Wishing for You (I WISH #2)

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1512 0
Wishing for You (I WISH #2)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 13, 2015
ISBN
978-1633920279
Buy This Book
      

It’s her final semester of high school, and Kimberley Rey can't wait to find out what comes after. She needs to pick a college, but her memory disability complicates the choice. Will her struggles to remember make it impossible to move away from home? An answer arrives through an unexpected and supernatural gift. Grant is a “genie” with rules. He can give her thirty wishes (one per day for a month) as long as the tasks are humanly possible. Kimberley knows just what to ask for—lessons in how to survive on her own. But her wishes change when a friend receives a devastating diagnosis. As she joins forces with Grant to help her friend, Kimberley learns that the ability to live in the moment—to forget—may be more valuable than she ever knew.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Wishing The Impossible
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I'm so upset that Lacey and Grant went their separate ways. Please excuse me while I shove ice cream into my mouth for the next two hours. *goes away*

Okay, I'm back now. Let's begin dissecting.

After reading a book in Lacey's POV, Kimberly's POV feels weird. She has a much different perspective and is an unique person with her own voice. She doesn't remember things (short-term, at least), and she needs the help of technology for her go through her life. Day to day things. If she doesn't write something down, she forgets it immediately. (Imagine what it's like for her to learn hard Calculus and forget how to do those problems the next day. What a nightmare.) But I'm amazed by how strong she is and how her self-esteem and self-confidence sometimes cripples her But she does climb back up with Grant's help.

Grant and Lacey. Ahhh... That hot mess. I don't know what is going on with them, but I do know that Lacey doesn't want to interfere with Grant's career. Grant still wants her, but... Oh, crap. Spoilers. Can't do that. But this is my thought: Why so much torture? It isn't fair! And this subplot doesn't make sense. At least, not from this perspective. After so much trouble, they still don't end up together. Ms. Langston, please refrain yourself from tugging my heartstrings.

The story itself has an intriguing conflict. One of Kimberly's friends is dying from cancer, and Kimberly wants to help. The timer counts down, and Kimberly wishes that she can forget. But she can't. (Despite this interesting story, I find myself lacking the emotional connections that tie me to this story. I felt it in I WISH, but not here.)

The ending is a bittersweet part, but it seals major loose ends while giving an opportunity for other storylines. (I'm crossing fingers for more Grant/Lacey.)

Unfortunately, there's no villain. WISHING FOR YOU is a story of internal conflict (wink, wink) and what can't be controlled. The overall message is... Oh, I can't say it.

Overall, WISHING FOR YOU isn't the sequel I'm looking for. It does however have wonderful parts which will satisfy those who dislike musical numbers. (Do you really want to sing "Prince Ali"?) With a disabled narrator (yay!), a not-quite-human genie who's learning friendship, and a stubborn girl that is Lacey, WISHING FOR YOU mixes what's familiar with what's unique.

Rating: Three out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."