Apprentice (The Black Mage Book 2)

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
870 0
Apprentice-Generic.jpg
Age Range
10+
Release Date
February 17, 2015
ISBN
978-1946155016
Buy This Book
      
She survived a trial year at the Academy of Magic, but that was the easy part...

Now sixteen-year-old Ryiah is an apprentice of Combat, her school's most notorious faction. When she finishes, she will be a war mage, but in order to do so, she has to survive four years traveling across Jerar, training with a master she hates, her old nemesis, Priscilla, and Prince Darren, her sometimes-rival sometimes... more?

Ry's new apprenticeship is nothing like what she prepared for. War is on the horizon and her lessons aren't just for practice anymore.

It's time to fight.

*** The second book in the The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An Intriguing Story
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Definitely an intriguing story that will keep you anxious to begin the next one.

The Story:
Ryiah is no longer a first year. After gaining one of the coveted apprenticeships as a combat mage, she still has four more years of schooling to do. Each of the four years takes place in this single book. Navigating school is hard enough, particularly when she has an instructor who'd like nothing more than for her to quit, but throw in a prince giving mixed signals, plenty of frienemies, and her first tastes of real combat and these four years will prove who she is, or they will kill her.

What I loved:
Ryiah is such an amazingly strong character once again. She's determined but isn't written as if she's the best at everything. She's smart in non-obvious ways. She cares about the people in her life. As a reader, we want nothing more than for her to get everything she dreams of. Alex and Ella are great as well and even Priscilla serves her purpose well. By the end, we even have a bit of sympathy for her. I love that the writing never gets bogged down in unnecessary explanation.

What was just okay:
Darren. He is incredibly wishy-washy and I had a very hard time liking him, even in the end. His reasons didn't explain why he acted the way he did in a way that made it okay. He was horrible to Ryiah for years. She was miserable.
There's a bit of a pacing issue for me. Four years take place in a single book and the chapters jump ahead weeks or sometimes months at a time, leaving us feeling like we don't quite get all of the story. We miss some of the immediate reactions to things that happen other than a few pages. The lack of payoff throughout the story is somewhat made up for at the end, however.

Final Verdict:
Not a story you want to miss if you like well-developed characters, plenty of action, and fantastic endings. That basically means it's not a book you want to miss if you read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."