The Truth About Us

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
2721 0
The Truth About Us
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 07, 2015
ISBN
9781402278006
Buy This Book
      

A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult."-Booklist The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up. She's made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she's paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen. The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is. She pretends it's all fine. That her "perfect" family is fine. But it's not. And no one notices the lie...until she meets Flynn. He's the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens. The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care. But Flynn is the definition of "the wrong side of the tracks." When Jess's parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don't get that the person who shouldn't fit in your world... might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Another Fantastic Read from Gurtler
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Janet Gurtler has proven to be a really steady author for me. The Truth About Us was my third of her books that I’ve read. Though I’ve only read her three most recent novels, I do really feel like her writing and characterization is just getting stronger with time. In The Truth About Us, Janet Gurtler once again tackles some heavier topics, but does so in a non-dramatic way that keeps the book feeling pretty fluffy and approachable. With good characters, fantastic arcs, and diversity, The Truth About Us is a delightful contemporary read.

The Truth About Us ventures into some classic forbidden romance territory: the spoiled little rich girl and the boy from the wrong side of the tracks. At first glance, she’s a brat, bitchy and thoughtless. She gets drunk and orders a $10,000 vintage dress. It quickly becomes apparent, however, that there’s much more to Jess than that stuff. Jess’ character arc is really beautiful and naturally done. She essentially spends the book finding herself again and finally dealing with all the things she was partying to forget. Gurtler does this, in my opinion, without shaming drinking or partying specifically; it’s very much about how they made Jess feel.

After ordering the absurdly expensive dress off eBay, Jess’ dad lays down the law: she has to volunteer in a soup kitchen and she can’t use her phone all summer. She is, of course, completely pissed about this and freaked out at the idea of working in a soup kitchen. Pretty quickly, though, she starts bonding with the people there: the employees, yes, but the guests too. Jess really opens up, and you get to see that, while she is rather prickly, she also cares deeply once she gets to know people.

The sweetest relationship of the book isn’t the romance; it’s Jess’ relationship with Wilf, an old man who volunteers at the shelter. Wilf donates money to run a greenhouse, in honor of his late wife who loved plants. Jess has a green thumb that she’s not been watering. They become friends because of the greenhouse, but also because they have such a similar dry sense of humor and an honesty many people find harsh.

Jess’ love interest, Flynn, is a half-Asian hottie. He volunteers at the soup kitchen, but he and his five-year-old brother also eat there some days. Initially, he and Jess don’t get along, despite the frisson of attraction. Quickly, though, they learn to see past their prejudices based on their economic circumstances. Jess has to learn to check her privilege, and Flynn needs to find a way to not hold it against her. What was great about this was that, for the most part, it’s not the super intense forbidden romance that the “boy from the wrong side of the tracks” trope usually results in. Though no one is initially thrilled about their feelings for one another, they are ultimately the largest barrier to their relationship despite that: View Spoiler »

Gurtler doesn’t dive all that heavily into the circumstances with Jess’ family, but I really liked the treatment she gave them. Jess’ mom doesn’t get out of bed most days, because View Spoiler »she hasn’t been able to recover from being viciously beaten while out joggingView Spoiler ». The dad and Jess’ sister Allie both distance themselves from the problems in the house, since they don’t know how to deal. Jess, meanwhile, was acting out in a desperate bid for attention. I liked that the circumstances sort of forced Jess’ mom to face up to her problems, but that she still went to seek counseling and really work on things; love alone, be it romantic or parental, does not solve psychological issues.

The Truth About Us is another fantastic novel from Janet Gurtler. This reminds me how much I need to check out her backlist.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jocelyn and Alex have always been best friends...until they aren't....
Disaster Days
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near...
Wild River
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3 nights, 2 days, and 1 massive music fest ....
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
I didn’t even want to go to the party. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tianna Morgan and her friends run Cadie Mae High. Great...
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing comes the...
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
This captivating second book in Bree Barton’s Heart of...
The Broken Raven (Shadow Skye, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the heart-pounding second book in the Shadow Skye...
You Have a Match
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the beloved author of Tweet Cute comes Emma...

Latest Member Reviews

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.0
"Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."
The Cerulean
 
3.3
"THE CERULEAN is an intriguing start to a YA fantasy duology. The book begins with Sera, a Cerulean who has..."
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
"TALES FROM THE HINTERLAND is an enchanting, haunting, and deliciously creepy collection of fairytales. Completely new and unlike anything I..."
You Owe Me a Murder
 
3.0
" *Connor is Deaf and has implants *Alex has light brown skin..."
Across the Green Grass Fields
 
4.7
"I love the Wayward Children series, and the latest installment, ACROSS THE GREEN GRASS FIELDS, is no exception. Here are..."
DEV1AT3
 
4.7
"Feedback What a difference between book 1 and book 2. I enjoyed this one so much more, and I..."