A Work of Art

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1392 0
A Work of Art cover
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 18, 2015
ISBN
978-1-4405-8254-7
Buy This Book
      
What if the one who should protect you is the one who betrays you most of all? Tera is seventeen, shy, and artistically gifted. Her hero and mentor is her father, a famous graphic artist who also protects her from her depressed, overly critical mother. Tera can't wait to attend a prestigious art school in France to prove to her artist father, and herself, that she can make it big. But when police arrest her dad for an unspeakable crime, Tera's world is turned upside down and she sacrifices her dream of studying abroad to hire a lawyer. Tera desperately wants to believe his arrest is a mistake, but as her dad's case progresses, there are rifts in her memories that make her wonder: Could he be guilty? A WORK OF ART is a deeply felt and beautifully written story about self-image, self-deception, and the difficulty we all go through when we have to face the whole truth about the myths of our childhoods. A WORK OF ART is Melody Maysonet’s debut novel.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Dark, painful, and well-written
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:

Tera seems a highly unlikable narrator at first, but it’s part of her charm as well as a major facet of her character. We’ve all heard of the mama’s boys and daddy’s girls and Tera is a daddy’s girl if there has ever been one. When everyone else abandons her father after he’s arrested for possession of child pornography, she stands by him and sacrifices her education for his sake. She’s a brilliantly written unreliable narrator whose choices throughout the novel are understandable even as you want to scream some sense into her brain before she loses everything.

Maysonet nails the kind of gaslighting and manipulation that makes child pornographers like Tera’s father so successful and give them the ability to carry on harming children for years. He’s spent years desensitizing Tera to nudity in the name of “art” and drilling into her head that her mother–who objects to him making Tera pose naked for “reference photos” and making her draw nude pictures and models in general–is nothing but crazy. Anything her mom does after that gets dismissed because she’s “crazy” when she’s the only person with any sense. It’s especially bad at the beginning and Tera has a long, long way to go to see what he’s done to her and reclaim her art from what he’s tainted it with. One scene toward the end when she learns the depth of her father’s crimes will stick with you forever.

This is no romance if you’re looking for Tera finding comfort in Joey. As can often happens in abusive families, the abused children grow up and acquire abusive spouses. None of them do it on purpose; years of living in that situation has conditioned them in all the wrong ways. A Work of Art is about one thing and one thing only: Tera healing herself. She isn’t quite there by the last page, but she’s certainly on the way to escaping the control her father had over her for years.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Maybe Tera’s mother already tried to get through to her daughter before the events of the novel and gave up on her, but the way she never tries to sit Tera down and explain what she knows/what she found on her father’s computer seems strange. It’s believable, yes, but an acknowledgement that her mother tried to get through to her at one point in the past would have helped me understand her mother a little more. That this story is about a middle class/upper-middle class white family makes it a bit weaker too, as statistics show other groups are more vulnerable to child sexual abuse and yet get less attention. I’m always going to cheer for diversity in YA that will represent the full gamut of readers, but this is one novel where greater diversity would have made the story’s point even more powerful.

Final Verdict:

Fans of Little Peach and Living Dead Girl will love A Work of Art in the same strange ways we all love dark, painful novels. Whatever Melody Maysonet wants to write next, I’m in. She’s an author I can trust to make me hurt while I read and open my eyes a little more to the world around me.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
"DOWN UNDER THE PIER is a beautifully illustrated poem about the magic that happens, not only above, but also below..."
 
4.0
"Super Cute Illustrations I wasn't expecting a board book when I first saw this, but as soon as I..."
 
5.0
"Girls and women have run for a long time; even the author Louisa May Alcott made distance running part of..."
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
"Born in 1880, Helen Keller is famous for her persistent nature, but since she died over sixty years ago, she..."
World of Glass: The Art of Dale Chihuly
 
4.7
"This book is a great overview for fans and newcomers alike. The first three chapters cover Chihuly's childhood, college, and..."
Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way
 
5.0
"'Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way,' an I Can Read book by Lori Haskins Houran, illustrated by Gustavo Mazali, is a..."
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
"'Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From' by Patrick Skipworth, illustrated by Nicholas Stevenson, is a creative book that..."
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
"ADORABLE PETS is full of quotes and pictures about animals. As the title suggests, the pictures are so cute and..."
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
"Seriously, this book is huge and gorgeous on a creative level, and a treasure trove of knowledge on an academic..."
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
"1,000 Facts about Ancient Egypt is a National Geographic KIDS book chock full of amazing facts about one of the..."
Flower Power: The Magic of Nature's Healers
 
5.0
"Flower Power is a truly stunning book. The large-scale pages look like paintings (I kind of want to frame them!)..."
Ready, Set, Go!: Sports of All Sorts
 
4.3
"READY, SET, GO!: SPORTS OF ALL SORTS is a fun trip through different sports. The book features rhyming phrases about..."
More than Marmalade: Michael Bond and the Story of Paddington Bear
 
5.0
"More than Marmalade is such a PRECIOUS book. It’s rare that I read a book in one sitting nowadays (due..."