Volition

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
2052 1
Volition
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 10, 2015
ISBN
978-0990716037
Buy This Book
      
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at first, and all at once shreds every fiber of your being? It’s because you’re contradicting the universe. Everything lines up so perfectly that you couldn’t have imagined it to work out any better, but then you have to go and do everything humanly possible to ruin it because you can’t stand to have it go right? That’s what I did. I did it because there’s a darkness that surrounds me, and I think I want it there. My name is Tate McKenna, and my soul is blacker than my heart.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A relentless hurricane of a love story.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
“I was always going to do terrible things because it was in my nature.”

This is Tate McKenna. She doesn’t hold back, and she is a hurricane.

Tate McKenna isn’t a good girl. She is very bad, and she likes it that way. Tate has run away from her past, her future, and her fortune to stay in her best friend’s grad school dorm in New York City. NYC is Tate’s favorite place in the world, and she’s going to start fresh, even if it kills her.

Tate meets Hayden Rockefeller, an NYC celebrity, on the flight to New York. Pure chance, or something more? Regardless, they connect, and Tate can’t seem to escape their connection. This is Tate’s story, how she overcomes the darkness in her past and embraces the darkness in her present. Behind her is Jesse, a boy back in Charleston who she grew up with, and is a part of her very soul. In her future is Hayden, a rich businessman with a heart of gold and who may be hiding his own darkness.

Choice. Destiny. Fate. Volition. Willpower.

While Tate and Hayden dance around each other in the New York lights, Jesse’s shadow lingers in their memories. Who will Tate decide to be with? Or will she destroy all of her relationships?

The storytelling is fantastic. Alternating chapters told from Tate’s perspective in the past and present show the reader who she has become, and why she is this way. Stories from Tate’s past, in high school and early college, showcase the defining moments in her life.

“I hate this version of myself because although I think I have all the power, I have none. I am not rational here.”

Tate has family issues. Don’t we all? I can really relate to Tate’s complications with her family. She doesn’t love them. She doesn’t want to see them, and runs instead of sticking around for her big sister’s wedding rehearsal.

I get this, down to the very core of my being. When I am with my family, this is what happens to me. My power drains from me, my volition dies, and I am sapped of what makes me me. Tate having to deal with this during her sister’s wedding, with Hayden Rockefeller on her arm, is absolute torture. She deals with it in the only way she knows how – by being terrible.

“I’ve won, and Hayden is my weapon.”

At this moment Tate has embraced her own nature, her strength, and isn’t holding back. She knew what would happen, that she would use Hayden against her family, and she tried to fight it, but couldn’t stop it. Tate is a powerhouse of darkness and crazy. Now she’s embracing the power, and I love her for that. I love this crazy girl for grabbing her own insanity by the reins and steering her own way.

The verdict: VOLITION is the story of a crazy, scarred girl who tends to bring out the darkness in others. Tate McKenna’s story is not for everyone, but if your soul aches for someone in your past, while your fingers itch for adventure, try VOLITION.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."