The Remedy (The Program #0.5)

Featured
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
2315 0
The Remedy (The Program #0.5)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 21, 2015
ISBN
1481437658
Buy This Book
      

Can one girl take on so many identities without losing her own? Find out in this riveting companion to The Program and the New York Times bestselling The Treatment. In a world before The Program… Quinlan McKee is a closer. Since the age of seven, Quinn has held the responsibility of providing closure to grieving families with a special skill—she can “become” anyone. Recommended by grief counselors, Quinn is hired by families to take on the short-term role of a deceased loved one between the ages of fifteen and twenty. She’s not an exact copy, of course, but she wears their clothes and changes her hair, studies them through pictures and videos, and soon, Quinn can act like them, smell like them, and be them for all intents and purposes. But to do her job successfully, she can’t get attached. Now seventeen, Quinn is deft at recreating herself, sometimes confusing her own past with those of the people she’s portrayed. When she’s given her longest assignment, playing the role of Catalina Barnes, Quinn begins to bond with the deceased girl’s boyfriend. But that’s only the beginning of the complications, especially when Quinn finds out the truth about Catalina’s death. And the epidemic it could start.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Grief and the Guilt
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL is the first book I'd ever read from Suzanne Young. I have to admit that I wasn't a big fan of A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL, but I'm definitely a fan of THE REMEDY. What can I say? Suzanne Young gets better with time. THE REMEDY is the prequel of THE PROGRAM, and it stars Quinn as its main narrator (and Deacon has a chapter/spotlight where he absolutely shines).

Quinn is a closer who pretends to be a recently dead person. Doing this since an incredibly young age, Quinn is an incredibly hard character to understand and gauge. She can become anyone, and she can change her personality at will. In a way, she is like a chameleon of characteristics and personalities. But it is the smaller details where one has to look to see the true her. She cares about every family she has ever worked for, and she is one of the best closers. However, pretending has its toll on Quinn. With every person's personality she wears, the more Quinn comes closer to losing herself. Suzanne Young writes a very convincing character who is slowly, very slowly losing herself and her identity. Every time Quinn becomes someone else is a chance for Quinn to disappear completely.

The conflict isn't as straightforward as it could have been. Catalina's death does set off many questions, and the search for answers doesn't give many. It is clear to me that THE REMEDY is dependent on THE PROGRAM (the first book in this series). However, we focuses a lot more on Quinn and her mentality state, which is much more interesting than Catalina's death (no offense to Catalina, however).

The plot starts off with Quinn pretending to be a recently deceased girl. It is a bold way in, and Young starts it off with an emotional bang. The story is addicting, and the writing flows very smoothly. The book may not have many action scenes, but it does rely on emotional scenes that are wrecking in its own spectacular and agonizing way.

The ending... is devastating. I simply want to know more and more, and I'm eagerly waiting for a day when I have much time to read for a chance to read the sequel, THE PROGRAM. I'm left shocked, beyond shocked.

Overall, THE REMEDY is a twisty and crafty book. Young gets better with time, and she creates a strong story with absolutely full characters and a creepy corporation with a curious and sinister executive. THE REMEDY is the best from Suzanne Young so far. Perfect for those who love psychological thrillers, the prequel of THE PROGRAM sets off a great start to a brand new series by Suzanne Young.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
MIND BLOWING!!!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
4.5
Suzanne Young!!! What have you done?! Believe me, I forgive you for that stupid book that "The Willing" was because this series is going to be the death of me!

This book was the best one in the series. It takes into account a vast variety of feelings, from grief, to regret, love, the need of belonging somewhere or to someone. Amazing! Plus I'm not really a fan of romances but the ones in this book were heartwrenchingly engaging. I understood that only towards the end of the book. (I hate when romances dictate the whole progress of the story but here it had a purpose and a meaning, plus it didn't dictate anything, it was just a great part of the book.)

What got me was the ending though... Oh god I'm dying over here!!! I haven't experienced such twists in a looong time and for that I thank you Ms Young!

For any one of you who wants to read this book I suggest you to get to the Program duology first. After that this book will blow your mind!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...

Latest Member Reviews

The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."
Mermaid Life: The Joy of Making Waves
 
5.0
"MERMAID LIFE is a fun collection of artwork themed around mermaids. With a few fun facts, silly moments, and inspirational..."
Yawn
 
4.5
"YAWN is a cute book about the contagious nature of yawns. A little boy begins a yawn that carries through..."
The Bear in the Boat
 
4.5
"THE BEAR IN THE BOAT is a sweet story of kindness and helping your neighbors. A storm is arriving, and..."
It's Bath Time! (Indestructibles)
 
4.5
"IT'S BATH TIME! is an adorable installment in the Indestructibles series. The book features baby animals and baby who have..."
I Really, Really Need to Pee!
 
4.0
"I REALLY, REALLY NEED TO PEE! is a silly picture book about a bush baby that is out and about..."
Bloom
 
4.5
"BLOOM is a sweet picture book about the power of kind words. A young girl passes by a beautiful flower..."