How (Not) to Fall in Love

 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
853 0
How (Not) to Fall in Love
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 03, 2015
ISBN
978-1622665204
Buy This Book
      
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her dog ate gourmet. Then one day, Darcy’s car is repossessed from the parking lot of her elite private school. As her father’s business hit the skids, Dad didn’t just skip town, he bailed on his family. Fortunately, Darcy’s uncle owns a thrift shop where she can hide out from the world. There’s also Lucas, the wickedly hot fix-it guy she can’t stop crushing on, even if she’s not sure they’ll ever get out of the friend zone. But it’s here among the colorful characters of her uncle’s world that Darcy begins to see something more in herself...if she has the courage to follow it.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Quick read with great growth
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Darcy Covington is used to having everything taken care of, her car, her meals, her clothes, her house. Money was never a concern. Then her car is repossessed from the school parking lot, in front of her classmates, and Darcy learns that her father’s business is in trouble. Not only that, but her father is nowhere to be found. Darcy and her mom are left to deal with the fallout in the media and their lives. Thankfully, Darcy’s uncle has a thrift store where she can hide out when she needs to, and it has the added bonus of employing a hot mechanic named Lucas. Through it all, Darcy needs to call on strength and abilities she never knew she had in order to help pull her family back together.

I found myself really enjoying this book. The more I got into it, the more I enjoyed it. It managed to be a cute, light story about a girl falling in love while finding herself but also a coming-of-age story about a girl being forced to discover the type of person she could be when she needed to step up.

I loved Darcy as a character. She came from a rich family and maybe was a little spoiled but when things started to fall apart, she was the one finding the strength in herself to make the hard decisions and to do what had to be done in order to move on with their lives. I thought her growth arc was well done and it felt like a natural progression for her character. I enjoyed the way she interacted with people and the faith she had in her father. She was a character that was easy to root for and she made me want to root for the people she loved as well.

There was definite chemistry between her and Lucas. I liked that they became friends first even though it was clear there was something more pulling them together. They met at a vulnerable time in Darcy’s life and she needed someone she could lean on and talk to. Someone who would get it. His little sister Pickles was so adorable and smart for her age, especially when it came to what her brother needed in his life.

I loved the character interactions in this book. They were colorful and each added something to the book and to Darcy;s life. Her uncle Charlie was always there for her even though her father had cut him out of their lives years ago. Liz, her boss, was an example of someone Darcy could be, strong and independent even when accepting some help some times. Her mother was both a path Darcy could have gone down if she’d been unwilling to face the reality of what was happening and a reason for Darcy to face that reality. Her best friend was a link to her old world, a positive link who could give her perspective on things – especially on how she should be with Lucas.

Darcy’s growth was my favourite part of this book but I did also enjoy the articles that were included throughout the book on Darcy’s father and the comments users had posted. Darcy’s father was a motivational self-help guru type and the fact that he took off and supposedly left his business in taters was, of course, making huge headlines. There were users who thought he was a fraud and this was proof and there were users who believed in his words and were helped by his words. They felt like(nicer) versions of posts I would expect to see in real life on a forum or article dedicated to that topic.

Overall, it was a quick read that was propelled by Darcy’s growth as a character. As someone who loved character growth, that made it a very enjoyable read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."