Dentons Little's Deathdate (Denton Little #1)

Dentons Little's Deathdate (Denton Little #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 14, 2015
ISBN
0553496964
Buy This Book
      
Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing. Denton Little’s Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day on which they will die. For Denton, that’s in just two days—the day of his senior prom. Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle—as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend’s hostile sister. (Though he’s not totally sure—see, first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton’s long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters. . . . Suddenly Denton’s life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers. Debut author Lance Rubin takes us on a fast, furious, and outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager’s life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on.

Editor review

1 review
A Quirky & Unique Dark Comedy With A Twist
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
What I Loved:

I’m a sucker for a story with a male POV, and I loved reading this story through the eyes of Denton Little. He’s a little nerdy, a little awkward, and a whole lot of funny. He’s a relatable character with some really endearing qualities that will have you invested in turning the page.

I loved the author’s writing style in this book. This story was well-balanced and consistent, and I enjoyed that it didn’t come across as just another ‘cookie-cutter’ unapologetic Dark Comedy. I loved that there was an added element of mystery, and even at times, a little suspense.There are plenty of twists that you may or may not see coming, but I came to appreciate the fact that the plot kept me on my toes. (Not to mention, the ending was shocking! Can I have book two now, please?)

What Fell Short:

Though this book was entertaining from beginning to end, I found that the romantic element was the only bit that left me wanting more. The connection between Denton’s potential love interest(s) left a little to be desired. His romantic relationships/interactions didn’t always feel as organic as his platonic and familial ones did. However, considering the fact that this book isn’t a contemporary romance, my issue over the slight lack of romantic chemistry didn’t deter me from enjoying the story.

Final Verdict:

Denton Little’s Deathdate is laced with humor and absurdity, and somehow still manages to hit you right in the feels. I can’t wait for the second book!

(This book is perfect for fans of Andrew Smith or Corey Whaley.)
Good Points
An enjoyable read filled with humor and an entertaining cast of characters.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account