The Replaced (The Taking #2)

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1842 0
The Replaced (The Taking #2)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 28, 2015
ISBN
9780062293633
Buy This Book
      

Romantic and action-packed, The Replaced is the gripping second installment in the Taking trilogy. Kyra hasn't been the same since she returned from her mysterious five-year disappearance. Now, on the run from the NSA, Kyra is forced to hide out with others who, like her, have been Returned. Yet she is determined to find Tyler, the boy she loves who was also abducted—all because of her. When her group intercepts a message that Tyler might still be alive but is in the hands of a shadowy government organization that experiments on the Returned, Kyra knows it's a risk to go after him. What if it's a trap? And worse, what if the returned Tyler isn't the same boy she lost? Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the Body Finder series, The Replaced is both chilling and explosive, with creepy, otherworldly elements and twisty, psychological thrills that will have you questioning what exactly it means to be human.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

E.T. Stays
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
THE REPLACED continues where THE TAKING left off. In THE REPLACED, Kyra is on her own journey to find Tyler and her father. A Paranormal/YA Science Fiction book, THE REPLACED turns dark and unfolds the desperate search Kyra makes. THE REPLACED is fit for young adults (14+), and it will most certainly interest those who enjoy The X-Files.

Much different from the Kyra at the beginning of the series, the girl who goes by the name of Kyra is now obsessed with time to the point of counting hours and even minutes. Losing the two people she cares about most has taken a toll on her mentally. She is moodier than before. Her character change affects the entire book, and it is impressive how Kimberly Derting is able to pull off that grittier and much more suspenseful tone while pushing me over the cliff (figuratively, of course). Out of all the characters in The Replaced, Kyra is my favorite.

The NSA is onto Krya's heels. Agent Truman remains the biggest opponent to face off against Kyra. Agent Truman is definitely an interesting villain. He gives off a "sacrifice the few to save the many" vibe. Some of his past is revealed in The Replaced, but he still remains to be one of the more mysterious and easily despised characters of the series.

The story starts slowly and builds over time. It forces me to be patient, and it is clear that Derting is keeping answers from Kyra (and indirectly, the readers). It is frustrating how the truth is so close yet also so far. But the payoff is worth it, because when the secrets are shined upon and Derting comes completely clean and all of the cards are on the table, that is where the fun really begins. (Cue the dramatic music.)

Creeping along slowly in the very beginning, the plot picks up speed once everything starts exploding. The book doesn't stop running until the very last page. (Just be patient, and everything will reveal itself.)

As I said before, Derting figuratively pushes me off the cliff. I feel obligated to inform that the ending leaves me screaming and almost in tears. As the darkest and most devastating part of the book, the ending is very catastrophical. You all have been warned repeatedly.

What does it mean to be human? THE REPLACED asks that question many times, and it does force the readers to ponder what being human means. The execution of that message is dry and could be better, but Derting does manage to pull it off with some success.

Overall, THE REPLACED is a suspenseful and twisty tale of Kyra versus the MIB (the men in black). I find myself entertained by the many allusions to conspiracy theories Kimberly Derting has placed throughout the book. With its twisty plot and deceitful characters, THE REPLACED is a thrilling continuation of a fresh look on aliens.

Rating: Three out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."