Whatever Life Throws at You

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
3182 2
Whatever Life Throws at You
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 07, 2014
ISBN
1622664043
Buy This Book
      
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major leagues as the new pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals. Now she's living in Missouri (too cold), attending an all-girls school (no boys), and navigating the strange world of professional sports. But Annie has dreams of her own—most of which involve placing first at every track meet…and one starring the Royals' super-hot rookie pitcher. But nineteen-year-old Jason Brody is completely, utterly, and totally off-limits. Besides, her dad would kill them both several times over. Not to mention Brody has something of a past, and his fan club is filled with C-cupped models, not smart-mouthed high school “brats” who can run the pants off every player on the team. Annie has enough on her plate without taking their friendship to the next level. The last thing she should be doing is falling in love. But baseball isn't just a game. It's life. And sometimes, it can break your heart…

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Swoony Home Run
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Liked:
Julie Cross hits the feels out of the park with Whatever Life Throws at You. She doesn't pitch a perfect game, but it was a thrilling one to watch. Sure, she walks a batter in at the end, but it was an awesome game nonetheless. Okay, that's about all the baseball references that I can manage. Did I sports well? Ahem. Whatever Life Throws at You is a swoony young adult/new adult romance with sportiness and family feels.

For the first 150 pages or so, I wasn't entirely sure about this book. I was very much unsure about the romance, since Brody was womanizing it up with his new fame. I wasn't sure if there was any chemistry there either. Well, there was. Damn but Julie Cross can write a good ship. Honestly, I'm surprised that Cross convinced me to ship a nineteen-year-old baseball player with a high school student, but she did.

For one thing, the romance occurs really slowly. Jason Brody and Annie Lucas become friends first. They run together (why anyone would want to run I don't know), study together, and share secrets. Though there's a new adult feel to the book, the romance isn't tawdry, creepy, or hyper dramatic. The sexy scenes aren't super graphic, but they are fairly plentiful. Until the relationship really takes off, I wasn't sure, but they have such a great dynamic and treat each other really well. Plus, [spoiler] I think Cross has a great explanation for why Brody isn't actually sleeping around. The fact that it's publicity and he's so careful not to fuck up this chance makes me respect him a lot. [/spoiler] It's also really great that Annie has her own sport (running) that she's amazing at and that both her dad and Brody are super supportive.

Even better than the ship perhaps are the family feels. Annie has an amazing relationship with her father, Jim. I love it even more for the things that don't make their relationship perfect. When Annie gets caught with a fake ID, he yells at her, grounds her, and then comforts her because she begins crying over a boy; That scene really encapsulates the great connection between the two. Dads and daughters fight, but the love is always going to overwhelm anything else. Though more fraught with pain, I also loved the handling of Annie's relationships with her mother and grandmother.

What Left Me Wanting More:
My favorite secondary character is Savannah, the team's publicist, and I totally ship her with Annie's dad. Aside from her, though, the secondary characters didn't get quite as much development as I prefer. Lenny, for example, doesn't really change much throughout Whatever Life Throws at You, aside from what's hinted at in the epilogue.

In fact, I really could have done without that epilogue. While it's nice to see how well people are doing, it throws a lot of stuff at the reader really quickly. For one thing, I think it's a bit overly optimistic in terms of baseball: [spoiler] they win the World Series on top of Brody being rookie of the year? Is that really necessary? And it's just thrown in as an aside? [/spoiler] Plus, even though I do like Brody and Annie together, I could do without all of the marriage talk, considering that she just graduated high school. I really don't like my YA contemporary novels to end with marriage on the table, but that's a personal preference.

I'm sad to have to say this, but Whatever Life Throws at You had quite a few editing mistakes. I noted a lot of errors, though I didn't keep a list. The most egregious one was from page 277 where Lenny says "Emersion is the only true way to truly grasp a foreign language," when obviously that was meant to be "immersion."

The Final Verdict:
Whatever Life Throws at You is my third Julie Cross novel, and it's been the third success. At this point, it's official that Julie Cross books will be going on my to-read list, particularly if they're contemporary romances, because she can bring the swoon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."
Prepped
 
5.0
"PREPPED is a really captivating YA contemporary fiction. Becca is 17 years old and dreams of going away to college..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
5.0
"This book has become one of my all-time favorites. Every time I start reading I couldn’t put it down, touched..."
Curse of the Divine (Ink in the Blood, #2)
 
4.7
"CURSE OF THE DIVINE is a dark, atmospheric, and compelling finale to a unique YA fantasy duology. In the first..."
Who Put This Song On?
 
4.7
"In a small, very white town, Morgan is trapped in the expectations and assumptions of everyone around her. She hasn't..."