Unmade (The Lynburn Legacy #3)

 
3.8 (2)
 
4.5 (2)
1899 0
unmade.jpg
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 23, 2014
ISBN
0375870431
Buy This Book
      
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied to a boy she does not, and faces an enemy more powerful than ever before. With Jared missing for months and presumed dead, Kami must rely on her new magical link with Ash for the strength to face the evil spreading through her town. Rob Lynburn is now the master of Sorry-in-the-Vale, and he demands a death. Kami will use every tool at her disposal to stop him. Together with Rusty, Angela, and Holly, she uncovers a secret that might be the key to saving the town. But with knowledge comes responsibility—and a painful choice. A choice that will risk not only Kami’s life, but also the lives of those she loves most. This final book in the Lynburn Legacy is a wild, entertaining ride from beginning to shocking end.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Kami!
(Updated: July 07, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
UNMADE is the final book in THE LYNBURN LEGACY. It concludes the story of Kami Glass, Ash Lynburn, and Jared Lynburn. Sorry-in-the-Vale is becoming more and more dangerous by the minute as Rob doesn't bother to hide himself from the rest of the town. Magic is a common occurrence, and the people of the town are in hiding. Being normal isn't always great, especially when magic is everywhere.

Kami Glass is as awesome and strong as ever. She remains killingly amazing even though she is bonded to Ash Lynburn, who isn't the boy she loves. She is the last stronghold (or at least one of the few) left against the very evil and disturbing Rob Lynburn. Even in times of darkness, she remains strong. She remains hopeful, and she remains my #1 goddess and heroine. Kami's skill in journalism is used much more frequent and serves to drive the plot well.

Jared's full potential is explored in UNMADE, and Sarah Rees Brennan doesn't let him slouch (as he typically does) under the limelight. He proves to be resourceful, amazing, and spirited. He doesn't stop for one minute, and his mind never breaks despite what Rob does to him. He stays upbeat with a touch of grimness.

The plot is well-paced. It weaves between many POVs, and it is rather easy to keep track of all of the characters in UNMADE. The conflict against Rob and his fellow sorcerers are expanded, and the book makes the situation even more complex. Not all of Rob's followers truly want to follow. The supporting cast makes the book much fuller and three dimensional. Brennan does a great job of creating a world with magic and many agendas.

The ending of UNMADE is the most satisfying part of the book, even though it is somewhat bittersweet. The book sounds a little bit like an adventure if one could ignore the bitterness of Unmade.

Overall, UNMADE is the excellent conclusion of THE LYNBURN LEGACY. Kami Glass is an amazing narrator, and she is a hero from beginning to end. She reminds me of Lois Lane, but instead of almost always needing help from Superman, she can take care of herself. Jared's character is amazing explored, and his relationship with Ash is delved into. The story is quick and addicting, not a moment is over too soon.

I would recommend this to those who love quirky and sassy characters who are magical. Literally and figuratively.

Rating: Four out of Five

Source: Library
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A mock-and-roll lifestyle
(Updated: December 14, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:
This series has enchanted me from the beginning and Unmade is no different.

Kami is such a great heroine. It's so refreshing to see a female character with such agency. She wants to save her town and her loved ones, so she does. She blazes through the obstacles put in her path and comes out even stronger.

I can't talk about this series without mentioning the other characters as well. Everyone from Kami's best friend Angela down to her little brothers are so lovable. I loved all of the relationships amongst Kami's loved ones, some romantic, some familial. Despite the challenges they've faced, they've only grown closer over the course of the series.

What Left Me Wanting More:
There was one moment (and I'm being as vague as possible to avoid spoilers) that just about ripped my heart out. If I could, I would make it so that thing didn't happen. Tears were definitely shed.

The Final Verdict:
Unmade is a fitting ending to a darkly beautiful, clever, and romantic series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Suc a great series
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
After the events of Untold, Kami and her friends and trying to regroup. Rob has taken over Sorry-in-the-Vale and he’s demanding a sacrifice. It’ll take every trick Kami and her group can think of to defeat him, and there’s no guarantees they can win.

This was the final book in the Lynburn Legacy series and it took all my expectations and my hopes and it exceeded them. Unmade was the darkest of the three books and had so much action but still found time to include the humour and the family bonding that I fell in love with from the first two books.

There wasn’t as much growth for Kami in this last book but there was a lot for other characters. Especially the non-evil Lynburns. Their new family dynamic was really interesting to see and I really liked how it played out. None of them were used to really showing they care or being cared for so it was both nice and fun to see their reactions as they found themselves opening up to each other. The interactions between Kami’s dad Jon and Ash’s mom Lillian were hilarious and I really could read a book just based on them talking to each other. All the characters on Kami’s side each got their own moments to shine in the last book, even minor characters like Kami’s two adorable brothers Ten and Tomo.

The book definitely had a ‘this is the end’ feel to it. The tension never really let up and we were reminded of the stakes all the time. Someone was going to die. Sarah Rees Brennan did an amazing job balancing the darker moments in the book, and the whole series, with the great humour I’ve come to expect from her writing. So many great quotes. I thought the writing was very consistent through the whole series.

This book(the whole series, I admit it) made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me bite my nails(they used to be so pretty). Definitely one I will not be forgetting.
Good Points
1. The humor is so great
2. The characters!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Good, But Could Have Been Better
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I did like it, but I feel like it could have been stronger.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."