Miss Mayhem (Rebel Belle #2)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2587 1
Miss Mayhem (Rebel Belle #2)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 07, 2015
ISBN
978-0399256943
Buy This Book
      

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect for fans of Buffy and Veronica Mars. Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and best friend Bee has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can return her focus to the important things in life: school, canoodling with David, her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie, and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant. Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Miss Mayhem
(Updated: April 03, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Harper Price is back sassier than ever and she’ll need that as there’s more drama going down in her Alabama town. This only makes her more determined to help David, her new boyfie, and make sense out of her Paladin calling. Then her missing friend Bee shows up along with the Ephors who now want to help David out but only if she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her or make her stronger. Part of this will affect her new relationship and even worse, have her seriously think of trying out for the Miss Pine Grove pageant. What’s a girl to do?

What worked: Love Harper's sass and drive while still trying to act the part of a good Southern girl. Harper's catchy one-liners and how she juggles David while also having to work with her Mage ex Ryan, puts new meaning behind awkwardness. But Harper handles it with her usual charm and determination.

Hawkins is able to balance sass with drama without missing a beat but one of her biggest trials has to be whether or not she’s strong enough for a change in a relationship. This time around the reveals are darker and more frightening as they center on not only her ability as a Paladin but David's changing role too. I liked how Hawkins digs deep into Harper's character to show the feels and struggles she has over not only her calling but how far she’ll go to keep those she loves close to her.

Add to this the high school scene with changing relationships and the whole drama that goes on with that.

Hawkins’ writing is catchy. Think Buffy meets Southern Charm. All of this makes makes this series one of my all time favorites.Totally love the voice! The dialogue has snap and snark. Just the way I like them. I love the aunts, the Alabama town, and Harper! Reading MISS MAYHEM had me craving a tall iced glass of sweet tea. And just like the tea, this book is sweet and satisfying.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Cousins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of One...
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Based on Portuguese legend, this #OwnVoices historical fantasy is an...
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From beloved children's author and illustrator Tony Ross, comes a...
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As her grandmother's health declines, a young girl begins to...
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
San Solano, Texas, is a quaint town known for...
Sing Like No One's Listening
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a talented young singer...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface,...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every summer, they say goodbye. Dorit goes to Tel Aviv...
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this illustrated guide, discover fascinating and unusual information about...
Special Delivery
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovely book to share with children in an expecting...
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...

Latest Member Reviews

I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
"I DON'T WANT TO WASH MY HANDS is a picture book about the need for frequent hand washing. The little..."
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
"DANCE LIKE A LEAF is a beautiful book about grief and loss of a loved one. A young girl loves..."
Special Delivery
 
4.0
"SPECIAL DELIVERY is a delightfully silly picture book. A little duck is eagerly awaiting the delivery of her baby brother...."
Minecraft: The Shipwreck
 
5.0
"Jake and his father have moved around quite a bit after the death of his mother. His father is a..."
The Tiny Baker
 
5.0
"THE TINY BAKER is the sweet story of a baker bee who runs a bakery and tea shop. Every day,..."
A Gift for Amma: Market Day in India
 
5.0
"A GIFT FOR AMMA is a delightful and colorful journey through the marketplace in India. A young girl ventures out..."
Five Little Ducks: First Book of Nursery Rhymes
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE DUCKS is a delightful collection of nursery rhymes. The book includes many rhymes that are familiar alongside those..."
The Bread Pet: A Sourdough Story
 
4.0
"THE BREAD PET is a cute story about Cora, whose favorite uncle asks her to take care of his sourdough..."
Scruff
 
3.5
"SCRUFF is a cute picture book story of a man who gets a scruffy dog, which suits his scruffy style..."
Making Tracks: City
 
5.0
"MAKING TRACKS: CITY is a fun lift-the-flap board book that features tracks and asks who made them. When children lift..."
Amazing Islands
 
4.5
"'Amazing Islands' by Sabrina Weiss and Kerry Hyndman is a beautifully illustrated book, chock full of valuable information about islands..."
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
"'The Walrus and the Caribou' by Maika Harper, illustrated by Marcus Cutler, is an endearing tale of creation, based on..."
The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars
 
5.0
"THE BOY, THE WOLF, AND THE STARS is an enchanting middle grade fantasy. Bo was left in the woods as..."
Friend Me
 
5.0
"Roisin has moved from Dublin, Ireland to the Boston area with her mother and older brother Michael. Her mother works..."
Tiger Wild
 
3.0
"TIGER WILD is a picture book about imaginary friends and getting into trouble. Lily always blames her mistakes on Tiger,..."
Bea by the Sea
 
5.0
"BEA BY THE SEA is a sweet picture book about trying new things and making new friends. Bea loves lions..."
Let's Find the Kitten
 
5.0
"LET'S FIND THE KITTEN is a cute hide-and-seek, lift-the-flap board book. Kitten is hiding, but we don't know where. As..."
Winston Wiggles
 
4.0
"WINSTON WIGGLES is a cute book that gives strategies for helping children to settle down when they have the "wiggles."..."
Sweet Dreams: A Goodnight Lullaby
 
4.0
"SWEET DREAMS: A GOODNIGHT LULLABY is a great bedtime book pick for children who love Sesame Street. Sesame Street is..."
Best Friends, Busy Friends
 
4.0
"BEST FRIENDS, BUSY FRIENDS is a fun, rhyming book that celebrates differences and friendship. This book is a poetic rhyme..."