Fallout (Lois Lane)

Featured
 
4.6 (3)
 
0.0 (0)
2130 0
Fallout (Lois Lane)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 01, 2015
ISBN
1630790052
Buy This Book
      

Lois Lane is starting a new life in Metropolis. An Army brat, Lois has lived all over--and seen all kinds of things. (Some of them defy explanation, like the near-disaster she witnessed in Kansas in the middle of one night.) But now her family is putting down roots in the big city, and Lois is determined to fit in. Stay quiet. Fly straight. As soon as she steps into her new high school, though, she can see it won't be that easy. A group known as the Warheads is making life miserable for another girl at school. They're messing with her mind, somehow, via the high-tech immersive videogame they all play. Not cool. Armed with her wit and her new snazzy job as a reporter, Lois has her sights set on solving this mystery. But sometimes it's all a bit much. Thank goodness for her maybe-more-than-a friend, a guy she knows only by his screenname, SmallvilleGuy . . .

Editor reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.6
Plot 
 
4.7  (3)
Characters 
 
4.7  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (3)
A good addition to the YA action genre
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
LOIS LANE by Gwenda Bond is a book that has been on my to-read list for a while, and I was terrified to start it because I was afraid of disappointment.

In LOIS LANE, we meet Lois as a teenager starting a new school and resolving to stay out of trouble, make some friends, and really settle into her new life in Metropolis after moving constantly due to her dad's position in the Army.

On the first day at her new high school, Lois stumbles onto a bullying problem at her school and accepts a position as a student reporter that gives her the opportunity to investigate and take care of that problem.

And so it begins...

First, let it be known that I love comic books (though I'm not the committed fan like a lot of my family members), and I love many of the strong female characters that can be found in them despite a lot of the sexist stuff that exists in the comic book world. So I had incredibly high hopes for LOIS LANE--especially knowing that an author that I know and like was writing it.

That said, I confess that I was a little concerned for the first few chapters of LOIS LANE. I couldn't get into the rhythm of the book, and I was afraid it was going to be another YA book with a bit of action and a LOT of love story.

Thank goodness that ended up not being the case. Once the setting of the story was established, LOIS LANE was almost non-stop action and suspense. There were moments when the story slowed a bit, and I didn't like the way Superman (Smallville Guy) was incorporated into the story, but overall, this was a really good addition to the YA action genre and I look forward to the next in what I hope will be a series.
Good Points
A good addition to the YA action genre

A strong female protagonist

Great action and suspense
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The superpowers of heart-pounding plot and irresistable characters unite
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
While the superhero excitement continues to flourish in pop culture, there are wonderful opportunities to take a hero, a lover, a sidekick, or a villain and turn present them in a new light as Gwenda Bond has fabulously done with LOIS LANE: FALLOUT. Many may recognize Lois’s name as the journalist whom Superman falls for, and this story shows just how magnanimous Lois is on her own. Here is a larger than life character I would want as a best friend, someone I can’t help but be inspired by after finishing this book, and a protagonist whose complexity illustrates a perfect balance of strengths, weaknesses, and a thirst for justice. Readers searching for a character with similar qualities to Veronica Mars should grab this one immediately.

Lois wins my pick of favorite character, but the secondary characters shine beautifully in this story as well. With Lois’s father being in the army, she isn’t used to having or keeping friends, and I love her journey in learning to connect and trust others in Metropolis. Maddy, James, and Devin are all distinctive and intriguing, and I can’t wait to see what other adventures they get into in the next book. “SmallvilleGuy” makes quiet but important appearances, and Lois’s messages with him are brimming with true friendship and the intense potential for more someday, awaiting them in the horizon.

The plot unfolds wonderfully, creating various levels of conflict and antagonists from the crushing location of a principal’s office to top secret, illegal program developers. The Warheads prove to be creepy with more than a touch of sadness, and I found it hard not to shiver every time they finished each other’s’ sentences. The back drop of bustling Metropolis is perfect, allowing ample room for corruption, opportunity, and adventure.

FALLOUT is a story I won’t soon (or potentially ever) forget, holding an array of incredible characters, delicious plotting, and a premise of which I can’t get enough. Gwenda Bond takes an important character and transforms her into someone readers can admire and enjoy in a new perspective. I am left with the crucial question of when the next installment is available for preorder.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Lois Lane is My Hero
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
FALLOUT is fresh, engaging, and impossible to put down. From the first page, readers will be captivated by the voice of Lois Lane, narrator and rebel with a hundred causes. The author perfectly captures Lois's indomitable spirit while also giving us a glimpse of ordinary teen loneliness and a deep desire to finally make friends (in her umpteenth new school) that last. Lois is flawed (headstrong meets refusal to lean on others for help), but she learns her lessons. And even in her flaws, the warrior for righting wrongs that is the core of her being shines through every decision. Her character is engaging and enjoyable, the arc is well-developed, and readers are going to be begging for more books in this series the second they close the last page.

The pacing is spot-on, with just enough breathing spaces between the increasingly tense mystery that Lois is trying to unravel. The mystery itself was fascinating, and the little nuggets placed in the plot for those who love the original Superman series will delight fans without making any part of the book incomprehensible to those who are new to the franchise. The fast-paced plot, along with the engaging characters, make this a perfect book for reluctant readers as well.

FALLOUT is a compelling, fascinating story that will have readers anxious to read another installment of teenage Lois Lane. I highly recommend it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."