Miss Mayhem (Rebel Belle #2)

Featured
Miss Mayhem (Rebel Belle #2)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 07, 2015
ISBN
978-0399256943
Buy This Book
      

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect for fans of Buffy and Veronica Mars. Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and best friend Bee has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can return her focus to the important things in life: school, canoodling with David, her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie, and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant. Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.

Editor review

1 review
Miss Mayhem
(Updated: April 03, 2015)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Harper Price is back sassier than ever and she’ll need that as there’s more drama going down in her Alabama town. This only makes her more determined to help David, her new boyfie, and make sense out of her Paladin calling. Then her missing friend Bee shows up along with the Ephors who now want to help David out but only if she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her or make her stronger. Part of this will affect her new relationship and even worse, have her seriously think of trying out for the Miss Pine Grove pageant. What’s a girl to do?

What worked: Love Harper's sass and drive while still trying to act the part of a good Southern girl. Harper's catchy one-liners and how she juggles David while also having to work with her Mage ex Ryan, puts new meaning behind awkwardness. But Harper handles it with her usual charm and determination.

Hawkins is able to balance sass with drama without missing a beat but one of her biggest trials has to be whether or not she’s strong enough for a change in a relationship. This time around the reveals are darker and more frightening as they center on not only her ability as a Paladin but David's changing role too. I liked how Hawkins digs deep into Harper's character to show the feels and struggles she has over not only her calling but how far she’ll go to keep those she loves close to her.

Add to this the high school scene with changing relationships and the whole drama that goes on with that.

Hawkins’ writing is catchy. Think Buffy meets Southern Charm. All of this makes makes this series one of my all time favorites.Totally love the voice! The dialogue has snap and snark. Just the way I like them. I love the aunts, the Alabama town, and Harper! Reading MISS MAYHEM had me craving a tall iced glass of sweet tea. And just like the tea, this book is sweet and satisfying.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account