Endangered

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2570 0
Endangered
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 21, 2015
ISBN
9780062297563
Buy This Book
      

Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga's I Hunt Killers. The one secret she cares about keeping—her identity—is about to be exposed. Unless Lauren "Panda" Daniels—an anonymous photoblogger who specializes in busting classmates and teachers in compromising positions—plays along with her blackmailer's little game of Dare or . . . Dare. But when the game turns deadly, Panda doesn't know what to do. And she may need to step out of the shadows to save herself . . . and everyone else on the Admirer's hit list.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Game of Cat and Mouse
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A YA Thriller, ENDANGERED has a deadly hunt for a killer. It centers around a dangerous game between cat and mouse, a power play that always shifts (almost) never in favor of the mouse. The mouse, Panda (real name: Lauren Daniels) is the "superhero" (with no special powers other than her gift for photography). Her brand new stalker/killer is the cat.

The conflict is straightforward. Panda takes photos of her classmates doing incredibly wrong things (e.g. stealing) and puts the proof onto her blog anonymously. After a night of taking those very compromising photos, Panda herself is being blackmailed by a "fan" of her alter ego, Gray. In the beginning, it is all fun and games until the game changes and someone ends up dead. Panda, now realizing what's at stake, is driven to find the identity of her stalker-turned-killer before another body ends up at the morgue.

Starting off in a light tone, ENDANGERED entices me easily and draws me into the world with its amazing lead character and twisty plot. Like I said before, it is all fun and games until a dead body shows up. Then the tone shifts and the book becomes darker and darker with a lot of suspense. The plot begins innocently enough, creeping silently towards the darker path. Lamar Giles takes me by surprise, and boy, ENDANGERED is definitely a good thriller.

The only narrator, Panda, is my favorite character (or should I say, superhero?) in this book. As the superhero of the story, she is not like Superman and much more similar to Batman. By day, she is a regular student in photography class. By night, a vigilante who seeks to exact her vengeance on those who deserve it. She is dynamic character, whose character development drives parts of the plot very well.

The identity of the killer has me puzzled from his/her debut in the early chapters. Giles is excellent at giving red herrings and a smart cunning villain with a deadly (and fascinating) streak. He completely blindside me when the truth figuratively drops from the sky. The mystery is the best part of the book, and I absolutely love how the stalker is five steps ahead of Panda.

The ending closes the book nicely and is totally satisfying. It concludes ENDANGERED and closes most (if not all) loose ends.

Overall, ENDANGERED is a suspenseful story of a girl stalked by a deadly stalker. The plot has a minor hole, but it doesn't affect the main story arc. ENDANGERED enrapture me from the start with a killing stalker and an awesome superhero. It is best for younger teens (14+), and I would recommend ENDANGERED to anyone who wants a good and suspenseful story.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times #1 Bestseller! ...
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the My Baby Loves Christmas board book, celebrate all...
Riverland
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When things go bad at home, sisters Eleanor and Mike...
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A perfect, device-free remedy to what to do when the...
Animazes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow fascinating journeys of animal migration in this beautiful book...
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the New York Times bestseller Hugs...
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is...
Laugh-Out-Loud Halloween Jokes: Lift-the-Flap
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The #1 bestselling Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids series is bringing...
Little Tigers
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey with a family of tigers as they search for...
Explorer Academy Codebreaking Activity Adventure
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unlock ancient puzzles and secrets introduced via supercool codes and...
One Fox: A Counting Book Thriller
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunningly gorgeous counting book with a delightful surprise ...
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first picture book about the inspiring life of humanitarian...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki is disgusted when he finds out that his pen-pal Charlie is a girl. Still, they..."
Loki: Where Mischief Lies
 
3.0
"LOKI: WHERE MISCHIEF LIES tells a new story of teen Loki, before all the big battles and intergalactic feuds with..."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
5.0
"Told from the perspective of a girl who was captured and escaped, JANE ANONYMOUS is a thriller of both physical..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"posso usare l'italiano or english"
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.7
"In all seriousness, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda is the best. I have nothing to compare it to. It is unique,..."
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
"TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
"'The Boy Next Story' by Tiffany Schmidt follows main character Aurora, who goes by Rory, as she tries to figure..."
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."
And I Darken
 
3.3
"To be honest, I went into this expecting vampires. I guess between the visual tone to the..."
Endling: The First
 
5.0
"Applegate delivers an action-packed middle-grade sequel in a uniquely otherworldly setting, with characters that are relatable, cute and fuzzy, along..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION is an incredible new YA fantasy that combines a dark mystery, magic, and romance/love into a gorgeous,..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"REFRACTION is a highly readable/devourable book that is certainly a page-turner. In the post-apocalyptic future, a small island appears to..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"hi :) bross :)"
Fan the Fame
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Excuse me, who gave Anna Priemaza permission to bug my house and use my brother and I..."
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
 
3.7
"Los Angeles, Ferguson, and Baltimore. Three cities where years of racism, injustice, unchecked police brutality, and rampant anti-Black racism came..."
Serpent & Dove
 
4.0
"I’d been hearing about this book on Bookstagram, BookTube, and BookTwitter as an anticipated release for September 2019. And then..."
Stalking Jack the Ripper
 
5.0
"I have no words….well, that’s a lie. I have lots of words. Just where to start?! Stalking Jack the Ripper..."
How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
"A weighty YA Contemporary, grappling with a wide array of crises and quandaries. What I..."