Endangered

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2959 0
Endangered
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 21, 2015
ISBN
9780062297563
Buy This Book
      

Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga's I Hunt Killers. The one secret she cares about keeping—her identity—is about to be exposed. Unless Lauren "Panda" Daniels—an anonymous photoblogger who specializes in busting classmates and teachers in compromising positions—plays along with her blackmailer's little game of Dare or . . . Dare. But when the game turns deadly, Panda doesn't know what to do. And she may need to step out of the shadows to save herself . . . and everyone else on the Admirer's hit list.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Game of Cat and Mouse
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A YA Thriller, ENDANGERED has a deadly hunt for a killer. It centers around a dangerous game between cat and mouse, a power play that always shifts (almost) never in favor of the mouse. The mouse, Panda (real name: Lauren Daniels) is the "superhero" (with no special powers other than her gift for photography). Her brand new stalker/killer is the cat.

The conflict is straightforward. Panda takes photos of her classmates doing incredibly wrong things (e.g. stealing) and puts the proof onto her blog anonymously. After a night of taking those very compromising photos, Panda herself is being blackmailed by a "fan" of her alter ego, Gray. In the beginning, it is all fun and games until the game changes and someone ends up dead. Panda, now realizing what's at stake, is driven to find the identity of her stalker-turned-killer before another body ends up at the morgue.

Starting off in a light tone, ENDANGERED entices me easily and draws me into the world with its amazing lead character and twisty plot. Like I said before, it is all fun and games until a dead body shows up. Then the tone shifts and the book becomes darker and darker with a lot of suspense. The plot begins innocently enough, creeping silently towards the darker path. Lamar Giles takes me by surprise, and boy, ENDANGERED is definitely a good thriller.

The only narrator, Panda, is my favorite character (or should I say, superhero?) in this book. As the superhero of the story, she is not like Superman and much more similar to Batman. By day, she is a regular student in photography class. By night, a vigilante who seeks to exact her vengeance on those who deserve it. She is dynamic character, whose character development drives parts of the plot very well.

The identity of the killer has me puzzled from his/her debut in the early chapters. Giles is excellent at giving red herrings and a smart cunning villain with a deadly (and fascinating) streak. He completely blindside me when the truth figuratively drops from the sky. The mystery is the best part of the book, and I absolutely love how the stalker is five steps ahead of Panda.

The ending closes the book nicely and is totally satisfying. It concludes ENDANGERED and closes most (if not all) loose ends.

Overall, ENDANGERED is a suspenseful story of a girl stalked by a deadly stalker. The plot has a minor hole, but it doesn't affect the main story arc. ENDANGERED enrapture me from the start with a killing stalker and an awesome superhero. It is best for younger teens (14+), and I would recommend ENDANGERED to anyone who wants a good and suspenseful story.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA series...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...
Talent
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sandee Mason is convinced her life will change if she...
WITHIN THE FOLDS OF A SWAN'S WINGS
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if the one element that has always defined you...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this twisty,...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface, she...
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maeve’s strangely astute tarot readings make her the talk of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Cassie needs a horse. She’s determined to move up...
A Higher Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 9)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just when everything seems to be perfect, it all falls...
A Happier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 8)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two guys. One girl. A big confusing mess. ...
A Healthier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 7)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She broke his heart. Will he ever forgive her? ...
A Steadier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He wants her back, but she’s already taken. ...
A Stronger Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 5)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can new love heal old wounds? I want...
A Smarter Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can she keep him, or will his ex steal him...
A Bolder Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When the truth is uncovered, the bullies come out to...

Latest Member Reviews

Minecraft: The Shipwreck
 
5.0
"Jake and his father have moved around quite a bit after the death of his mother. His father is a..."
The Tiny Baker
 
5.0
"THE TINY BAKER is the sweet story of a baker bee who runs a bakery and tea shop. Every day,..."
A Gift for Amma: Market Day in India
 
5.0
"A GIFT FOR AMMA is a delightful and colorful journey through the marketplace in India. A young girl ventures out..."
Five Little Ducks: First Book of Nursery Rhymes
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE DUCKS is a delightful collection of nursery rhymes. The book includes many rhymes that are familiar alongside those..."
The Bread Pet: A Sourdough Story
 
4.0
"THE BREAD PET is a cute story about Cora, whose favorite uncle asks her to take care of his sourdough..."
Scruff
 
3.5
"SCRUFF is a cute picture book story of a man who gets a scruffy dog, which suits his scruffy style..."
Making Tracks: City
 
5.0
"MAKING TRACKS: CITY is a fun lift-the-flap board book that features tracks and asks who made them. When children lift..."
Amazing Islands
 
4.5
"'Amazing Islands' by Sabrina Weiss and Kerry Hyndman is a beautifully illustrated book, chock full of valuable information about islands..."
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
"'The Walrus and the Caribou' by Maika Harper, illustrated by Marcus Cutler, is an endearing tale of creation, based on..."
The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars
 
5.0
"THE BOY, THE WOLF, AND THE STARS is an enchanting middle grade fantasy. Bo was left in the woods as..."
Friend Me
 
5.0
"Roisin has moved from Dublin, Ireland to the Boston area with her mother and older brother Michael. Her mother works..."
Tiger Wild
 
3.0
"TIGER WILD is a picture book about imaginary friends and getting into trouble. Lily always blames her mistakes on Tiger,..."
Bea by the Sea
 
5.0
"BEA BY THE SEA is a sweet picture book about trying new things and making new friends. Bea loves lions..."
Let's Find the Kitten
 
5.0
"LET'S FIND THE KITTEN is a cute hide-and-seek, lift-the-flap board book. Kitten is hiding, but we don't know where. As..."
Winston Wiggles
 
4.0
"WINSTON WIGGLES is a cute book that gives strategies for helping children to settle down when they have the "wiggles."..."
Sweet Dreams: A Goodnight Lullaby
 
4.0
"SWEET DREAMS: A GOODNIGHT LULLABY is a great bedtime book pick for children who love Sesame Street. Sesame Street is..."
Best Friends, Busy Friends
 
4.0
"BEST FRIENDS, BUSY FRIENDS is a fun, rhyming book that celebrates differences and friendship. This book is a poetic rhyme..."
It's Only One
 
4.0
"IT'S ONLY ONE is a cute picture book that shows the importance of taking personal responsibility for being considerate. Sunnyville..."
Unleashed (Jinx Book 2)
 
4.0
"Lacey wakes up in the hospital after being there about a month. She knows that Jinx is gone, but doesn't..."
Jinxed
 
5.0
"Lacey has always dreamed of attending Profectus school, which is geared to students who want to be Companioneers for Moncha..."