Empire of Night (Age of Legends #2)

Featured
Empire of Night (Age of Legends #2)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 07, 2015
ISBN
978-0062071279
Buy This Book
      
In this heart-stopping sequel to the New York Times bestselling Sea of Shadows, which Kirkus Reviews called "a standout," Ashyn and Moria must overcome deadly enemies—not all of them human—as they attempt to help avert a war for the empire. Blending fantasy, romance, danger, and action, Kelley Armstrong sends readers on a thrilling journey through an unforgettable world, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones. Sisters Moria and Ashyn are the Keeper and Seeker of Edgewood. Or at least they were. Their village is gone. Their friends have betrayed them. And now, the emperor has sent them on a mission to rescue the captured children of Edgewood—accompanied by Prince Tyrus and a small band of imperial warriors. But the journey proves more perilous than any of them could have imagined. And with treachery and unrest mounting in the empire, the girls are running out of places to turn. With all the pulse-pounding action and romance that have made her a #1 New York Times bestselling author, this second book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong's legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.

Editor review

1 review
A dark and exciting read packed with emotion
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
After loving the first book in this series, I was a little nervous going into this sequel. I fell for the characters and the world so quickly before that I worried I might not feel as strongly as the series continues. Empire of Night negated all my concerns after the first page.
The story immediately pulls the reader back into the dark and complex world where Moria and Ashyn are struggling to find the taken children from Edgewood. With vivid, quick descriptions and a slow-burning, but fast, pace, Kelley Armstrong skillfully weaves a plot line that kept me up far, far past by bedtime. The tension growing from the mystery around the empire flows into both Ashyn and Moria’s romantic ventures, creating more than a few moments where I wanted to throw the book across the room in delicious frustration.
While the first book contained more physical horror, this book still seems darker as the sisters battle their lingering emotions from the earlier dangers and face new and unexpected conspiracies. However, Armstrong leaves plenty of room for comic relief with delightful wit interwoven in the dialogue. All together, the emotions in this story, from the sobs to the laughter, make the characters feel real and true.

Some of the mysteries of the story left me a bit confused as far as direction goes. The focus in the first part revolved around finding the children, but there are times throughout that make it is easy to forget the reason they are embarking on all the various quests. As more mysteries are added, the original one (the location of the children) seems to fall away a bit.
Likewise, as more relationships come into the mix, the central relationship between Moria and Ashyn isn’t as strong. The two start out the story a bit disconnected in their individual grief, and I felt like there was never a resolve to that. The two do have some meaningful scenes together, but for the majority of the book, their relationship doesn’t continue to develop or grow.

Empire of Night is a wickedly dark and entirely mesmerizing story. Moria and Ashyn embark on journeys full of danger, death, and romance that wrapped me in so well that it was nearly impossible to put the book down. Though there are a few areas that I wanted more from, there is no doubt that the book hangover from this one will last a long time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account