The Chapel Wars

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1202 0
The Chapel Wars
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 06, 2014
ISBN
1599907887
Buy This Book
      
Sixteen-year-old Holly wants to remember her Grandpa forever, but she’d rather forget what he left her in his will: his wedding chapel on the Las Vegas strip. Whatever happened to gold watches, savings bonds, or some normal inheritance? And then there's Grandpa's letter. Not only is Holly running the business with her recently divorced parents, but she needs to make some serious money—fast. Grandpa also insists Holly reach out to Dax, the grandson of her family's mortal enemy and owner of the cheesy chapel next door. No matter how cute Dax is, Holly needs to stay focused: on her group of guy friends, her disjointed family, work, school and... Dax. No wait, not Dax. Holly’s chapel represents everything she’s ever loved in her past. Dax might be everything she could ever love in the future. But as for right now, there's a wedding chapel to save.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fluffy Contemporary with Great Depth
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
For more reviews, gifs, Cover Snark and more, visit A Reader of Fictions.

Dahlia Adler, Recing ball and author extraordinaire (Behind the Scenes/Last Will and Testament/Under the Lights), wins again. She told me over and over to read The Chapel Wars. I wasn’t sure, not having heard all that much buzz about Leavitt’s books. The time came, though, when I had to read this book, mostly because I checked it out of the library and then proceeded to rack up $1.20 in fines (oops), so obviously I had to at least read it now that I was paying money for it. Yes, I know that I am marvelous at life. Enough about that. The short version is that The Chapel Wars turned out to be quite fantastic.

The Chapel Wars took a bit of time to grab me, I’ll admit. The voice is unique, but not in a way that jumped off the page for me. This did result in a lack of emotional connection, but, by the end, I loved this book in a very intellectual way. I can’t really explain why I wasn’t feeling all the feels; it seems as though I should have been. Part of my struggle at the start was that Holly has a few really odd descriptions, which I can’t help not sharing so here you go:

"If looks were America and ugly was Los Angeles, this boy was comfortably Kentucky. West Virginia when he smiled."

Seriously? What does that even mean? Also, poor LA.

“'If hate were a person, we’d be second cousins.'”

I’m amused, but also a bit confused again. Holly doesn’t do this stuff often, but it really stood out to me as strange since she’s of a more mathematical mind most of the time. I did really love her thing with counting and her mathematical predictions of marriages’ success.

The Chapel Wars takes place in Las Vegas, but in a way that was totally new to me. The book is both very Vegas-focused and not at all like I expected something set in Vegas to be. I’ve never been and don’t have much interest in going, since the casinos and shit I’ve seen in the movies don’t really interest me. In this case, though, Vegas is Holly’s hometown. For her, it’s not casinos and “what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.” There are some ways in which it’s very much not any other place, but it’s also a much more beautiful portrayal than I’ve ever seen. Holly’s attempts to make Dax love Vegas made me want to visit it too. Ironically, Leavitt’s fiction made a real place seem less fictional to me.

The book opens on the funeral for Holly’s beloved Grandpa Jim. When his will is read, everyone’s stunned by the revelation that he’s left the chapel to Holly to run. Even more shocking is the news that, unless she manages to drum up a whole lot more business, the chapel’s going to be closing for good. This, too, is very unique YA novel territory, but I love the way it was handled.

Holly may not have the experience of an adult, but she brings an open-mindedness to bear that none of the adults would have. I also love that The Chapel Wars delves into whether this is a good thing for Holly or not. Yes, Holly seems to be good at it, and she does love the chapel. However, that doesn’t mean that setting herself up to do nothing but this without considering other options is a good thing. It could have just been a quirky story about how she got to run a chapel, but The Chapel Wars gets into real consideration of the future. The way things resolved was also perfect.

At first, I thought Holly was going to be one of those girl-hating heroines. She’s friends with a bunch of jocks and doesn’t always have the nicest thoughts about her best friend’s girlfriend, Camille. Holly doesn’t really now how to be a girl and doesn’t feel all that comfortable around them. As the book goes on, though, Holly and Camille become good friends, and it ends up being really positive all around.

What I love super duper the most about The Chapel Wars is the ways that the romance defies traditional gender roles. It’s not just Holly and Dax either. Sam and Camille’s relationship also doesn’t subscribe. In both cases, the guy is more romantic, more focused on commitment, and more emotional. The issues that Holly has with understanding and expressing emotion are the sort of thing that I almost never see women deal with in pop culture. I love love love every bit of this.

“'Look, Dax. I love that you are super in touch with your emotions and can share all these things with me. I’m serious. It’s great. But I’m not like that. I wish I was.'”

While I definitely do ship Dax and Holly, they never reached that epic shipping level. I really should have been intensely into the ship, because they do exchange some most excellent banter. It’s also really nice that Dax and Holly actually get time to be a couple. The romance feels way more rooted in real life than most novel romances do. They meet, they date, they DTR, and they have to work through normal couple issues.

Friends who seek out the banterfluff, hie thee to thy local book procurement place and seek out The Chapel Wars. I don’t know why I went all Shakespearean. Bono or Elvis would have been more apt, but oh well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."