy
 
4.0
"This graphic novel is an early life personal account of a major historical event (the internment of Japanese Americans durring..."
Poems to Live Your Life By
 
4.0
"POEMS TO LIVE YOUR LIFE BY is a collection in which each poem has been hand-picked by Chris Riddell, for..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One
 
4.0
"'No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One' by Paul Fleischman tells the story of the author..."