Bone Gap

Featured
 
4.3
 
3.3 (1)
1835 2
BoneGap.jpg
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
March 03, 2015
ISBN
0062317601
Buy This Book
      
Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps—gaps to trip you up, gaps to slide through so you can disappear forever. So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren't surprised. After all, it wasn't the first time that someone had slipped away and left Finn and Sean O'Sullivan on their own. Just a few years before, their mother had high-tailed it to Oregon for a brand new guy, a brand new life. That's just how things go, the people said. Who are you going to blame? Finn knows that's not what happened with Roza. He knows she was kidnapped, ripped from the cornfields by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember. But the searches turned up nothing, and no one believes him anymore. Not even Sean, who has more reason to find Roza than anyone, and every reason to blame Finn for letting her go. As we follow them through their melancholy pasts, their terrifying presents, their uncertain futures, acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a heartbreaking tale of love and loss, magic and mystery, regret and forgiveness—a story about how the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Intriguing and Mysterious
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Part contemporary,part fantasy - Bone Gap is hard book to put into words. It is the type of book where the less you know, the better the experience will be when you read it. All I can promise is that the read is totally worth the ride.

Bone Gap is told in third person and follows the perspectives of several characters. The narration focuses mainly on Finn and Roza. However, the reader also gets to hear from Petey and Sean. Hearing the multiple perspectives helps build up the mystery while also giving the reader a broader picture.

Bone Gap is a puzzle and Laura Ruby does a fantastic job at revealing each puzzle piece at the right time. It is a fine balance between the magical and the real. Ruby is incredibly gifted at weaving words into fascinating phrases and sentences that sometimes I had to sit back and just enjoy the word craft. There is so much richness and depth to the whole book whether it be in the way Ruby writes or the deeper meaning behind the characters motives and actions.


This is one of the books on my favorites list. It is just one of those books where people have to read it to understand. This is a great crossover book for both adults and older teens.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
2.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Very character driven
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
When Roza disappears from Bone Gap, no one is surprised. After all, it's not the first time someone had left Sean and Finn O'Sullivan. Their own mother left them, ran off to Oregon with a new man and never looked back. That's just life for the O'Sullivan boys. But Finn knows Roza didn't run away. She was kidnapped but no one will believe him. He witnessed Roza being taken away but he can't remember the man's face. Finn is determined to prove himself to everyone. He'll find that man and he'll find Roza.

This book was very different from anything I've read so far this year. It was a slower read because it left me with the feeling that if I read it too fast, I would miss out of a clue that would tell me what was going on. It was definitely the kind of book that's hard to review because you don't want to give anything away.

The characters were what drove the plot. Finn was the main character but we also got POVs from his brother Sean, Roza, and another girl, Petey. Finn was seen as strange by the people of Bone Gap, but he was their strange boy. His desperation to prove to everyone, and to himself, that he wasn't crazy, that he had seen a man kidnap Roza was understandable and his frustration and anger at not being believed was justifiable. I really liked the developing relationship between him and Petey. They were really good for each other, even with the misunderstandings they would have. I liked Petey, her annoyance whenever someone would call her by her real name "Priscilla", her insecurity, everything about her.

Finn's brother Sean got less page time but he was still an interesting character. Giving up his dream of medical school to stay to care for his little brother when their mother walked away, falling for Roza, losing her, not knowing how to relate to Finn. There were times I wanted to scream at him to just talk to his brother but I could tell he was hurting. Roza's story was the one I read the slowest, looking for the clues as to where she might be, who had her, what was going on. I really enjoyed the flashbacks with her, how she came to America from Poland, how she met Sean and Finn, how she came to love them.

As I said, it's hard to talk about the plot without giving anything away. I enjoyed the mystery of it and how it played out. It could be a little confusing at times but by the end, everything made sense. The writing style really fit the tone of the book.

I do think this will be one of those loved it, hated it, or not quite sure how to feel books. There were definitely parts I did enjoy but also parts that were confusing so right now, I fall into the 'not quite sure' group.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."