Nature's Confession

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
1467 0
Nature's Confession
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 08, 2015
ISBN
978-0-9895960-7-7
Buy This Book
      
The epic tale of two teens in a fight to save a warming planet...the universe...and their love. A cli-fi quest to outsmart polluters, full of romance, honour and adventure. Received a 5-Star-Review Award from LitPick Included in "12 Works of Climate Fiction Everyone Should Read" 'Top Fiction Read' of the Year, Marinovich Books An excerpt received an Eco-Fiction Story Contest Honorable Mention "Honestly, it's not my fault. I didn't mean to invent them. Humans were polluting the planet to desolation. What else could I do? I had to save her. " When a smart-mouthed, mixed-race teen wonders why the work that needs to be done pays nothing compared to the busywork glorified on holovision news, the search for answers takes him on the wildest journey of anyone's lifetime. With the girl of his dreams, he inadvertently invents living computers. Just as the human race allows corporations to pollute Earth into total desolation, institute martial law and enslave humanity, the two teens set out to save civilization. Can they thwart polluters of Earth and other fertile planets? The heroes come into their own in different kinds of relationships in this diverse, multi-cultural romance. Along the way, they enlist the help of female droid Any Gynoid, who uncovers cutting-edge scientific mysteries. Their quest takes them through the Big Bang and back. Will Starliament tear them from the project and unleash 'intelligent' life's habitual pollution, or will youth lead the way to a new way of coexisting with Nature? Nature's Confession couldn't be more timely, amidst the largest climate change march in world history when world leaders converged for an emergency UN Climate Summit in New York City. With illustrations and topics for discussion at the back of the book, JL Morin entertains questions about busywork; economic incentives to pollute; sustainable energy; exploitation; cyborgs; the sanctity of Nature; and many kinds of relationships in this diverse, multi-cultural romance.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Epic Tale of Two Teens Saving the Planet and Their Love
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
JL Morin’s wit and craftsmanship keep this intergalactic adventure moving forward at a rapid pace. Beautifully structured, each chapter begins with a quote and an illustration foreshadowing its content.
Like its stunning cover photos, this novel intended for young adults, blends fantasy and reality. The reader is immediately introduced to a world where lawns are made of stone and rising sea levels engulf neighborhoods. People remember how beautiful the earth once was but most citizens believe they are powerless to restore its beauty.

The mission of saving the planet from “the culture of neglect that threatened to annihilate life on Earth” falls upon two teenagers, Boy and his dream girl Valentine. Their search for ways to stop pollution on Earth and other fertile planets takes the young heroes on a journey through the galaxies. Helped by a female android named Any, the three embark on a wild and imaginative adventure involving computers, clones, droids, and interplanetary warfare. Other characters in the novel include Boy’s parents, Eleanor and Porter, his sister Kenza, and a greedy ruler called Emperor of Earth and Ocean.

Boy and Valentine, two very bright teens, must cope with a dystopian society where independent thinking is ridiculed. In spite of this adversity, Boy invents a “living computer” and envisions a World Library where knowledge is accessible to all. As I have recently participated in a massive open online course (MOOC) of more than 15,000 learners, Boy’s concept does not seem in the least bit far-fetched.

The computer had become aware of itself as a thing to be factored into its own calculations. He had never seen such orderly collective behavior. The very code he had written was packing together into a tight lattice of identically-shaped symbols. The crystal-like arrangement self-assembled into a polyhedron structure. It then joined a larger cubic lattice. A shock ran through his body. Machines had come to life.

~

Most of the action of the novel takes place on several planets inhabited by humans and androids – Earth, the ice planet Grod, and a fertile planet similar to earth eons ago called Phira.

I read the galley proof of the eBook edition released January 8, 2015 and noticed for much of the book I was scrolling very quickly, especially during the descriptions of intergalactic battles. Quick scrolling most of the about 300 pages seems the equivalent of “a page turner.”

“Hold on tight!” … A torpedo grazed the saucer’s force field and sailed past the window. The crew was rattled, but suffered no injuries, thanks to their seatbelts. The torpedo barreled off into space. She deftly steered the flying saucer in the opposite direction. The flying saucer dodged another torpedo. She brought the saucer up under the second battleship. “As long as we stay close to the battleship’s fuel tank, it can’t fire at us. We just need a few more minutes so I can lock onto our coordinates.”

Touches of humor include a spaceship computer so sensitive it whispers when passengers are sleeping and plays dance music when a safe landing for the spacecraft is imminent; a planet where marital infidelities occur named Ulia; and teleporting boxes of chocolates. There are also six-legged doglike creatures with telepathic gifts called hupchas who are every bit as loyal and affectionate as earthbound canines.

In addition to the romantic feelings between Boy and Valentine, a spirit of friendship grows among the other like-minded characters in the novel – the friendship between siblings Boy and Kenza, between Valentine and Kenza, between Eleanor and a female alien named Yda and, even the friendship of Porter with the younger version of himself. These friendships deepen as the story unfolds, as does the love between Boy and Valentine. So does the great affection of the doglike hupchas for the families they protect.

Caring and flawed, the enthusiastic adolescents and their disillusioned parents are extremely likable and the fact that they care what happens to one another and what happens to the environment they share makes them sympathetic. I’ve certainly met other likable characters in other science fiction and fantasy books but as these characters seem so much more so, I asked myself why. The one word answer is generosity – the sympathetic humans and androids in this story are generous toward one another. And this spirit of generosity contrasts greatly with the greedy and malicious villains, led by the evil Emperor.

The author’s purpose in writing this book was to inform young readers about the urgent need to protect the environment and she has done so in a totally original and highly imaginative way. Nature’s Confession is JL Morin’s fourth novel and her first in the climate fiction or “cli-fi” genre.


Barbara Alfaro blogs about books, poetry, and film at http://www.BarbaraAlfaro.net.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...

Latest Member Reviews

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
"Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their..."